Hamburger Hypersonic April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 (edited) over and over I say that the 10- 30% range for carbs sounds reasonable for most people. tis figure mean carbo from veggie n some fruits?? Difficult to judge from %..... Edited April 14, 2010 by Hamburger ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 Wah...and I thought my water content was high...hahah I think around 3L or more per daily but don't think I've hit 6L yet...hahah And I perspire very easily cos I am like a water baby - my mom threw me into the pool as soon as I could walk and I try to swim daily if I can As with all things, moderation is probably the key blah According to the instruction manual which came with the scale (Tanita), water content for men should be below 65% and for women, below 55%. My water content is more on the high side. Don't know why also since I don't drink water excessively and I perspire enough via daily exercise (when I can find the time). I agree with you "Moderation is key". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 (edited) Had a very nice dinner last night... Made my own "siew bak"... Defrosted about 300g of pork belly for 10 minutes (meat already slightly cooked after that)... Applied some sea salt, popped it into my toaster (don't have an oven at home) and grilled it with butter for 20-25 minutes (timer set to 5-7 minutes so that I could flip the meat)... Delicious - soft and tender still and the skin is oh so crispy - literally ate the skin last like a piece of cracker Edited April 14, 2010 by Xtrocious Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 I only see this line ................. I honestly believe with good nutrition, a moderate amount of tobacco and acohol is also tolerable. Seriously, with a margin of 20% for carbs, life is so much easier ................. esp for those who take their meals outside. Seriously, how many cigarettes and alcohol must a person consume, to equal the amount of food taken in? Of course nutrition, exercise and stress level will dictate more of a person's health than alcohol and tobacco, without discounting the fact that the latter is also harmful lah. If u live on a balmy tropical island, ringed with coconut trees, don't work in an office, everyday just go fishing, pluck coconuts, dig yam and you are allowed to shag any village girl that is willing, i bet u can drink coconut rum and smoke home-grown tobacco daily with minimal health damage. Commercially produced cigarettes are full of additives to prolong their shelf-life and alter the "taste". I doubt natural tobacco is as harmful as commercial ones. I myself i smoke "Van Nelle" rolling tobacco. While it's also "processed", I believe it's better than factory tobacco. Even booze also. I found out that certain low-end beers contain High Fructose Corn Syrup.....urgh!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 Seriously, with a margin of 20% for carbs, life is so much easier ................. esp for those who take their meals outside. It seems to me most outside food is like 70% carbs...even western meals are like 50% carbs...a tiny steak with a mountain of potato lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 Even booze also. I found out that certain low-end beers contain High Fructose Corn Syrup.....urgh!!! Crap, that is just evil. Good thing you quit beer! I used to enjoy beer quite a bit too. Weekly trips to Brewerkz with my friends. But now, we drink wine instead. Different type of enjoyment. But beer more shiok. Got that casual, lazy vibe. Wine is more heavy. Like must eat something with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 Weekly trips to Brewerkz with my friends. OMG Brewerkz is my undoing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 It seems to me most outside food is like 70% carbs...even western meals are like 50% carbs...a tiny steak with a mountain of potato lol Just pass on the potato and ask for a swap to salad. The salad dressing may not be very acceptable but still ok compared to potato or fries. Some salad comes without dressing so just take those lor. Actually with a leeway of about 20-30% carbs in the diet, we can use seasoning like soy sauce, oyster sauce, eat more vege and fruits, drink a bit of wine or maybe an occasional beer. I miss beer.......esp Belgium beers!!!! Hmmn, the theory that less stress equates more tolerance towards higher carbs is still not tested. If that is true, those of us with low blood pressure is probably less stressed and can consume more carbs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 For lunch, had 2 large salmon steaks fried in 3 tablespoons of coconut oil. Backside itchy, went to check bodyfat percentage. It rose 0.2%. Salmon oil in 2 large steaks and 3 tablespoons of coconut oil actually have such an impact on overall body fat....of course, it's all good fat :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 (edited) I came across something that I think is worth posting here. It's Dr Kurt Harris replying t one of the comments on his blog post "Avoid poison or neutralize it?". Comment: When we eat the grains, most of the starch winds up being converted into triglycerides and stored as (hopefully) healthy saturated fat in our body. In the end, does it even matter if the animal ate the grass and you ate the animal's fat or you ate grass (seeds) and made the fat yourself ? I also don't buy that grains are inferior in vitamins department. Loren Cordain's book has a table that emphacises spinach as the king of all carbs as far as nutrients. This is per 100 calories. What is not emphacised is that to get 100 calories from bread, you only need a slice. To get 100 calories from spinach, one needs to eat 15 cups. Now that can't be done. So, it would be fair to compare 1 cup of spinach to a slice of bread, since both represent reasonable quantities of food. But in such scenario spinach and broccoli are loosers. My own analysis using USDA Nutrient Database has shown that bread does indeed hold the candle to spinach and other greens and fruits. The only difference is alittle vitamin C (10mg) and some carotene. Historically, we do know that people survived and bred on bread alone, with tiny portions of meat ( such as during famines ), but not spinach alone -- that would be extreme non-fat raw vegan diet. Response: Here we go. The fact that you "get" 100 calories of empty insulin-stimulating starch that turns into stored fat in your body (and on the way elevates your triglycerides and blood sugar and gives you a dose of lectins and gluten) in slice of bread is the problem. The ratio of vitamins to useless starch is higher in the spinach, get it? You have it backwards. Saying that the only difference is "a little vitamin c and and carotene" is like saying that the only difference between a slab of butter and a cat turd is "a little vitamin K2 and healthy fat" In the end does it matter how the fat gets there? Of course it does! GOOD GRIEF, MAN. Have you read anything at all on any nutrition blog anywhere or say, good calories bad calories by Taubes? What do you think we are talking about all day long? How it gets there is EVERYTHING. Lets say a bolus of glucose and fructose from a glass of "healthy" orange juice ends up as sat fat in your body. On the way there, it raises your insulin levels, causes insulin resistance in the liver, activates a variety of inflammatory signaling pathways, raises your triglyceride levels, increases your blood's thrombogenicity, makes small dense LDL and helps to oxidize it, glycates your structural proteins, contributes to steatohepatosis which can destroy your liver, etc. The caloric equivalent from butter does exactly zero of those things. Start reading, my friend. Edited April 14, 2010 by Chickenbackside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 Hmmn, the theory that less stress equates more tolerance towards higher carbs is still not tested. If that is true, those of us with low blood pressure is probably less stressed and can consume more carbs. Less stress means your body is already less damaged. (Stress hormones have been found to encourage plaque buildup in arteries and cause stroke and heart attacks). With your body less damaged, u can now start to damage it a little with some carbs, tobacco and alcohol, and u might still be healthier than those stressed folks LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 (edited) Less stress means your body is already less damaged. (Stress hormones have been found to encourage plaque buildup in arteries and cause stroke and heart attacks). With your body less damaged, u can now start to damage it a little with some carbs, tobacco and alcohol, and u might still be healthier than those stressed folks LOL But I also think that it is in the genes... Take my ah gong for instance - that guy was a soft pack a day smoker - Camel unfiltered no less - and he drinks whiskey neat as if it's chinese tea... He lived to 90+ - never fell sick... My ah ma is still around - she's 101 this year but she's a vegetarian... My old man is 73 now - he still goes to the gym and if you look at the way he trains and his buff body, you would think that he's around 50... Edited April 14, 2010 by Xtrocious Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 Take my ah gong for instance - that guy was a soft pack a day smoker - Camel unfiltered no less - and he drinks whiskey neat as if it's chinese tea... Precisely it's Camel unfiltered, that's why LOL. The filter contains alot of toxic stuff, mainly in the glue, and also additives to change the "taste" and make it unique, maybe even more addictive than the tobacco itself. And it's whisky, good stuff. If he drank beer, i think gone case already. Of all the alcohols, distilled liquor and wine is the least damaging. Pure alcohol only damages the liver. Carbohydrates inside beer will damage liver, arteries, heart, basically much of everything else. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 Precisely it's Camel unfiltered, that's why LOL. The filter contains alot of toxic stuff, mainly in the glue, and also additives to change the "taste" and make it unique, maybe even more addictive than the tobacco itself. And it's whisky, good stuff. If he drank beer, i think gone case already. Of all the alcohols, distilled liquor and wine is the least damaging. Pure alcohol only damages the liver. Carbohydrates inside beer will damage liver, arteries, heart, basically much of everything else. Wah, got more respect for him now...hahah So he was "ahead" of his time - doing all the "wrong" things for the right reasons Anyway, I read somewhere that we (human beings) only begun to get tooth decay after we started eating wheat products...so primitive tribes that do not eat wheat have no tooth decay - now that's something to chew on (pun intended)...hahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 I went east coast of m'sia for fishing for 3 days. No choice, as options and choices limited, I'd to 'break' the diet. In the mornings, I'd wonton mee for breakfast. For lunch on the boat, I took chicken rice and char siew paos. Took lots of water, 100 plus and canned coffee on board as well. But for dinner, I'd lots of fish, no prize for guessing! Very little/no fats almost. Felt really guilty Yesterday, back on my low carb, increase fats eating. The der kah in ECP was damn good! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 Get your sun folks. If not, supplement with D3. I do both and have not fallen sick ever since I started (more than a year), which is very rare. I'd usually get the flu seasonally. Not anymore. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cq1t9WqOD-0 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 I went east coast of m'sia for fishing for 3 days. No choice, as options and choices limited, I'd to 'break' the diet. In the mornings, I'd wonton mee for breakfast. For lunch on the boat, I took chicken rice and char siew paos. Took lots of water, 100 plus and canned coffee on board as well. But for dinner, I'd lots of fish, no prize for guessing! Very little/no fats almost. Felt really guilty Yesterday, back on my low carb, increase fats eating. The der kah in ECP was damn good! Rompin ah? hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 Get your sun folks. If not, supplement with D3. I do both and have not fallen sick ever since I started (more than a year), which is very rare. I'd usually get the flu seasonally. Not anymore. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cq1t9WqOD-0 U r right, modern humans spend too much time indoors, generally there's a lack of exposure to sunlight. Not just Vit D, lack of sun upsets melatonin production, causing hormonal imbalance that will lead to poor sleep, mild depression and possibly weight gain. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...