Vextan 1st Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 im deciding on a 48pointer E color triple ex diamond from a private jeweller. cost around $3k. is it too ngiao? nope, i will say it is just nice. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 my gf once told me....the amount of money i put in the ring must be more than wat i put in the car......die liao lor....i spent alot on the car liao....DIE I told her that since she keep objecting me to change to a bigger and better car (actually is for my own good), then her diamond shall be as big as my small car... wahhahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 im deciding on a 48pointer E color triple ex diamond from a private jeweller. cost around $3k. is it too ngiao? They (girls) say the diamond must be at least 2x your monthly salary... so for sure u earn more than 3k... hahaha anyway I also bought at ard ur budget... now gf keep saying i owe her money.. wth... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yapahfai Clutched February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 Was looking through this thread & find that to base ring-buying decision on one's salary is defeating the purpose of buying ring in the first place, isn't it? For big-ticket items like car/house, I'd agree. But for a ring, I am not too sure. Anyway, for my case, I wanted to buy 1 carat ring but decided to reserve it as wedding ring. I feel that wedding is once-in-a-lifetime & should give my spouse the best. As for proposal ring, it should be lower in value than the actual wedding ring. What do u all think? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 19, 2010 Author Share February 19, 2010 They (girls) say the diamond must be at least 2x your monthly salary... so for sure u earn more than 3k... hahaha anyway I also bought at ard ur budget... now gf keep saying i owe her money.. wth... [laugh] i also scared not big enough... but the color and clarity is there i see liao my eyes pain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 [laugh] i also scared not big enough... but the color and clarity is there i see liao my eyes pain Not ur pocket pain meh Where is ur current location rite now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 19, 2010 Author Share February 19, 2010 (edited) They (girls) say the diamond must be at least 2x your monthly salary... so for sure u earn more than 3k... hahaha anyway I also bought at ard ur budget... now gf keep saying i owe her money.. wth... ya la ya la.. if not how dare buy car... lol Edited February 19, 2010 by Robo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 19, 2010 Author Share February 19, 2010 (edited) Not ur pocket pain meh Where is ur current location rite now? outside... not in office tdy... Edited February 19, 2010 by Robo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 Your wedding dinner got shark's fin soup or not? If so then I wanna come and eat can? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 19, 2010 Author Share February 19, 2010 Your wedding dinner got shark's fin soup or not? If so then I wanna come and eat can? can... can... why not?! but that should be next year... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shemmy Clutched February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 congrats man. I'm also holding mine on the 1st of next year. almost everything book already. The dinner date was booked last year. very kiasu since was told that it's a good date. Having said all that, i still haven't bought a ring. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Higgsboson Clutched February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 just some experience 1. dont use platinum setting, do white gold and u get to change the setting every now and then when it lose its shine. 2. larry and brilliant rose brand can make it, the rest cmi imho. 3. bragging rights is always there. if u want to buy diamond, buy one she can wear everyday to work with the 'face'. else its explains y so many are keeping it in drawers cos all too small. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 yup. I also agree on going for size :) You buy tiffany ring, who can tell on her finger? All people say will be "so small". I got my ring 7 years back, a 0.78 carat diamond ring for $7-8k I think. bought from one of our family friends who opens a "shaddy" jewellery shop in a very old shopping center. If not because we know the owners, we would never have dared to buy from that shop. come to think of it, I never saw the ring again after the wedding.... That's the thing with buying a big one, your wife also scare to always wear it out. I want to my wife-to-be to wear it all the time. A bit small for now, but at least she can wear everyday. Told her after wedding n reno, then get her another diamond ring. These 2 item is going to kill me... To robo, don't know if it is ngiao or not. But for me, after buying, still have to set aside some money for house, don't say new car, don't even have money for asia tours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 20, 2010 Author Share February 20, 2010 im gonna check larry's out tdy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hulk 1st Gear February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 I am very lucky, I bought $500+ ring and got my "ex-gf" to agree marry me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 (edited) just some experience 1. dont use platinum setting, do white gold and u get to change the setting every now and then when it lose its shine. 2. larry and brilliant rose brand can make it, the rest cmi imho. 3. bragging rights is always there. if u want to buy diamond, buy one she can wear everyday to work with the 'face'. else its explains y so many are keeping it in drawers cos all too small. too big also not appropriate to wear daily. thats why 1 carat diamond is just about right for most people. add 2 more carats for earstuds add 3 more carats for pendant add 4 more carats for tennis bracelet add 3 more carats for miscellaneous rings viola, it's a brand new Lexus IS250, she's wearing .....hahahah Edited February 20, 2010 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Higgsboson Clutched February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 the 1.77ct ring is a catch22 when u drive your chick magnet? catch22 lppl situation... Bro, sometimes it just isnt appropriate to wear a 2.6 carat ring everyday either. My own wedding band total only 1.77carat, i also hardly wear it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 22, 2010 Author Share February 22, 2010 the 1.77ct ring is a catch22 when u drive your chick magnet? catch22 lppl situation... 1.77Carat!!!???? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...