Gkscarmart Neutral Newbie July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 robbery is criminal case, not civil case. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 Hi, No need lah. Later G**L kia got something more to say. I have made an appointment with a lawyer, see how it goes. Good luck Adrian. While we may not support you in monetary terms, i believe many are genuinely supportive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 9, 2010 Author Share July 9, 2010 One thing puzzles me. The Magistrate who attended to my case in the Subcourts directed the police to investigate. But the AGC do not want to prosecute. So who has more authority, the Magistrate or the AGC??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 Not that I don't agree with your points. But you have not suggested how to deal with Mr Chong if he keeps coming to destroy TS's car. Assume you were in TS position, what would you do for the past six months? Tell us your solution to convince everyone it will definitely works before you keep telling TS to move on, but exactly how to move on, you have not even suggested in any of your reply. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 (edited) I think i I get the picture. This is after all the incident among 2 private parties (even though we are angry, we are still bystander). If he goes and scratch all the cars in car park, then he is public enemy. And since it is a civil case, police report is just a statement for record purpose. The victim can choose to pursue at his own course (cost) by getting his own lawyer, but he cannot use the public machine against the aggressor, meaning the public service shall not use its resources to investigate and sue on behalf. They may investigate and present the investigation result to the lawyer or judge if necessary. From the government viewpoint, this is the matter between 2 parties. The best is mediation (doesn't mean shake hand and hugging each other), it can mean the guilty party will make $ compensation and promise not to commit any foul action again towards the other party. The victim got compensated and decided to cut short the process and move on. But if the mediation failed, either the aggressor refuse to apologies and make compensation, or the victim felt not fairly compensated, then most likely the victim will get a lawyer to sue. And a civil court procedure will ensue. However, many good lawyers are not cheap and those cheap ones may spoil your case. Unlike having illness, we can learn to take care of our own until recovery or go see doctor. If got $, go see specialist. If no $, still can go polyclinic. But from what I know, we do not have a polyclinic for justice where you get a fairly good lawyer for fairly good fee. This is similar situation to some countries whereby the public health care is actually a risk to the public, you will have no confident to go seeking treatment. If you are ill, either you take care and move on. Or you die die borrow money to go and see specialist. but if its a murder case, its also a private matter. (assuming the murderer is not a mass murderer), matter between 2 parties only never mind lah, just pay the deceased family some money lah.. ok with you? Guilty party paying $ as compensation is also flawed, because the rich get away with everything. just pay a bit of money, then no problem already..... point is, the $ is not the issue here, justice is. Edited July 9, 2010 by Tonyhawk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 i want to check......if i want to play a prank on someone like this, will i be charged in court? frame up someone's picture and put the picture in front of a lowlee with multiple led lights and drive around the neighbourhood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 Obviously i am refering to the difference TS case furthermore if put to the public enemy logic isnt TS tio robbed in a way too?get wa i mean? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gkscarmart Neutral Newbie July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 That's why they say if no $, can die but don't get sick. So the issue here is from what I mentioned: From what I know, there is no polyclinic for justice, meaning legal system has not welfare this part yet. We have doctors who still serve in polyclinic. But how many lawyers really serve the majority? and it is even tougher than treating illness because cases can gone awfully wrong even if with the right evidence. I think that's why some members advises TS to be more discreet, because if this becomes a court case, the opponent lawyer will have more information about TS or the case. This is not good because they can very well prepared for counter argument against TS's evidence. or characters or whatever they can get hold on. For one, I can think of "getting defendant to be examined by a psychiatrist and diagnosed he got XXYYZZ symptoms. He has hallucination, imagining TS wants to harm him...blah blah blah." Sorry, I watch too much drama but I think in a way, it reflects our life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 that is the whole darn problem. whether is criminal or civil is defined by the statute. statute are sometimes worded in the interest of the state but the state is represented by living persons. this living person has his own experiences, idioscyncrasies and bias. in this case is clear that he words it such a way as damage to private property is civil except for monetary property. even damage to private person (ie beating up someone) is also non-seizable offence aka private affair again. in actual fact, i find this damage of property no less punishable than theft and robbery. similarly for those cases of beating up, i also find it no less punishable than theft and robbery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rehabilitated Neutral Newbie July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 One thing puzzles me. The Magistrate who attended to my case in the Subcourts directed the police to investigate. But the AGC do not want to prosecute. So who has more authority, the Magistrate or the AGC??? Your case under Section 427 of the Penal Code, chapter 224, is not a civil case. However, it being a non-seizable offence, the police ordinarily do not have the powers to initate investigation unless sanctioned by designated Police Officers, the DPP or Court. In this case, the Magistrate, having received your complaints, directed the police to investigate into the case, and having gathered the facts of the case, to revert back to the Magistrate with a full investigation report. The Magistrate would then reply to you advising you on the probable course of action open to you. From what you mentioned, since AGC came into the picture, what i would believed would be during the course or completion of police investigation, due to the clear evidence gathered, the police have gone to the AGC to consult on the next course of action and whether to take up prosecution. AGC in layman's term, is the State's legal arm, where law enforcement agency seek advice on legal, prosecution matters etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 TS really chum, like begging the useless AGC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gkscarmart Neutral Newbie July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 (edited) hi, Bro. we don't have to clear it till either one of us has to accept the other's opinion. Peace. I have a car and I love my car. I will be freakingx1000 times mad when something like this happens to me too. I voice my opinion because I discern something and hope to point it out. I hope and want TS win this case. Justice must prevail. I shall not say anything about this thread and add to the confusion. The Pro, Pleas help! Edited July 9, 2010 by Gkscarmart Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 very simple. if the authority feel that verbal warning is good enough, then you should take a hammar and bash his car until it look like a piece of scrap metal. The most the authority will tell him that they will give u also a verbal warning An eye for an eye. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 highest paid public service in the world but taking the easy way out of drafting statutes in such way to make conflicting parties resolve the conflict among themselves! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 With all this **** i'd rather stay in the US Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 i want to check......if i want to play a prank on someone like this, will i be charged in court? frame up someone's picture and put the picture in front of a lowlee with multiple led lights and drive around the neighbourhood RADx where r u? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 RADx where r u? RADx is not mortal like us leh... he ish elite... high class sure wont kena caught one... he drive porker... the rest of us only poor mortals no power one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged July 9, 2010 Share July 9, 2010 Adrian, Sorry to hear about your car. Out of curiosity, is the other party accusation that you were aggressive and threaten to beat him true? You might want to write to ST forum and see what the police and AGC reply is. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...