PaiKia-Lee 1st Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Please lah, JB is not like last time where corruption is so rampant until you can open your big bloody mouth and start giving money and bribes like Santa Claus. The level of corruption in Malaysia has DROPPED as much as the RISE in corruption in Singapore. So dont say I never inform you to be discreet. NEVER NEVER give money to traffic police anymore. This is a warning. Eight Singaporeans held for bribery JOHOR BARU: The Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) has detained eight Singa ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Then Mr. Simi should start paying his officers more. I don't think Sporeans like to give bribe. It is more of trying to get themselves free from the harassment of the officers. So now how? Give also die, don't give and they might just harass you no end. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Malaysian here. To be honest, I can totally sympathize with Police asking for bribes. It's damned near impossible to live with their kind of wages. First step to eliminating corruption would be to increase their wages to reasonable levels. Follow up be severe punishments to corrupt officials. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Don't offer immediately. Wait til the officer say want to settle here or in court. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Pay fine on the spot must be humble lah, pay fine than yaya sure back fire. Learn to be humble. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Wow, there are so on nowadays? I was in a situation during CNY which warrants me to offer angpow to their cop there. But the guy just warned me not to commit the traffic offence again and he didn't accept the angpow. I must be very careful the next time. Thanks for the info dude. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluepica 4th Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Last Tuesday, I drove back Ipoh, then kena stopped after Ayer Keroh. The mata having hard time to describe my fault in Inggeris, so I said told him to speak melayu.... then he bla bla bla.....said this is KM207, we caught you travelled at 120km/h at KM200, 7km away.....that stretch speed limit is 90km/h Then I give him my driving license and IC... he took it, write something, go behind check my car plate, walkie-talkie a while and said he will issue me a saman... I said " oh.. ok"... then he walkie-talkie again... and come back and said " This time I give you chance. Where are you heading?" me replied "KL" he replied "We got another OPS at Sg Besi, so drive slowly." me replied "Terima Kasih Encik " Don't offer anything, stay cool, and you'll be better off. The real speed trap won't setup checkpoint to stop vehicles. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Last Tuesday, I drove back Ipoh, then kena stopped after Ayer Keroh. The mata having hard time to describe my fault in Inggeris, so I said told him to speak melayu.... then he bla bla bla.....said this is KM207, we caught you travelled at 120km/h at KM200, 7km away.....that stretch speed limit is 90km/h Then I give him my driving license and IC... he took it, write something, go behind check my car plate, walkie-talkie a while and said he will issue me a saman... I said " oh.. ok"... then he walkie-talkie again... and come back and said " This time I give you chance. Where are you heading?" me replied "KL" he replied "We got another OPS at Sg Besi, so drive slowly." me replied "Terima Kasih Encik " Don't offer anything, stay cool, and you'll be better off. The real speed trap won't setup checkpoint to stop vehicles. I believe they are the anit-graft officers trying to catch SG drivers off guard by offering $$$$$. Furthermore, they can inform you that there are speed traps ahead after giving you a warning. If really they are speed trap officer, they will issue summon or ask you whether want to settle on-the-spot or in court....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 I too agree with you. I dont blame them for doing so as it is impossible to survive with RM 600 I believe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Of course, despite low pay or poor work conditions, there are definitely some people, no matter how few, who are committed to the job and not susceptible to bribes Just like in public service, there are those who really believe in the mission of helping people and join up with such ideals - we can laugh and shake our heads in disbelief - but there are such people out there, definitely! Even if the polis want bribe, don't offer it blatantly and 'ya-ya' as some posters here have stated. Even the bribe-seekers have some dignity and personal pride, and can jolly well turn you in if u offend them. After all, losing one bribe to them is no big deal - plenty more on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Optoms Neutral Newbie May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 (edited) Knn.. I was caught at a road block just after malacca where 2 lanes become 3 lanes. Police officer ask me wan to settle on the spot and give some money to them or pay 300 at the police post. Ask me to give rm50 on the spot. I LL cos no change... 8 persons caught for wayang purpose but still got 800 people have to pay coffee money to them... Edited May 31, 2010 by Optoms Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Please lah, JB is not like last time where corruption is so rampant until you can open your big bloody mouth and start giving money and bribes like Santa Claus. The level of corruption in Malaysia has DROPPED as much as the RISE in corruption in Singapore. So dont say I never inform you to be discreet. NEVER NEVER give money to traffic police anymore. This is a warning. Eight Singaporeans held for bribery JOHOR BARU: The Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) has detained eight Singa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Will these 8 people really be jailed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Just thinking aloud... Perhaps these 8 men are typical hao lian sgreans? Even if we all know that kopi $ is part and parcel of life there, we shouldn't like offer it as if they are begging us for it right? Be nice, say sorry, build some rapport and wait for them to offer. Maybe these 8 men took the attitude of " I speed so what? Take my 50 bucks and get lost you cheap low life." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 There's smth obviously not right with their anti-corruption program. Shouldn't they start with their internal "house cleaning" first? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 We should be more humble in all country and don't break any law. But BTW is there any way to report corrupt police or custom officers in MY? Will get into more trouble? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 We should be more humble in all country and don't break any law. But BTW is there any way to report corrupt police or custom officers in MY? Will get into more trouble? Is it worth risking the chance? Like you said, we are on their turf. The word corrupted is not printed on their faces. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weezersg 3rd Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 I just came back from Msia 1 hour ago. Was caught speeding and stop at the exit NSH to Tuas. The TP said "fine $300 but I wanna help you or u prefer to pay at the police post or something like that" I bribed him coz it is cheaper and also save me time settling the fine. The MACC ops just for show only. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...