Exercising without a gym

Sofarsogood

if 1 really need to deep fry, wat is e option of which oil to b used? we cant buy chunk of pig fats to fry, cant we??? so is peanut oil or .........??? [confused]

Yes, you can...hahah

Most places sell "pork fat" in cubes - I was so tempted to get a tray and toast them as a snack but was afraid my wife would freak out...hahah

As for what sort of oil to use, you can try butter or ghee...

I prefer butter as it gives a natural saltness to the food - no need to add any more salt :D

Yes, you can...hahah

Most places sell "pork fat" in cubes - I was so tempted to get a tray and toast them as a snack but was afraid my wife would freak out...hahah

As for what sort of oil to use, you can try butter or ghee...

I prefer butter as it gives a natural saltness to the food - no need to add any more salt :D

while i m using butter or ghee to cook mi food, don tink is convenient to use them to deep fried as they r all in solid state. Not to mention ex........... [knife]

Hmm...I could be "wrong" but I wouldn't eat too much deep fried food...

this healthy diet is very exp, but is a pittance compared with the medical treatment that comes with eating cheap food. I think a budget of at least $400 per month per pax is thereabouts.

Butter n ghee under heat will liquify n look just like crap vege oil, except it's better. And yes, u can deep-fry using it. If wanna use vege oil, use coconut oil. Slightly not as good is olive or macademia oil (monounsaturated oils). Worst are peanut oils n soyabean oils (polyunsaturated oils). Aiya, the best is just use either lard, ghee, butter or coconut oil.

Melt half a block of butter and u will have enough to deep-fry a medium sized garoupa until crispy, I've done it before.

Hmm...I could be "wrong" but I wouldn't eat too much deep fried food...

Nothing bad about deep-frying, but most people do it the unhealthy way because

1) they use polyunsaturated vege oils, which contain trans-fats. Even the healthiest among them, canola oil, is around 4% transfat. Animal oils have none.

2) they make the oil too hot, until it smokes....this encourages the breakdown of the oil itself, causing carcinogenic substances to form

3) they re-use the oil too many times, encouraging toxic substances to form

4) they burn the food, reducing nutrient level and encouraging carcinogenic substances to form.

There's absolutely no difference in oil absorbtion by the food, (not especially for us, since animal oil is so good for us!) between deep-frying and shallow pan-frying. It's a myth deep-fried food is more oily. Most foods, if fried properly, will form a "skin" that prevents the oil seeming in. That's why it's so crispy mah. If it turns out real oily, it's not done right, that's why.

So is it right to say that stools are good if it is soft and floaty? What colour is good?

Freaking hell, damn gross typing this post.

soft is good, won't cause piles or anal fissure.

floaty tend to be good, means u r eating enough fats, though even if it sinks, i won't worry about that.

colour tends not to be impt, as long as it's not blood-red lol

Palm oil. Cheap and good.

Just remember to use the most stable oils to cook. They do not break down and produce trans fats and make you sick. The most stable oils are saturated fatty acids, ie ghee, butter, lard, tallow, palm oil, coconut oil...etc.

Palm oil. Cheap and good.

Just remember to use the most stable oils to cook. They do not break down and produce trans fats and make you sick. The most stable oils are saturated fatty acids, ie ghee, butter, lard, tallow, palm oil, coconut oil...etc.

I never thought about that...whenever i think of palm oil, i think of biodiesel LOL

Seems like palm kernel oil is slightly better than plain ole palm oil http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Palm_oil though both are good lah.

soft is good, won't cause piles or anal fissure.

floaty tend to be good, means u r eating enough fats, though even if it sinks, i won't worry about that.

colour tends not to be impt, as long as it's not blood-red lol

Got blood means xiao liao. [laugh]

Anyway, I am not on your kind of diet and don't consume too much fat (I think). Not very carbo heavy (maybe 3 servings for one whole day) but I take in lots of vege. I am a vege freak. No over weight issue. Actually my problem is underweight. [laugh] My sai floats like sampan also and soft like a Mac sundae. :D Go liao kar chng damn shiok! [laugh]

Yeah, there has been a lot of bad press about palm oil over the years, especially in Asia, because it's a saturated fat. And as you know, saturated fat will "kill us".

Just last week, I saw a documentary on channel 69 (Asian Food Channel) on palm oil. It was about how much it is used in Malaysian cooking, especially hawker food. They even got this cardiologist to explain how palm oil is not as unhealthy as people think.

I guess even a cardiologist can't ignore chemistry. A fact is a fact. Saturated fats simply are much more stable and much less prone to break down compared with PUFA's. It's this breaking down of the carbon bonds that cause trans fatty acids, which cause inflammation in our bodies, which slowly kills us via a few methods like cancer, heart disease...etc.

You can devise the best workout plan, but people don't do, also useless. :D

Bro, to convince her otherwise, you have to look different to get her off your back. Go to the gym, lift some heavy weights 2 times a week. Throw in some bodyweight exercises to mix it up. It helps with how you will look. Maybe can even cut down your 30 min runs to once a week. Do HIIT instead. Either sprint or you can do with weights as well by not resting for more than 45 sec between sets and exercises.

MO maybe can help you devise a workout plan to grow those muscles. He's always asking people to visit him in the gym. [cool]

hello chickenbackside forumer,

I have just registered to this forum & this is my 1st post

I would like to ask you, if we switch to low carbohydrate diet, how will it affect our body state ?

1) Would we feel giddy in the beginning stage ?

2) Would we feel very hungry frequently ?

3) Would we feel tired easily ?

4) Which food is high in carbohydrate level ? can you give me a webpage link ? i found too many sites, too many info i get confused too

5) What other things to watch out when on low carb diet ?

Will be waiting for your advice soon

if u would care for my own experiences,

1) yes i felt giddy sometimes. The body is adjusting to a major shift in fuel source, give it at least a week to adjust.

2) i made sure i ate enough fats n protein, and nope, in fact i felt less hungry than before, and i could even go 12 hours without food! It's a myth rice will keep us full.

3) i felt tired sometimes, maybe because of the giddiness. My endurance increased alot, but my muscular strength decreased, although bro CBS reported otherwise. Now, i felt better than ever before. Give your body time to adjust.

4) just stay away from rice, noodles, bread, pizza, potato, soft drinks, cake, potato and fruits. Anything sweet.

5) be careful of hidden carbs. Sugar is added to ALMOST EVERYTHING. So now i eat almost exclusively whole foods....stuff u get from a wet market, not made into squares and packaged in plastic. For example, chicken nugget is not really chicken, maybe only 10% chicken, the rest is flour and sugar LOL. If wanna eat chicken, buy a whole chicken, the type still got the head and feet attached hehe.

Dr Mike Eades debunking the myth that low carb diets increase LDL:

http://www.proteinpower.com/drmike/weight-...nking-the-myth/

Low-carbohydrate diets increase LDL: debunking the myth

This week sees the publication of yet another study showing the superiority of the low-carbohydrate diet as compared to the low-fat diet. This study, published in the prestigious American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, demonstrates that subjects following the low-carb diet experience a decrease in triglyceride levels and an increase in HDL-cholesterol (HDL) levels; and that these changes are accompanied by a minor increase in LDL-cholesterol (LDL), which prompts the authors to issue a caveat.

Yes, although just about all the parameters that lipophobes worry about improved with the low-carb diet, the small increase in LDL has caused great concern and has prompted the authors to gravely announce that this small increase is troublesome and should be monitored closely in anyone who may be at risk for heart disease. Since most people who go on low-carb diets do so to deal with obesity issues, and since obesity is a risk factor for heart disease, it would appear that this small increase in LDL often seen in those following a low-carb diet could put these dieters at risk. Does it? We

hello chickenbackside forumer,

I have just registered to this forum & this is my 1st post

I would like to ask you, if we switch to low carbohydrate diet, how will it affect our body state ?

1) Would we feel giddy in the beginning stage ?

2) Would we feel very hungry frequently ?

3) Would we feel tired easily ?

4) Which food is high in carbohydrate level ? can you give me a webpage link ? i found too many sites, too many info i get confused too

5) What other things to watch out when on low carb diet ?

Will be waiting for your advice soon

Skunk basically said it. Here are my own experiences, which also is largely what my family and friends experience:

1) Yes, you might feel giddy sometimes. Your body WILL be resisting the change. It wants to remain the same. So when you deprive it of sugar/carbs, it will displaying signs of low blood sugar (although when you actually measure it, it's no where near). From what I read, it might take up to 2 months to adapt. For myself, it's was around a month or so.

2) Depends. If you go full force into it and eat HIGH FAT, low carb and moderate protein, I would say you will feel so full that you won't be able to eat as many meals as before. I eat one big meal and one small meal a day. No snacks in between cos there is simply no room for it.

3) During the transition from being a sugar burner to a fat burner, you will experience low energy levels. Your body is expecting its regular fuel (sugar/carbs) but is deprived of it. But once your body becomes efficient in being a fat burner, energy levels will be constant all day long. No more feeling good after you eat, then feeling sleepy, then feeling hungry in a short while.

Endurance is no problem. I run 10k's much better now compared when I was still eating carbs. It's the explosive type of competitive sports like hurdles, 1-200m sprints that might be optimised by carb fueling. I think muscular strength is probably a matter of physical conditioning? Most Crossfit practitioners report better performance on low carb high fat paleo diets.

4) You really do not need a web page. Simply cut out everything to do with grains and sugar and starch. Rice, noodles, pasta, anything made with flour, bread, sweets, chocolate (unless it's >90% cacao), sweet fruit, potatoes...etc.

Here a great guide: http://www.paleonu.com/get-started/

5) Watch out for hidden sugars in sauces, salad dressings, gravies, batter...etc. Best to eat most meals that are cooked by yourself.

Eat REAL foods as far as possible. Don't eat anything that comes in a box or packet. Make sure you know what the ingredients are in your food. If you can't even pronounce them, skip it.

As with anything in life, try to make it in a way that you really enjoy it. Otherwise, in will be a matter of time before you give up.

Starting off will be difficult when looking for sources of food. If you are not used to it, it may seem like there is nothing to eat. Be patient, persevere and put in the effort.

It will pay off.

Last night during dinner, my dad was commenting on how screwed up the medical system is trying to get more funding for patching up illness rather than to prevent illness in the first place. I was WIDE EYED when he said that because he was a "are you crazy? what do you mean don't eat rice" and "aiya, don't worry lah, there is always Metformin, if not, can inject insulin" type of guy.

He has come a long way. He is now off all medication, no longer obese and looks 10 years younger than his age.

My point is, if you persevere, you will reap the health rewards and feel like a million bucks. Only then will you see the point of this lifestyle (I hate to call it a diet cos it's much more than that).

One thing to look out is oyster sauce/soy sauce. It's so prevalent in our diet. There's sugar inside. Of course, as mentioned before, a few drops won't cause any damage, but if it's many drops, many times a day, it might just add up.

This study, published in the prestigious American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, demonstrates that subjects following the low-carb diet experience a decrease in triglyceride levels and an increase in HDL-cholesterol (HDL) levels; and that these changes are accompanied by a minor increase in LDL-cholesterol (LDL), which prompts the authors to issue a caveat.

tis 1 mi swear by it. Tis is wat actually appears in mi latest blood report......how true [thumbsup] .

Edited by Hamburger

Rest in the fact that the large and fluffy LDL particles are the ones that have increased, and not the small and dense ones.

From the same article:

"... let me remind you that numerous studies have shown that whenever subjects go on low-carb diets, they end up increasing the size of their LDL particles. Large, fluffy LDL particles are not only harmless, but may be protective. If they are protective, what