Xeryh 3rd Gear September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 I'm so looking forward to that Yeah, initial weight loss will come mostly from water. As you might already know, 1g of carbs binds almost 3g of water. Talk about bloating! But you'll know when the fat loss kicks in. Your face will start looking different. Your cheekbones will come out, your body will start shrinking all over while becoming tighter, like shrink wrap. You'll hit a plateau, but if you persevere, the 2nd phase will be like WHOOSH... Warning: don't buy clothes during this time. You'll shrink 5-6 inches on your waist. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 Respect to his determination over the last 14months. Could he have being reading this thread too? http://health.asiaone.com/Health/News/Stor...6-235831/3.html Man loses 75kg in 14 months By Chai Hung Yin HE paid $17.70 to enter the Escape Theme Park last year. But Mr Mohammad Hafiz Amat, 26, ended up taking only one ride. The reason: His tummy was too big and the safety harnesses could not latch on properly. Mr Hafiz used to weigh 168kg - almost twice the weight of an average man. Due to safety reasons, he could only get on the flume. The ride climbs five storeys before a thrilling drop that ends in a splash. But he ended up spending three hours taking the same ride repeatedly for about 20 times. Mr Hafiz is not the only one who has encountered inconveniences because of his weight. Last month alone, there were at least four instances around the world where obese people needed help to get out of their homes. Mr Hafiz said: "Luckily I'm no longer so obese, otherwise I could end up like them." He now weighs 93kg. Mr Hafiz said that in the past, he preferred to stand when he took public transport like buses and MRT. He said: "If I sat, I would take up 1 1/2 seats and people will avoid sitting beside me. They will look at me and nudge their friends. "I felt embarrassed and I would rather stand to avoid any remarks." But that was not a solution either. He said: "When I stood, especially during the peak hours, aunties with bag loads of groceries would squeeze through the crowd muttering 'so fat'." He felt hurt. One of the most hurtful incidents was when a passenger stared at him and said very loudly to his friend: "Wah, that 'Ah Pui' (Hokkien for fat person) takes up so much space". His problems didn't end there. He faced difficulties looking for a job too. He said: "Many people associate obesity with laziness. I was shortlisted for many interviews based on my capabilities and qualifications. "But when they met me, they asked me what I was going to do with my weight." He finally found a job as a paramedic. But he realised that his weight problem also hindered him from performing his duties well. He said: "Being overweight, I became breathless when I carried the stretcher or equipment. I also got joint pains and aches all over the body." And when he ordered from hawker stalls, he would be given smaller portions, compared to other patrons. Mr Hafiz said: "The uncles and aunties felt I should eat less since I was fat." He attributed his weight problem to his love for chicken rice. He said: "I love chicken rice. I could eat two portions of it each time." Coupled with an unhealthy lifestyle since young, when he "loved to watch television instead of running around like other children", he gained weight. He was already 55kg in Primary 1 - twice that of an average child. The turning point came when he was diagnosed last year with a sleeping disorder called sleep apnoea. It is a condition where the patient stops breathing for 10 seconds or more and this happens frequently during sleep. A month after he was diagnosed, he saw an advertisement calling for participants to audition for the inaugural reality show The Biggest Loser Asia. He said: "I've deprived myself of so many things in life, why should I deprive myself?" With his job, his livelihood and his family's future at stake, the sole breadwinner decided to give it a shot. He quit his job and turned up as early as 6am to be the first in line for the audition in July last year. He was selected to represent Singapore and by the time he was eliminated in the ninth week, he had lost 34kg in just two months. Determined to lose even more weight to vie for the prize given to contestants who lose the most weight after elimination, he worked hard under personal trainer Francis Huang from Fitness First, who sponsored his training. He trained intensively for six hours a day, six days a week. He does a combination of indoor and outdoor trainings. Indoor ones include cardio-based interval trainings, weight, plank and strength trainings and even muay thai padworks. Outdoor ones include hiking, jogging and walks. He also watched his diet like a hawk. He used to eat double portions of rice each meal. Now he eats fish soup without rice for lunch and he varies it with foods of similar nature. He eats less calories than what he can burn a day, he said. In three months, he lost a further 37kg, making it a total of 71kg shed. Mr Hafiz did not win the "At Home Contestant" prize, but he gained in many other ways. Not only did he find a girlfriend, he could also enjoy many things in life that he had missed out on all these years. He said: "Finally, I could walk into any shop and pick out clothes from the rack. "No longer did I have to hunt for plus-sized clothes at specific places like Peninsula Shopping Centre." He used to wear size 6XL. Now he wears either a size M or L. His pants size shrunk from 55 inches to 38 inches. Now, he works as a fitness instructor and hopes to inspire others to follow in his footsteps. He lost a further 4kg since the finale of the Biggest Loser Asia in March this year. He said: "As a paramedic, I used to help people when it was too late. Now, I want to help people before it is too late. "I want to share my story. If I can do it, so can you." The challenges that Mr Hafiz faced when he was obese were not unique to him. A technician who weights 150kg and only wants to be known as Brock, 24, said he could relate to Mr Hafiz's story. He said: "When I walk at crowded places, people will automatically make way for me to pass. "The air stewardess will also pass me an extra seat belt without me asking for it." An employer rejected his job application with the excuse that they "might not have a technician suit of my size". His friends also tease him but he said he has grown numb to them. But unlike Mr Hafiz, he has no intention to lose weight as he said he feels healthy. He said: "I'm happy the way I am, so be it." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 He was a contestant in the first Asia's Biggest Loser. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crystal_tiong 1st Gear September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 I brought a can of Ayam brand coconut cream to work today. Is it better to drink it before, during or after the meal? Gotta pyscho myself to eat roast pork again. Just the thought of it makes me gelat. I brought home-made chicken curry yesterday. But I stopped today coz after I checked the packaging of the curry powder yesterday, I got freaked out! There was more than 20g of carbs!! Bro Treat it like a desert , u cant drink it ... mix with some nuts! Btw , i bought from JB giant , this 400ml can only RM 4.30= $1.85. I think its cheaper than SG , in case u guys want , i can help to buy since i go JB weekly to pump petrol n buy groceries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 Diaper changing not a joke, specially TWO. go easy on the milk, or anything that can even raise some insulin response, if u want results as fast as possible. Studies have shown that rapid bodyfat loss is more beneficial to the body than slow-loss. I was ULTRA STRICT with my diet in the initial stages, that was how i lost 1kg per week consecutively for 12 weeks straight, before it slowed down naturally. Of course, go at the pace n strictness u r most comfortable with, just sharing my own experience :) today cooking beef-tripe soup indonesian style....like kambing soup hehe I guess i'm just lucky, to be working part-time from home, looking after my 2 infant daughters, that gave me the ability to cook at home and eat so "clean". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 The one with the solid body and nice boobies one lah. [:p] PM me too. Want to show my missus as well. She's joining my Sat gym sessions and she wants more biceps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 (edited) I brought a can of Ayam brand coconut cream to work today. Is it better to drink it before, during or after the meal? Gotta pyscho myself to eat roast pork again. Just the thought of it makes me gelat. I brought home-made chicken curry yesterday. But I stopped today coz after I checked the packaging of the curry powder yesterday, I got freaked out! There was more than 20g of carbs!! Depends. If you like to eat it by itself, anytime is fine, although it might suit being a dessert more due to the sweet taste. But if you want to eat it with any type of fruit (I usually have it with blueberries), eat it before your protein and fat. Fruit is very easily digested while protein and fat takes a lot more effort to digest. Eating fruit before the heavy stuff ensures you absorb all the nutrients. Eat it after ensures all the fruit sits on top of your protein and fat until they ferment and give you gas. So the usual way of eating fruit after a meal is totally opposite from what you should be doing. I'm happy you're even looking at labels! That's the way to go. Always know what you're putting into your mouth... Edited September 7, 2010 by Chickenbackside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 My diet is practically carnivorous, and i've suffered no ill health, gout, constipation or whatever.....i've not even come close to feeling unwell, in fact, never felt stronger or have more vitality than ever before. Same experience bro. Have not been any where near sick for 2 years already. Never had this experience in my life. Despite being in close contact with ill people (even when my niece sneeze right into my face while she was really ill), I didn't contract anything. I attribute that to the daily sun/exercise I get and my nutritious diet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eviltrap 2nd Gear September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 Bro Treat it like a desert , u cant drink it ... mix with some nuts! Btw , i bought from JB giant , this 400ml can only RM 4.30= $1.85. I think its cheaper than SG , in case u guys want , i can help to buy since i go JB weekly to pump petrol n buy groceries. Thanks sis! Will let you know once my current stock runs out. I just bought 6 cans on Saturday at IMM Giant. I actually like to go JB too. But the jams put me off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 The one with the solid body and nice boobies one lah. [:p] That one is damn siong. Folks not used to HIIT will suffer the first few sessions. I think those boobies are fake one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crystal_tiong 1st Gear September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 Thanks sis! Will let you know once my current stock runs out. I just bought 6 cans on Saturday at IMM Giant. I actually like to go JB too. But the jams put me off. i go weekdays de , like today .... Going to buy their Ya Wang (Roast duck) back for dinner .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crystal_tiong 1st Gear September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 Same experience bro. Have not been any where near sick for 2 years already. Never had this experience in my life. Despite being in close contact with ill people (even when my niece sneeze right into my face while she was really ill), I didn't contract anything. I attribute that to the daily sun/exercise I get and my nutritious diet. but hor , today i got prob output leh , the S*** takes long time to come out , i was inside the toilet for 20 mins leh .... maybe i still didnt eat enough FATS n Proteins ???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 Muy wife and sister also say,but they're just jealous also, jealous of mine as well. Now, they're on the program, very well defined leh. Eyh...no, I'm not going to start going on this HIIT. Mine already is a swim, run and bike event every once a week. Also, don't look nice in very tight outfits. Certain places......*ahem* That one is damn siong. Folks not used to HIIT will suffer the first few sessions. I think those boobies are fake one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 Nothing to worry about, it's perfectly normal.Sometimes it takes 2 days for some people before they hit the toilet. Just drink more water. but hor , today i got prob output leh , the S*** takes long time to come out , i was inside the toilet for 20 mins leh .... maybe i still didnt eat enough FATS n Proteins ???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eviltrap 2nd Gear September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 Depends. If you like to eat it by itself, anytime is fine, although it might suit being a dessert more due to the sweet taste. But if you want to eat it with any type of fruit (I usually have it with blueberries), eat it before your protein and fat. Fruit is very easily digested while protein and fat takes a lot more effort to digest. Eating fruit before the heavy stuff ensures you absorb all the nutrients. Eat it after ensures all the fruit sits on top of your protein and fat until they ferment and give you gas. So the usual way of eating fruit after a meal is totally opposite from what you should be doing. I'm happy you're even looking at labels! That's the way to go. Always know what you're putting into your mouth... As I read this thread more and more, I got more and more conscious of what I'm eating too. And I become very serious about what is stated in the labels before buying. If there's no nutrition label, then I won't buy it. I think I will be able to keep this diet as there are many kindred spirits here, and not to mention success stories like you, Topgun, Skunk, Mazdaowner, etc. Can't wait to go below triple digit for my weight since after my BMT. \ As for the coconut cream, initially I bought the wrong ones. I bought the UHT coconut cream. It was only after I read more of this thread then I realise my error. I have since bought the can ones, and will drink one later for lunch. Hope it tastes better than the carton one. Please continue to post more in this thread to inspire more people to give this diet a go. I've told my parents to switch to my diet if it is succeesful on me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ifx23686 Neutral Newbie September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 no need to go to gym, go running for at least 1hour on weekends can already reduce the flabs and increase stamina. I also do cycling thats why i do understand how a cyclist feels when bullied on the road by motorists. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 Bro. I didn't drop fat, I dropped muscle mass. Also 3 figure weight then. It's really nothing difficult, mind over matter. after 2 weeks on serious, you'll be on the right track. I dropped mass from circa 100kgs+ to now 85kgs. another 9kgs to go. I still maintain my muscles,only thing is size gone down drastically. As I read this thread more and more, I got more and more conscious of what I'm eating too. And I become very serious about what is stated in the labels before buying. If there's no nutrition label, then I won't buy it. I think I will be able to keep this diet as there are many kindred spirits here, and not to mention success stories like you, Topgun, Skunk, Mazdaowner, etc. Can't wait to go below triple digit for my weight since after my BMT. \ As for the coconut cream, initially I bought the wrong ones. I bought the UHT coconut cream. It was only after I read more of this thread then I realise my error. I have since bought the can ones, and will drink one later for lunch. Hope it tastes better than the carton one. Please continue to post more in this thread to inspire more people to give this diet a go. I've told my parents to switch to my diet if it is succeesful on me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eviltrap 2nd Gear September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 Most pre-packed curry powder has rice flour inside, to give it the creamy starchy texture. That's where the carbs come. Don't discard it, still can use....very sparingly :) In fact, like i said before, all plant-matter has carbs, so use carefully. My diet is practically carnivorous, and i've suffered no ill health, gout, constipation or whatever.....i've not even come close to feeling unwell, in fact, never felt stronger or have more vitality than ever before. Only downside is expensive meals and less food choices. To combat boredom, i cycle between beef, chicken, lamb, fish, shellfish, pork, duck.....just fish n shellfish alone got so many types, more than enough to give a good variety :) I think I'll have to add more duck into my pork and chicken diet. I'm a super picky eater, so there are lots of meat that I don't eat. Beef, mutton, fish (depending on which type), etc. Sianz... Maybe I'll discuss with my mum and see what else we have for meals. Anyway, I guess I'll have to eat the curry in moderation now. My mum actually suggested using only tumeric powder for the curry. Does tumeric contain lots of carbs? If only a little, then I'll start on it. At least I can have my favourite curry chicken with coconut cream (which I don't have to drink by itself). ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...