Eleewhm Neutral Newbie July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 let Mr Chong see the penatilies if Adrian goes to sue.... he can be spending up to two years.. since the damage is already above $500 Mischief 425. Whoever, with intent to cause, or knowing that he is likely to cause, wrongful loss or damage to the public or any person, causes the destruction of any property, or any such change in any property, or in the situation thereof, as destroys or diminishes its value or utility, or affects it injuriously, commits ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unorthodox_Sniper Neutral Newbie July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 if the car was vandalized only once, maybe it was done on impulse. sometimes when we argue with someone, in the heat of the moment we may do something impulsive and after that we will cool down or we may feel a sense of satisfaction and then we forget about the matter and move on. but if the car was vandalized 3 times over a period of time, it is not just done on impulse as the culprit has the deliberate intention to do it repeatedly so as to inflict the maximum damage/inconvenience to the victim. And there is premeditation as he has to do some planning in order to do it repeatedly. in theory, in the eyes of law there is a difference between done on impulse and premeditation where the latter may result in heavier sentencing. so it's sad that perhaps this case was not taken into deep consideration by the authorities that there is premeditation. the outcome of this case may set a precedence for future vandalism cases on private properties. if it is just a stern warning, does it mean everyone can vandalize anyone's car and if caught can use this case to defend himself and only get a stern warning or even no warning since it is done on impulse? Adrian, you should consider what Acemundo suggested to go NLB and print the archive record and pose the question to AGC and remind them there is premeditation involved and does it mean in future anyone can vandalize a car with no fear since they will not be prosecuted? if nothing is done, you can then consider other means such as civil suit or go to overseas media. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 aiya, u guys so angry, why not apply a permit at speakers corner and whack this issue? adrainli should lead the troop and call in media. else its all talking abt war on PAPER. lolx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 u print out wat also useless. newspaper wont tell u if tat person whom was charged had history of similar offence or not. usually if they haf past records, they will be charged. like the one whom scratched the speaker's car, he got theft records as reflected on the article above. which is why all thrown in, charged together. those who understands alittle bit of law should understand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 anyway AGC already told TS to fly kite liao. dun nid to further challenge lah waste ur own time nia. those whom very angry wif the decison can always help TS by chipping money to hire lawyer. since all so on, i also curious how many will chip in. hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 can't extract out but u can see the summary here : http://newspapers.nl.sg/Digitised/SearchRe...car%20scratched gosh i have gd memory !!! it was 10 yrs ago! happened in 1990. thats 20 years Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 So bro gearoil, wat comments do u have to say? You buggers here like to draw your own conclusions just like TS, at his own perils. Then you use what you termed as like scenerios to draw a parallel conclusion, to what case you have here. There must be some valid reasons known to AGC, why they didn't charge that Chong bugger. You get to hear one side of the story and start to instigate that TS to go on with his crazy pressing stunt, as though to please a frenzy mob here. So now you have the end result of became of the issue ..until now that is..... if that TS goes on to press further , he'll surely regret his own actions from now on. Don't say I didn't say so hor! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 TS, i found u a royal supporter! http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...t&p=3235839 Can we chip in $ for TS? Let's say $10 - $50 from each bro who wnted support him for his legal fees. civicsiao whose gonna apply speakers corner permit for TS? keke :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 TS, i found u a royal supporter! http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...t&p=3235839 whose gonna apply speakers corner permit for TS? keke :D So its gonna be MCF vs Chong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 Liberalisation Of Speakers' Corner 25 Aug 2008 Singapore, 25 August 2008 - At the 2008 National Day Rally, the Prime Minister announced plans to liberalise the use of the Speakers' Corner at Hong Lim Park. With effect from 1 Sep 2008, Singapore citizens may organise or participate in demonstrations at Speakers' Corner without having to obtain a police permit. The demonstration may relate to anything except for matters concerning race and religion. Sinagpore PRs can also participate in a demonstration at the Speakers' Corner. They are only required to apply for a police permit if they wish to organise a demonstration themselves or to speak at the Speakers' Corner. Foreigners will have to apply for a permit to conduct or participate in any activity at the Speakers' Corner. Speaker's Corner will continue to be managed with a light touch. In tandem with the liberalisation of Speakers' Corner, the Police will hand over the administration of the Speakers' Corner to NParks, which currently manages Hong Lim Park. NParks will administer the registration for the use of Speakers' Corner. Police shall focus its role to deal with any public order concerns or public complaints about the use of Speakers' Corner. To make it convenient, NParks will introduce on-line registration through its website at http://www.nparks.gov.sg. Speakers' Corner was opened on 1 Sep 2000 to allow Singapore citizens to speak freely. They are exempted from the need to obtain a police� licence so long as they meet the terms and conditions of use. In 2004, public exhibitions and performances were added to the list of exempted activities. The latest change to allow demonstrations at Speakers' Corner is another step in the Government's overall direction towards a more open and accommodative society. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 So its gonna be MCF vs Chong hahaha ya loh. i give TS and his supports some ave to help lah. else onlookers will say they NATO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 (edited) How can just say sorry and pay up the damages? Once, you may accept. Twice, and third time??? Chong commited mistakes and he must face the consequences. If someone punch your face, then say sorry and walk away. Will you let him go? Edited July 9, 2010 by 5936 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rehabilitated Neutral Newbie July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 aim chun chun and throw 1 dozen of eggs at his car or drop it in front of his car to warn him that Catastrophe is coming.... Those cars that park near him suay la.... Like that can get rotan boh? like that is only Sec 426 Cap 224...even lighter offence....spf ask you next time mai di did xiao xiao ok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gkscarmart Neutral Newbie July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 I think i I get the picture. This is after all the incident among 2 private parties (even though we are angry, we are still bystander). If he goes and scratch all the cars in car park, then he is public enemy. And since it is a civil case, police report is just a statement for record purpose. The victim can choose to pursue at his own course (cost) by getting his own lawyer, but he cannot use the public machine against the aggressor, meaning the public service shall not use its resources to investigate and sue on behalf. They may investigate and present the investigation result to the lawyer or judge if necessary. From the government viewpoint, this is the matter between 2 parties. The best is mediation (doesn't mean shake hand and hugging each other), it can mean the guilty party will make $ compensation and promise not to commit any foul action again towards the other party. The victim got compensated and decided to cut short the process and move on. But if the mediation failed, either the aggressor refuse to apologies and make compensation, or the victim felt not fairly compensated, then most likely the victim will get a lawyer to sue. And a civil court procedure will ensue. However, many good lawyers are not cheap and those cheap ones may spoil your case. Unlike having illness, we can learn to take care of our own until recovery or go see doctor. If got $, go see specialist. If no $, still can go polyclinic. But from what I know, we do not have a polyclinic for justice where you get a fairly good lawyer for fairly good fee. This is similar situation to some countries whereby the public health care is actually a risk to the public, you will have no confident to go seeking treatment. If you are ill, either you take care and move on. Or you die die borrow money to go and see specialist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 like this if i rob u, u sue me can already..no nid call police...LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 I think i I get the picture. This is after all the incident among 2 private parties (even though we are angry, we are still bystander). If he goes and scratch all the cars in car park, then he is public enemy. And since it is a civil case, police report is just a statement for record purpose. The victim can choose to pursue at his own course (cost) by getting his own lawyer, but he cannot use the public machine against the aggressor, meaning the public service shall not use its resources to investigate and sue on behalf. They may investigate and present the investigation result to the lawyer or judge if necessary. From the government viewpoint, this is the matter between 2 parties. The best is mediation (doesn't mean shake hand and hugging each other), it can mean the guilty party will make $ compensation and promise not to commit any foul action again towards the other party. The victim got compensated and decided to cut short the process and move on. But if the mediation failed, either the aggressor refuse to apologies and make compensation, or the victim felt not fairly compensated, then most likely the victim will get a lawyer to sue. And a civil court procedure will ensue. However, many good lawyers are not cheap and those cheap ones may spoil your case. Unlike having illness, we can learn to take care of our own until recovery or go see doctor. If got $, go see specialist. If no $, still can go polyclinic. But from what I know, we do not have a polyclinic for justice where you get a fairly good lawyer for fairly good fee. This is similar situation to some countries whereby the public health care is actually a risk to the public, you will have no confident to go seeking treatment. If you are ill, either you take care and move on. Or you die die borrow money to go and see specialist. What if the illness keeps coming back? surely this time u will be referred to the specialist. by then, really no money also need to borrow liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 Start a petition!! Rah rah rah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 9, 2010 Author Share July 9, 2010 Start a petition!! Rah rah rah! Hi, No need lah. Later G**L kia got something more to say. I have made an appointment with a lawyer, see how it goes. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...