Kb27 Supersonic June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 ============== So this sud b considered as a Semi-synthetic oil then. Yes, it's semi-syn. Schaeffer is known for its solid additive pack. And for the price of $8.50 per qt (min order of 6), it's a good option for those who wants to go cheap but still prefer a bit of quality...my opinion anyway.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 Yes, it's semi-syn. Schaeffer is known for its solid additive pack. And for the price of $8.50 per qt (min order of 6), it's a good option for those who wants to go cheap but still prefer a bit of quality...my opinion anyway.. ================ Well maybe I might give it a try one day. Can consider as I also heard many good things about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 I've been using C__ ___e on my previous ride for 4 years and going 2 on current one. Don't feel any difference. Changed oil at every 10k km. An I'm using 92 grade petrol as well. May sound cheapo, it's true the savings can be better used elsewhere. I'm not a performance guy, using both cheap oils don't make my car feel sluggish or unresponsive. My average FC is around 19 - 19.5km/l on a Jazz which is totally stock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 14, 2010 Author Share June 14, 2010 cheapo man tats all?... cheapo man?... i thought YOU were the cheapo complain/bargain labour charge too much... idiot... as if ppl take gun/knife ask you patronise their workshop... choose to go there but complain expensive... now THATS stupid... anyways cheapo better than a fcuking balls-less retarded brainless dumb prick idiot hiding behind the computer like a mouse... tsk tsk... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 14, 2010 Author Share June 14, 2010 I have a friend who use karlube for a very long time due to the price alone. It helps too, when the brand is of UK and not local. He also mentioned that he did a "engine flush" at Autobacs and his car drove much better. Whether that flush removed varnish, sludge, whatever that is accumulating in his engine from using karlube or he just phychologically feels an improvement, no one knows. Then again, he change car every 3 years average, so he probably won't see any long term ill effect, if any. There are also many people who swears they have never seen an engine failure due to a particular oil. As long as you have oil, whatever brand or name, in the engine, it will not kill it in the immediate short term. I started with cheaper Castrol Magnatec, karlube and Mobil 1. Now, I'm using Amsoil and Redline...the more expensive oil as I learnt more about oil. Maybe one day, I'll switch back to cheap oil..carefully. As long as you're using API qualified oil of SH and above according to your manual, and changing out at short 5k or 10k interval, I don't think any harm will come to your engine in the near term. could be just my butt dyno but i do feel expensive oils kinda feel 'smoother'... maybe the brain just wants to feel so after paying so much more... i also feel that motul oils are pretty good at having lasting 'smoothness'... maybe due to the ester base? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 14, 2010 Author Share June 14, 2010 Btw, just to point out that mineral oils are even cheaper. And many people have been using mineral oils on their cars for ages. The important thing is not about the price of the oil. Expensive doesn't mean its good. i totally agree that expensive doesnt mean its good... but surely good cant be cheap right?... haha anyways mineral oils breaksdown much faster then a fully syn oil... thus risk of sludge is higher... and i believe mineral oil usually isnt as smooth correct? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 could be just my butt dyno but i do feel expensive oils kinda feel 'smoother'... maybe the brain just wants to feel so after paying so much more... i also feel that motul oils are pretty good at having lasting 'smoothness'... maybe due to the ester base? ============== Generally the more ex oils sud b better but then again, many pple r not too fussy. As long as it gives good protection & decent FC, using a cheaper oil means some savings. As long as the oil is not some snake oil which promises the sun & the moon but is really crap & wil damage your engine after some time can lah. I just try to refrain from using too many of those additives as many I found can b bad for the engine. Mainly snake oils sold just to make a quick buck from us. Here today & gone tomorrow kind of product. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 14, 2010 Author Share June 14, 2010 ============== The petrol & engine oils used by racing teams r very different from what we can buy over the counter. The advertisments dont influence me at all. They have special blends used in racing & what we get cud b a more basic oil/petrol. tats what i thought too... and alamak 15years ago??? inflation lah bro... btw where you get your c@rkube? seems carrefour n Giant different price... wonder if Malaysia Giant/Carrefour sells it? maybe lagi cheaper... haha... i know Jusco doesnt... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 14, 2010 Author Share June 14, 2010 anymore other cheapo engine oil tat we can buy? cheap... and cheapo... different meaning hor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 =========== Ya. BTW when is next MU? We supposed to finish a bottle of JD together. Just a phone call away. This week out for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 14, 2010 Author Share June 14, 2010 ============== Generally the more ex oils sud b better but then again, many pple r not too fussy. As long as it gives good protection & decent FC, using a cheaper oil means some savings. As long as the oil is not some snake oil which promises the sun & the moon but is really crap & wil damage your engine after some time can lah. I just try to refrain from using too many of those additives as many I found can b bad for the engine. Mainly snake oils sold just to make a quick buck from us. Here today & gone tomorrow kind of product. yup i have given up on engine additives... its a no no for me ever again... actually i always wondered... if an oil good in Japan, US, or anywhere where there is winter.. would it not be better to get an oil made for the tropics? or like maybe oils from the middle east? ENOC or smthing... hmmmmm... just a thought... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 tats what i thought too... and alamak 15years ago??? inflation lah bro... btw where you get your c@rkube? seems carrefour n Giant different price... wonder if Malaysia Giant/Carrefour sells it? maybe lagi cheaper... haha... i know Jusco doesnt... ============== OK maybe not 15 years. More closer to 10 years then? I just remember I bought when they 1st started selling here. Other engine oils drop in price. RP increase. I think due to it getting too popular. I hope CLTR dont get too "popular". I get in SG when I see on offer of about $29/5 lit. or cheaper. JB I never see it being sold at any supermarket. There got many brands of local EO but mostly mineral. Castrol & Shell is quite plentyful. The petrol stations selling Mobil 1 is more ex than prices in SG. Even Carefour selling EO more ex than SG prices. Better buy here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 tats what i thought too... and alamak 15years ago??? inflation lah bro... btw where you get your c@rkube? seems carrefour n Giant different price... wonder if Malaysia Giant/Carrefour sells it? maybe lagi cheaper... haha... i know Jusco doesnt... I got mine at carrefour. Seemed that Giant's prices are not as cheap. Got to look out for sales or special discount. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 Just a phone call away. This week out for me. ============== OK lets set a date then. Let me know early so I can make myself free. Same place(Hometeam)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 14, 2010 Author Share June 14, 2010 next JB trip i will take a look at the Giant and Carrefour there... have you checked there yet? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 yup i have given up on engine additives... its a no no for me ever again... actually i always wondered... if an oil good in Japan, US, or anywhere where there is winter.. would it not be better to get an oil made for the tropics? or like maybe oils from the middle east? ENOC or smthing... hmmmmm... just a thought... ============== Just check the weighting of the oil can already. The "W" (winter) I disregard as not so important. I just see the summer temp 40 deg. Celcius is safer. Can use the 30 deg but then our temp average 32 deg & sometimes go to 35 deg even. I just play safe with 40 deg. Plus if I whack, the slightly thicker oil sud give more protection. Only I lose some FC but since mine is JB cheap petrol, FC not so important to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear June 14, 2010 Author Share June 14, 2010 after i heard STP got sued before... i have never used their products ever... if you notice the oil treatment can says... protects your engine by providing a thicker cushion between metal moving parts... maybe gd for your TC car but for a normal saloon i guess it just makes the FC go up... just my opinion... and your initial thoughts of Amsoil, reminds me of when i first heard of Ultraman Engine oil... i laughed myself sick... i though maybe there will be a Hello Kitty Engine Oil... hahaha... but after finding out more, UltraMan oil is pretty well certified... but then thats just what i read... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 next JB trip i will take a look at the Giant and Carrefour there... have you checked there yet? ============= I go Giant all the time. Carrefour I went last time never see CLTR there. Maybe cos Msians prefer the cheaper local mineral oils. There cars r cheap so they not as fussy as us. Only enthusiasts might use synthetic & market is not big there compared to average drivers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...