Throttle2 Supersonic February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 u already drive a "i-am-kinda-well-to-do" car, wearing a big diamond or lose diamond cluster ring which adds up to 1.77ct on ur finger doesnt really have any effect on bragging rights. besides i m sure as a man u dont go around telling ur peers u got big diamond ring of 1.77ct on ur finger as bragging rights in the real world. it will sound real girly... car baby seat can remove also what. whats has baby seat got to do with 1.77ct diamond ring in ur drawer at home? Thats why i'm asking becos I got a bit confused in the conversation somewhere ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 i got it at delphi orchard also. but not the shop u say... quite gd service. recommended by my friend's gf. similar quality and size will cost few hundred more at least in the branded shops. so what's the damage? which range does it fall under the your poll? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 i tot proposal and wedding band will do...??? I thought the same. So many standards around... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 23, 2010 Author Share February 23, 2010 so what's the damage? which range does it fall under the your poll? it fell into the 1st cat... a little lesss than 2nd cat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 23, 2010 Author Share February 23, 2010 I thought the same. So many standards around... better dont let the gers see this... nb... later next thing we know must buy 3 sets Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 it fell into the 1st cat... a little lesss than 2nd cat... you are referring to the range from bottom-up? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 Well, i bought a Lazare too, but i was later told that a Lazare Diamond is nothing more than a high quality perfect cut diamond. So that kinda diminished the shiokness a bit. After all, we can always find a diamond with the proper specs and cut. I guess, a lazare is like a mark of quality. no different from hearts & arrows of lee hwa. both are ideal cut diamonds. they can tell any stories they want, but at the end of it, the ags cert and triple ideal are wat their diamonds are graded. brilliance from sookee, if im not mistaken on the name/brand, has more facets than a normal 57 facets, hence more but smaller sparkles. is a matter of preference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 no different from hearts & arrows of lee hwa. both are ideal cut diamonds. they can tell any stories they want, but at the end of it, the ags cert and triple ideal are wat their diamonds are graded. brilliance from sookee, if im not mistaken on the name/brand, has more facets than a normal 57 facets, hence more but smaller sparkles. is a matter of preference. I saw the Gabrielle cut, i thought it made the diamond look smaller and kinda messy looking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 useless buggers.... so materialistic.... that diamond wont promise u a happy everlasting love... it just shows how deep your pocket is but shallow in your brain. Any woman will take any ring if they love you. Next time when you get married i wanna see if that ring can help u take care of your kids .... siao ppl. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konken Clutched February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 Diamond jewelry in general in S'pore is way too overpriced. In my biz trips to US, I discovered and was surprised at how competitively priced their stones are over there and w/ GIA certification. I'd recently bought a 1.5 carat round cut eternity ring for my wife of 10 yrs when she gave birth to our twins, believe me, the costs was like less than S$3k after conversion. Color and clarity are of medium grade. But trust me, the diff is not noticeable to a normal consumer. Like my wife said, the weight is the first thing people see, not scrutize if the sparkle is brilliant enough. Haha, bulk purchase anyone? keke....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 23, 2010 Author Share February 23, 2010 you are referring to the range from bottom-up? no la... reserving the cash for other use... i did a forecast.... i almost fainted... till now the cold sweat still there.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 23, 2010 Author Share February 23, 2010 useless buggers.... so materialistic.... that diamond wont promise u a happy everlasting love... it just shows how deep your pocket is but shallow in your brain. Any woman will take any ring if they love you. Next time when you get married i wanna see if that ring can help u take care of your kids .... siao ppl. i agree with wad u say.... to us guys its a freaking useless rock.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 23, 2010 Author Share February 23, 2010 Diamond jewelry in general in S'pore is way too overpriced. In my biz trips to US, I discovered and was surprised at how competitively priced their stones are over there and w/ GIA certification. I'd recently bought a 1.5 carat round cut eternity ring for my wife of 10 yrs when she gave birth to our twins, believe me, the costs was like less than S$3k after conversion. Color and clarity are of medium grade. But trust me, the diff is not noticeable to a normal consumer. Like my wife said, the weight is the first thing people see, not scrutize if the sparkle is brilliant enough. Haha, bulk purchase anyone? keke....... got lobang??? now that i buy... next prolly is a few years down the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 i agree with wad u say.... to us guys its a freaking useless rock.... Yalor. but if u love your wife enuff, dun let her sia suay in front of her sis ba. Get something decent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 wth is a proposal ring LOL....propose only need flowers and kneel down, still need ring? I suspect it was a ploy long ago by jewellery merchants to increase their sales by introducing this concept. With my wife, only wedding ring, and it's a cheapskate one at that....she chose wan LOL She would rather spend on the honeymoon/new house than a rock or a piece of metal hehe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saycheese78 Clutched February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 hi...wana ask...how do we determine whats a good cut? is it as long the diamond shines alot then ok already? If my memory dun fail me, cut depends on 3 main factors: Symetry, Polish and ehh something else. All 3 things excellent is called Triple E. So these 3 put together will give you the cut. Basically most specs for diamond depends on the raw material or the raw diamond., How good the cut is depends on the skill of the diamond cutter. Yesh, true wisdom, indeed diamonds shines a lot ok liao, no need good cut, unless for flaunting purpose. For example: if the diamond cutter mis a cut slightly, the diamond become not symmetrical. So the cut will be affected, but if heng heng do not affect the shine, well this diamond is a good bargain! Cos you may get a diamond with same shine as excellent cut but priced as very good cut! Same as clarity. If one stone is a VVS2 but the air bubble position was in a way that it does not affect the shine (Shines as bright as a VVS1), grab it! So unless for bragging rights, use your eye to judge the diamond. Of course lighting in shop plays a part. For information, some shops like to use yellow light. Under yellow light, E colour and G colour a lot of difference. Under sunlight, no diff at all! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 Why not order online? After reading all the tips at www.proposalring.com and 300 pages long thread at http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1434486, I finally ordered mine from www.jamesallen.com You can get better quality stuff at better price when purchase online. After that, just bring the stone to jewelery shop in singapore to do the setting. When setting the diamond, remember to tell the shop NOT to cover the serial number with the "claws". Tell them to exposure the serial number so that you can verify with a microscope after setting i took a photo of the serial number engraved along the edge and check against my AGS cert to confirm I got the right stone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 ya Wife = ex-gf liao ma wah lau copy me...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...