Roborovskii 4th Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 Buy her a gold bar. A diamond loses it's value once it's set into a ring. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 22, 2010 Author Share February 22, 2010 Buy her a gold bar. A diamond loses it's value once it's set into a ring. nah u can always reset it to other stuff.... u think gers think practical as us? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roborovskii 4th Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 Rare, but there are some who are. One of my friends proposed with a 100g gold bar, and his gf accepted. So they never had a proposal ring, just wedding rings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 the 1.77ct ring is a catch22 when u drive your chick magnet? catch22 lppl situation... Paiseh, what is catch22 LPPL? My car has a child seat inside so I think it dispels chicks instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 nah u can always reset it to other stuff.... u think gers think practical as us? Gd luck bro.. Mine also next year... Wanna start new thread ? "Bridal Studio packages to recommend" hahhah btw got this exhibition called BOWs next week. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 22, 2010 Author Share February 22, 2010 Gd luck bro.. Mine also next year... Wanna start new thread ? "Bridal Studio packages to recommend" hahhah btw got this exhibition called BOWs next week. where is it located? bridal my friend recommend white link Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 can... can... why not?! but that should be next year... My ang bao max GOR ZHAP only hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 3. bragging rights is always there. if u want to buy diamond, buy one she can wear everyday to work with the 'face'. else its explains y so many are keeping it in drawers cos all too small. I totally noob when it comes to diamond so I abide by the basic principle that the bigger the rock, the better it can hold it's value because apparently it's more rare. Hence in my view, I don't wish to waste time on anything less than 1 carat because as you pointed out, chances it will just go into the drawer coz there isn't any bragging rights to it and yet it still cost a several thousands of my hard earned money. Worst still, I cannot flog it afterwards if we are in need of the cash or maybe we might just get back a fraction of what we paid for. Actually I quite liked the idea that one of the bro shared about proposing with a Rolex coz at least we all know it's worth in times of emergency..... So I rather save the $$$, work towards a future and if I do make it big, i don't mind buying carats costing the equivalent of Lexus IS250 as my appreciation for seeing me through thick and thin. And any gal that kpkb that I cannot provide a 1 carat ring for proposal, i will be very wary coz what if someone else comes in with 2 carats? So is she going to go off chasing after "carrots"??? Any it's just my perspective of things....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 where is it located? bridal my friend recommend white link i understand that white link quite ex, but quality good. no idea.. u google it ba... last sat suntec also got bridal show.. was v impressed with the taiwan photos... but scared tio carrot by foreign company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 where is it located? bridal my friend recommend white link Btw your bridal gown get from where? Don't tell me get from Hougang Broadway hor Vera Wang damn nice brudder. Get it for your wife lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 22, 2010 Author Share February 22, 2010 Btw your bridal gown get from where? Don't tell me get from Hougang Broadway hor Vera Wang damn nice brudder. Get it for your wife lah havent yet lah! nb.... my ring havent even ok yet... but last week i hint hint her reply rather positive leh..! and btw.... vera wang u want my head to drop arh!? my surname not wee, not kwek not ng hor! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 22, 2010 Author Share February 22, 2010 i understand that white link quite ex, but quality good. no idea.. u google it ba... last sat suntec also got bridal show.. was v impressed with the taiwan photos... but scared tio carrot by foreign company. i heard the taiwan co.s quite good! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 (edited) havent yet lah! nb.... my ring havent even ok yet... but last week i hint hint her reply rather positive leh..! and btw.... vera wang u want my head to drop arh!? my surname not wee, not kwek not ng hor! Try ur best to suprise her.. I failed despite not even hinting abt it.... dunno they got six sense or wat... Edited February 22, 2010 by Windchoco Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 I totally noob when it comes to diamond so I abide by the basic principle that the bigger the rock, the better it can hold it's value because apparently it's more rare. Hence in my view, I don't wish to waste time on anything less than 1 carat because as you pointed out, chances it will just go into the drawer coz there isn't any bragging rights to it and yet it still cost a several thousands of my hard earned money. Worst still, I cannot flog it afterwards if we are in need of the cash or maybe we might just get back a fraction of what we paid for. Actually I quite liked the idea that one of the bro shared about proposing with a Rolex coz at least we all know it's worth in times of emergency..... So I rather save the $$$, work towards a future and if I do make it big, i don't mind buying carats costing the equivalent of Lexus IS250 as my appreciation for seeing me through thick and thin. And any gal that kpkb that I cannot provide a 1 carat ring for proposal, i will be very wary coz what if someone else comes in with 2 carats? So is she going to go off chasing after "carrots"??? Any it's just my perspective of things....... even > 1 carat, it may still end up in the drawer... tried and tested.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patience Clutched February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 well... wanna start small first... the money can be channelled to other uses... it was a VVS2. E color 3x excellent cut.. so..... im still shopping im thinkin...since larrys cant be traded-in in the future.....so i should get a better ring as compared to one which can be traded in? my theory correct? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patience Clutched February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 [quote name='Tedlhw' date='Feb 19 2010, 02:01 PM' post='3042176' i think you will find that Larry's offer very good value. Buy the diamond, and the Tiffany's style mounting is very common. Shouldn't cost more than a thousand +/- a bit, depending on material dont quite get u on this....u mean we can buy a loose diamond n go get a mounting which is similar to tiffany's? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patience Clutched February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 Size, cut, clarity, colour all important and must balance. 0.3C, Colour D, Excellent cut,IF can never fight with 0.7C, VVS2,Verygood cut, F colour. In fact, 0.3C go for such good grade for what. Cannot see anything (unless you are talking about a string of 20X 0.3C for necklace. Thats a different story) On the other hand, big diamonds need better cut, clarity, colour. A "G" on 0.5 not that nice but okay lah. A G on 1C will look quite yellow. It is like buying Cars. If you buy luxury car but use lousy fabric for your car seat, it will look out of place. by the way, upgrade from VVS2 to VVS1, the price experience a big jump. upgrade further to IF or even Flawless, the jump is scary. My personnal view. Dun need triple E + VVS1 unless the stone is close to 1.0C. Brand itself is another bragging rights. Where u get your stone from? Answering "Larry's" and "Lazare" is different class altogether. hi...wana ask...how do we determine whats a good cut? is it as long the diamond shines alot then ok already? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patience Clutched February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 huh ? if she means the world to robo, then he should pay with all he has ah ? ur wrong! pay with his life! jokin ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...