Budget  

182 members have voted

1. 1. How much

• $1,000-$3,000
    • $3,000-$5,000
    • $5,000-$7,000
    • $7,000-$10,000
    • More than $10,000

I totally noob when it comes to diamond so I abide by the basic principle that the bigger the rock, the better it can hold it's value because apparently it's more rare. Hence in my view, I don't wish to waste time on anything less than 1 carat because as you pointed out, chances it will just go into the drawer coz there isn't any bragging rights to it and yet it still cost a several thousands of my hard earned money. Worst still, I cannot flog it afterwards if we are in need of the cash or maybe we might just get back a fraction of what we paid for. Actually I quite liked the idea that one of the bro shared about proposing with a Rolex coz at least we all know it's worth in times of emergency.....

what if she ask for royal king ? [bigcry]

if buy from Larry's, it has to be an ideal cut Lazare, nothing less. don't buy the normal Larry diamonds.. feel they are overpriced for the quality. just my opinion.

mine was a 1.35ct E VVS2 Lazare from Larry's 4 years ago.... pricewise... it is nowhere close to anything on the poll....

according to many gals, the ideal price of proposal ring should be around 2 or 3 mths salary.. good luck dude

just a tip: if you cannot afford any of the branded ideal cuts (eg: Lazare, Gabrielle, etc), there are places out there that sell very good cuts still, close to ideal actually.

one place to check out is Canary at delphi orchard. the boss was from larry previously, very nice guy, hongkonger. quite high quality and good value for money, IMO. do check them out.

just like buying property (or performance cars), compare prices vs quality using $ per carat

3x monthly salary is really a lot lei. never knew it is so expensive to propose nowadays. my time, juz ask gf, "how? want to apply for flat?" if yes, then only go kai kai look around for a ring. dat oso, bought a 1k+ no grade diamond ring from diamond industries outlet at lucky plaza, including gold ring.

10 years on, when got much more spare cash, i "exchanged" that for a 1.018c F VS2 AGS Ideal cut at $$$$$. add 400 for white gold ring similar looking to tiffany famous 6 pronged style ring.

dun get from the brands cos they need to mark up very high to cover adverts, etc. a similar ring above in LH was quoted to me at 25000 after discount. not sure of diamond prices now though cos my price was like 2 years ago?

whoever wants contact to buy diamonds, PM me. will refer u to 2 of the shops that i short listed when i went diamond hunting 2 years ago.

for info on diamonds, read up at www.goodoldgold.com

even > 1 carat, it may still end up in the drawer... tried and tested.... [sweatdrop]

tats y my oc say if wan propose

propose wif a watch,symbol time for her as time is always moving lol

nb i go bugis st buy lol

...... Hence in my view, I don't wish to waste time on anything less than 1 carat because as you pointed out, chances it will just go into the drawer coz there isn't any bragging rights to it and yet it still cost a several thousands of my hard earned money. ......

Now gals are more educated, so it isn't just the size. Now got this cut, that cut, how many faces of cut... :wacko: Then the color and clarity...... After all this, the diamond needs to be set in a ring, which also comes with thousands of design... You better check out what will hook your GF...

so we need a proposal ring,wedding band and a ring on ROM date?

total is 3?

A bit wrong on the ring definition.

Should be proposal, engagement, then wedding band. Wedding band is the only 1 the guy will wear too.

Try ur best to suprise her.. I failed despite not even hinting abt it.... dunno they got six sense or wat...

she seems to sense it too.... nb....

this few days keep telling me not to spend money unwisely....

A bit wrong on the ring definition.

Should be proposal, engagement, then wedding band. Wedding band is the only 1 the guy will wear too.

i tot proposal and wedding band will do...???

if buy from Larry's, it has to be an ideal cut Lazare, nothing less. don't buy the normal Larry diamonds.. feel they are overpriced for the quality. just my opinion.

mine was a 1.35ct E VVS2 Lazare from Larry's 4 years ago.... pricewise... it is nowhere close to anything on the poll....

according to many gals, the ideal price of proposal ring should be around 2 or 3 mths salary.. good luck dude

just a tip: if you cannot afford any of the branded ideal cuts (eg: Lazare, Gabrielle, etc), there are places out there that sell very good cuts still, close to ideal actually.

one place to check out is Canary at delphi orchard. the boss was from larry previously, very nice guy, hongkonger. quite high quality and good value for money, IMO. do check them out.

just like buying property (or performance cars), compare prices vs quality using $ per carat

i got it at delphi orchard also. but not the shop u say...

quite gd service. recommended by my friend's gf. similar quality and size will cost few hundred more at least in the branded shops.

[quote name='Tedlhw' date='Feb 19 2010, 02:01 PM' post='3042176'

i think you will find that Larry's offer very good value. Buy the diamond, and the Tiffany's style mounting is very common. Shouldn't cost more than a thousand +/- a bit, depending on material

dont quite get u on this....u mean we can buy a loose diamond n go get a mounting which is similar to tiffany's?

Yes. Go larry's and you will find many loose diamonds that come with certs. Get them to set it for you. Solitaire very simple to set one. Nothing compliacted. Takes like 1-2 days. Weekend a bit longer.

3x monthly salary is really a lot lei. never knew it is so expensive to propose nowadays. my time, juz ask gf, "how? want to apply for flat?" if yes, then only go kai kai look around for a ring. dat oso, bought a 1k+ no grade diamond ring from diamond industries outlet at lucky plaza, including gold ring.

10 years on, when got much more spare cash, i "exchanged" that for a 1.018c F VS2 AGS Ideal cut at $$$$$. add 400 for white gold ring similar looking to tiffany famous 6 pronged style ring.

dun get from the brands cos they need to mark up very high to cover adverts, etc. a similar ring above in LH was quoted to me at 25000 after discount. not sure of diamond prices now though cos my price was like 2 years ago?

whoever wants contact to buy diamonds, PM me. will refer u to 2 of the shops that i short listed when i went diamond hunting 2 years ago.

for info on diamonds, read up at www.goodoldgold.com

That was my experience also. Tot the 'street brands" sure cheaper. Boy, was i wrong!!!

Well, i bought a Lazare too, but i was later told that a Lazare Diamond is nothing more than a high quality perfect cut diamond.

So that kinda diminished the shiokness a bit.

After all, we can always find a diamond with the proper specs and cut.

I guess, a lazare is like a mark of quality.

even > 1 carat, it may still end up in the drawer... tried and tested.... [sweatdrop]

Whoah.... got 1 carat diamond sitting in your drawer ah??? When can we visit your house ya???? [:p]

u already drive a "i-am-kinda-well-to-do" car, wearing a big diamond or lose diamond cluster ring which adds up to 1.77ct on ur finger doesnt really have any effect on bragging rights. besides i m sure as a man u dont go around telling ur peers u got big diamond ring of 1.77ct on ur finger as bragging rights in the real world. it will sound real girly... :D:D:D

car baby seat can remove also what. whats has baby seat got to do with 1.77ct diamond ring in ur drawer at home?

Paiseh, what is catch22 LPPL?

My car has a child seat inside so I think it dispels chicks instead.