March 2010 Second Open Bidding Exercise For Certificates Of

Sleepy-T

Singaporeans are really damn rich...so many do not bat an eyelid to pay over 30K for a piece of paper....oh my...I'm going to stay out of this for a long long time..people are really going bonkers..

We're not paying for "paper", we're paying for the right/entitlement to buy a car. The paper is ust a medium.

Secondly, we are not directly paying for the $30k COE, we only pay the price which we agreed at the showroom (which included an estimate of the COE by that dealer). For those whose deal is guaranteed COE, even if COE go up to $50k, we are not paying for it - the car dealer is. For those without guaranteed, once the COE go above the threshold the dealer is willing to fork out, he don't pay anything - just dun get car only.

Rational???? Rational people do not pay $35k for a piece of paper...hahahahahaha

Refer to my reply to another bro - we are not directly paying this COE, the dealers are.

Motorcycle still $1 - 14mins left! Maybe car dealers should start a subsidiary selling bikes, can recover some money from there.

Edited by Kar_lover

Why is Open Cat so much higher than Cat A or B? I had thought it was supposed to be used as a substitute for the other categories, so rationally it shouldn't be any higher than the higher of Cat A or Cat B?

Open Cat can be used in the next 3 months and can transfer owner.

Maybe the speculators are betting next round COE will go even higher...

good lor..no more cheapo drivers.

yesterday saw a black KOUP...keep waving in n out the 2 lanes....in the end i still manage to catch him 2 times at 2 traffic...wuliao de.

Open Cat can be used in the next 3 months and can transfer owner.

Maybe the speculators are betting next round COE will go even higher...

more than likely man... just look at the bid/quota ratio this rd!

Refer to my reply to another bro - we are not directly paying this COE, the dealers are.

But you are indirectly paying for it ... because the dealers have already factor that into the price. Just compare the selling price 3 months ago...

Singaporeans are really damn rich...so many do not bat an eyelid to pay over 30K for a piece of paper....oh my...I'm going to stay out of this for a long long time..people are really going bonkers..

It is not a piece of paper... it is an upfront deposit of permit to use a car for ten years .... when you decide to stop using a car say after three years, they will refund the balance of the money to you on the amount not used.......

COE Open Bidding

Bidding will end on 24/03/2010 16:00 hrs

Bidding status as at 24/03/2010 15:52:41.00 hrs

Category Current COE Price ($) Quota Bids Received

A CAR (1600CC & BELOW) & TAXI 27,709 1,146 2,140

B CAR (ABOVE 1600CC) 35,399 711 1,164

C GOODS VEHICLE & BUS 32,665 168 335

D MOTORCYCLE 1 371 353

E OPEN 40,000 584 1,457

Source: Land Transport Authority

But you are indirectly paying for it ... because the dealers have already factor that into the price. Just compare the selling price 3 months ago...

yeah. their basic price take into acc the avg COE for the past 3 rds.

but still must see what car u buy lah. like some premium brands, their listed price wun change much. they just earn slighltly more or less niah. but this rd is very different.

its the volume seller and PI whose prices go up and down more.