How do you start your car?

Roller

wah lau my jeppun 1998 pok chia also will cut off aircon,radio,internal lights before cranking. 1998 pok chia ecu as good as kia and vw leh lol~

nowadays no need to worry about such things ba, the car getting smarter. Start to worry when cars start driving themselves!

Wow, 360 checklist.

R u a pilot? :D

Good habit to do all round visual check before move off, Not much extra seconds required.

More smart cars around, so less work for pre-start sequence for driver. make driver easier...

Hello!

Just some doubts that you guys can help:

When you start your car EVERYTIME, is it better to switch off aircon and radio first? Or just aircon enough?

Or it is perfectly alright just leave them on when switiching off and starting up your car?

Read somewhere that it affects the car battery or alternator or something like that..

Not necessary. Most cars ECU will only turn on aircon compressor few seconds after the engine is started.

In my 25 years of driving, I have never turned off aircon or radio before starting the car...even for the old carburetted engines. Even if this has negative effects on battery it is minimal...so just enjoy driving and not worry too much. [:)]

I start my car by...

1. open door

2. sit down, chuck stuff in back seat, put key in

3. damn, is that a parking summon or a stupid flyer?

4. get out of car to remove the trash on windscreen

5. beo beo tyres a bit to check whether those ginnas around the place got play punk at night or not

6. realize i need get kopi for my morning drive

7. take out key and cross the road to buy kopi

8. come back, open door, put key in

9. get out to chase away the cat that's still sleeping on my boot

10. get back in and crank

11. crank again because the car's lazier than me and still hasn't woken up

12. put on seat belt, turn on headlights, turn on radio, turn on aircon

13. drive straight into the jam in my carpark that's just formed because of the school next door

14. turn on handphone and go rant about peak hour jams in some forum

car battery and alternator? wear and tear items lah.

Huh?! I can beat you..

I..

1. Open passenger door

2. Open glove box take pressure gauge

3. Check all 4 tires

4. Close passenger door

5. Open driver door

6. Pull bonnet release

7. Open bonnet

8. Check oil level

9. Check PS fluid level

10. Check washer bottle level

11. Find sleeping cat (don't say it will never happen, my friend found a kitten sleeping before

12. Look under car for oil leak

13. Close bonnet

14. Get in

15. Pull down driver visor

16. Flip up vanity mirror cover

17. Check reflection

18. Adjust hair style

19. Insert key

20. Turn key

21. Make sure everything off

22. Shake gearstick

23. Check mileage

24. Check fuel level

25. Check indicator

26. Turn on lights

27. Turn on hazard lights

28. Get out

29. Walk around car, ensure all lights are on

30. Get in

31. Jam brake pedal with umbrella

33. Check if third brake light is on

34. Stow umbrella

35. Check drinking water level

36. Start engine

37. On fan

38. On radio

39. Adjust air vent (by now you're damn hot)

40. On air con

41. Relax 5 minute

42. Move off

How's that? [laugh]

I'm curious too. when i stop my engine, radio still play. it will automatically cuts off when i open the door.

I was told this is a feature but i wonder does it hurts the battery?

Just to add. Some cars like my current Passat, it's ok to leave the electrical stuff on because the ECU is "smart" enough to cut the current batnt to all electrical stuff during cranking and switch them on only 2 or 3 secs after the engine has started up. But then, I still switch everything off due to habit.

Huh?! I can beat you..

I..

1. Open passenger door

3. Check all 4 tires

4. Close passenger door

5. Open driver door

6. Pull bonnet release

7. Open bonnet

8. Check oil level

9. Check PS fluid level

11. Find sleeping cat (don't say it will never happen, my friend found a kitten sleeping before

13. Close bonnet

14. Get in

17. Check reflection

18. Adjust hair style

19. Insert key

20. Turn key

22. Shake gearstick

23. Check mileage

24. Check fuel level

25. Check indicator

26. Turn on lights

28. Get out

30. Get in

34. Stow umbrella

36. Start engine

37. On fan

38. On radio

40. On air con

41. Relax 5 minute

42. Move off

How's that? [laugh]

Why you close passenger door but never close the driver door? Dangerous leh [:p]

Wow, 360 checklist.

R u a pilot? :D

Good habit to do all round visual check before move off, Not much extra seconds required.

More smart cars around, so less work for pre-start sequence for driver. make driver easier...

No, I don't drive a Saab. [:p]

And yes it's surprising how many people don't at least visually check their car before getting in. It only takes a couple of seconds after all...

Huh?! I can beat you..

I..

1. Open passenger door

3. Check all 4 tires

4. Close passenger door

5. Open driver door

6. Pull bonnet release

7. Open bonnet

8. Check oil level

9. Check PS fluid level

13. Close bonnet

14. Get in

17. Check reflection

18. Adjust hair style

19. Insert key

20. Turn key

22. Shake gearstick

23. Check mileage

24. Check fuel level

25. Check indicator

26. Turn on lights

28. Get out

30. Get in

34. Stow umbrella

36. Start engine

37. On fan

38. On radio

40. On air con

41. Relax 5 minute

42. Move off

How's that? [laugh]

i got voice command,

1. door open

2. engine on

3. roll out

I don't off auto headlights for a good reason....my wife may forget to on it when she drives the car...too used to auto headlights already.

I think all cars should have auto headlights. I have noticed an increasing number of cars going around at night with lights OFF.

The design of the dash and console (the meters are all lit) now makes it difficult for some drivers to realise the lights aren't on.

I'm curious too. when i stop my engine, radio still play. it will automatically cuts off when i open the door.

I was told this is a feature but i wonder does it hurts the battery?

Hmm .. how about auto-folding mirrors? Will they affect battery too?

I think all cars should have auto headlights. I have noticed an increasing number of cars going around at night with lights OFF.

The design of the dash and console (the meters are all lit) now makes it difficult for some drivers to realise the lights aren't on.

I configured the lighting in a way that if the dash is damn bright at night, means i never turn on lights. [:p]

I always switch off the main lights when I entering carpark, leaving the pole lights on. However when I drop my friends off, sometimes I forget to switch on the main lights. Heh. Until I get to a very dark road ( a.k.a street light spoil )

Those whose cars have installed a voltage and ampere meter can test it yourself. Check the voltage and current when you are cranking to see how low it drops with and without everythign turned on. If no difference, then you can do whatever you want, off or don't off. Just beware that instead of the battery, the items that got their current cut off may die faster.

Even if your ECU cuts the current to the electrical stuff, it's not healthy to those equipments in the long run. It's just the same logic with any electric appliances. Do you switch them off using the power switch or you leave the power switch permanently on and use the main wall socket to off/on the appliance? There's always a reason why there's a power switch. Just like your PC. You do a proper shutdown instead of pulling the power plug.

That's my own opinion.

I configured the lighting in a way that if the dash is damn bright at night, means i never turn on lights. [:p]

I always switch off the main lights when I entering carpark, leaving the pole lights on. However when I drop my friends off, sometimes I forget to switch on the main lights. Heh. Until I get to a very dark road ( a.k.a street light spoil )

when I was driving cars without auto headlights, I always switch on the main headlights when I enter any sheltered car park. This is to enable the beam to shine ahead so that other drivers will know in advance that you are approaching, especially during turns where there are blind spots. The other car can see your lights shining against the wall.

Huh?! I can beat you..

I..

1. Open passenger door

3. Check all 4 tires

4. Close passenger door

5. Open driver door

6. Pull bonnet release

7. Open bonnet

8. Check oil level

9. Check PS fluid level

13. Close bonnet

14. Get in

17. Check reflection

18. Adjust hair style

19. Insert key

20. Turn key

22. Shake gearstick

23. Check mileage

24. Check fuel level

25. Check indicator

26. Turn on lights

28. Get out

30. Get in

34. Stow umbrella

36. Start engine

37. On fan

38. On radio

40. On air con

41. Relax 5 minute

42. Move off

How's that? [laugh]

u sure u shake gear stick or your..... [blush]

hi all,

I just came back from Malaysia and realised that my maid forget to off the internal lights in the car. I cant start my car this morning. This is not the first time. I have to call AA to jump start my car and it cost hundreds of dollars.

Does anyone know if there is any alternatives?

Rgds

John

hi all,

I just came back from Malaysia and realised that my maid forget to off the internal lights in the car. I cant start my car this morning. This is not the first time. I have to call AA to jump start my car and it cost hundreds of dollars.

Rgds

John

change the maid [laugh][laugh]

eh AA where got charge you hundreds dollars wan?? free leh??

hi all,

Rgds

John

AA if u member is FREE. If u DBS card holder better no need member call STAR is also FREE.