Kt2u 1st Gear February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 I think K5 is also competing against the "value-for-money" category. Honestly speaking given today's COE prices, K5 represents a very compelling option for a Cat B saloon car. Therefore it will be a viable competitor to any saloon in the same price range, be it Civic, i45, Mazda 3 2.0L etc. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 I think K5 is also competing against the "value-for-money" category. Honestly speaking given today's COE prices, K5 represents a very compelling option for a Cat B saloon car. Therefore it will be a viable competitor to any saloon in the same price range, be it Civic, i45, Mazda 3 2.0L etc. You don't buy a Kia/ Hyundai now because it's VFM. VFM is just part of their package. Their cars are easily one of the best equipped in the market (speaking for the FL Forte 1.6SX, FL Koup 1.6SX, K5, Sportage, etc). And I have to give them the credit for coming out with designs that are out of our mind. Their workmanship, quality and reliability has improved leaps and bounds over the years, and they're as reliable as an equivalent Japanese (be it Thai or Japan- made) rivals out there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 Do you prefer K5 to i45? very very hard choice. Both looks great. My wife prefers i45, while I like the looks of k5 a little more. Both are really excellent cars in their class. For me, whAt draws me to these 2 cars are the style, design and space offered by both cars. Camry is a good car, but too ah pek for me. Haha. Old sonata is solid too but poor fc and looks even more ah pek. Accord has a very very good driving experience for me, but loses out in design. The back of the accord doesn't appeal to me at all. Teana also drives well, but again the looks not as stylish as i45 and k5. Also I have a thing for korean cars Liao. My previous getz served me well for 3yrs and now my current 2yrs 3mths old avante is giving me a good feel too. Kinda attached to her and hard for me to let go now. So I wan2 drive it longer, now 80k mileage, and prob will retire her at 150k then go for i45 or k5. Hopefully I may have k7 to choose then too. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taciturn Neutral Newbie February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 very very hard choice. Both looks great. My wife prefers i45, while I like the looks of k5 a little more. Both are really excellent cars in their class. For me, whAt draws me to these 2 cars are the style, design and space offered by both cars. Camry is a good car, but too ah pek for me. Haha. Old sonata is solid too but poor fc and looks even more ah pek. Accord has a very very good driving experience for me, but loses out in design. The back of the accord doesn't appeal to me at all. Teana also drives well, but again the looks not as stylish as i45 and k5. Also I have a thing for korean cars Liao. My previous getz served me well for 3yrs and now my current 2yrs 3mths old avante is giving me a good feel too. Kinda attached to her and hard for me to let go now. So I wan2 drive it longer, now 80k mileage, and prob will retire her at 150k then go for i45 or k5. Hopefully I may have k7 to choose then too. Cheers. i prefer K5 too.JDM Accord and Mazda 6 can match K5 in looks to a certain extent. Let's look forward to hopefully lower COEs in future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cttan456 2nd Gear February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 (edited) Was just passing by Kia Alexandra on Sunday and noticed that the showroom was dammed busy so decided join the crowd. First shipment all sold out by the 2nd day of launch. At that time there were 32 bookings for the 2nd shipment. Didn't ask how many units for the 2nd shipment but if they cannot bring in too many due to the huge demand in other countries, 2nd shipment sold out even before reaching our shores. Read from car magazines that the launch of this car is delayed in many other countries and waiting list very long due to overwhelming demand. Didn't test drive due to the long wait cos have an appointment to keep to. Edited February 21, 2011 by Cttan456 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sktan10 5th Gear February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 I will take K5 anytime, if compare to civic 1.8 Same here,i take k5 anytime. 120k to buy a 2006 old model "new car"? I think buy second hand better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 Anyway, I am a staunch supporter or Hyundai nowadays, coz I own one which is pretty satisfying to me. I find it great value, looks good, drive experience is good. It is the FC for korean car that erode the value. The different in FC between a similar spec korean vs conti is like 5km/L based on my mileage of 25K km a year, i save 938L of petrol in 1 year if i drive a conti that's $1875 per year of saving. not forgetting the servicing, my conti only need to service every 20K when the korean need to service every 10K also, i can get back more paper value if i want to scrap my conti Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic February 21, 2011 Author Share February 21, 2011 It is the FC for korean car that erode the value. The different in FC between a similar spec korean vs conti is like 5km/L based on my mileage of 25K km a year, i save 938L of petrol in 1 year if i drive a conti that's $1875 per year of saving. not forgetting the servicing, my conti only need to service every 20K when the korean need to service every 10K also, i can get back more paper value if i want to scrap my conti FC issue for Korean car should be the past already. Car like Avante and Forte FC should be on par or even better than most Japan counter part. Which Japan 1.6L car come with 6spd Auto/Manual like the Forte, which will contribute to better FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 (edited) FC issue for Korean car should be the past already. Car like Avante and Forte FC should be on par or even better than most Japan counter part. Which Japan 1.6L car come with 6spd Auto/Manual like the Forte, which will contribute to better FC. I almost bought an Aveo5 (which is already quite a new model) when I found out the the FC can drop below 10km/L. On the other hand, a conti of similar spec can reach 15km/L easily (and I am getting 16km/L now) My friend drive a Cerato also getting around 10km/L of cos FC will largely depends on the driver and any modification, so i am looking at the average FC that are posted on the net, and the general sentiment that I gather is that korean car still have a lot to catch up in terms of FC Edited February 21, 2011 by Kwchan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMdodobird Neutral Newbie February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 I almost bought an Aveo5 (which is already quite a new model) when I found out the the FC can drop below 10km/L. On the other hand, a conti of similar spec can reach 15km/L easily (and I am getting 16km/L now) My friend drive a Cerato also getting around 10km/L of cos FC will largely depends on the driver and any modification, so i am looking at the average FC that are posted on the net, and the general sentiment that I gather is that korean car still have a lot to catch up in terms of FC my 2006 magentis is getting 10.5-11km/L with 30% city-70& highway driving(computer states 11.5km/L though). Normal driving condition. I am sure the new K5 will give the same, if not slightly better fuel consumption. i do drive my bro's 2008 polo 1.4 (non tsi model) frequently, and it only return 14km/L(same conditions as above). But spare part is a killer as VW have to order and takes 2-3months to arrive + slightly expensive despite being a small car. understand im not comparing apple to apple, but im comparing a korean car known to be a "guzzler" with a conti known to be a "fuel sipper", and difference i get is surprisingly only around 3-4km. not a huge arm length which people may think. pretty sure the new upcoming korean cars will have better FC just my experience to share cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 Golf have good fc I think. But comparing a small hatch to a big sedan is like comparing peter crouch to Michael Owen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic February 21, 2011 Author Share February 21, 2011 I almost bought an Aveo5 (which is already quite a new model) when I found out the the FC can drop below 10km/L. On the other hand, a conti of similar spec can reach 15km/L easily (and I am getting 16km/L now) My friend drive a Cerato also getting around 10km/L of cos FC will largely depends on the driver and any modification, so i am looking at the average FC that are posted on the net, and the general sentiment that I gather is that korean car still have a lot to catch up in terms of FC Aveo5 is still using a old design engine. Just a basic 16V fuel injection. No Dual VVTi or Dual CVVT or iVTec or what ever the manufacture want to call it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sam_wong_cm Clutched February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 my 2006 magentis is getting 10.5-11km/L with 30% city-70& highway driving(computer states 11.5km/L though). Normal driving condition. I am sure the new K5 will give the same, if not slightly better fuel consumption. i do drive my bro's 2008 polo 1.4 (non tsi model) frequently, and it only return 14km/L(same conditions as above). But spare part is a killer as VW have to order and takes 2-3months to arrive + slightly expensive despite being a small car. understand im not comparing apple to apple, but im comparing a korean car known to be a "guzzler" with a conti known to be a "fuel sipper", and difference i get is surprisingly only around 3-4km. not a huge arm length which people may think. pretty sure the new upcoming korean cars will have better FC just my experience to share cheers My last 2006 KIA RIO 1.4 gives me about 17km/l with 30% city and 70% highway, FC depend very much on the driver and the road condition better technology is not everything to better FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 Jap car engine fuel efficiency is a myth lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 Jap car engine fuel efficiency is a myth lah. i agree, my gf's integra gives about 8km/l my current accord gives 12km/l with extra slow move off from traffic lights + super duper hot cause no aircon otherwise it barely gives 10km/l on the other hand my friend's avante gives 15km/l with aircon every now and then and 14km/l with aircon on all the way Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 my 2006 magentis is getting 10.5-11km/L with 30% city-70& highway driving(computer states 11.5km/L though). Normal driving condition. I am sure the new K5 will give the same, if not slightly better fuel consumption. magentis is a 2L car right? i can't even get 10km/l on my accord with normal driving conditions! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sktan10 5th Gear February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 I almost bought an Aveo5 (which is already quite a new model) when I found out the the FC can drop below 10km/L. On the other hand, a conti of similar spec can reach 15km/L easily (and I am getting 16km/L now) My friend drive a Cerato also getting around 10km/L of cos FC will largely depends on the driver and any modification, so i am looking at the average FC that are posted on the net, and the general sentiment that I gather is that korean car still have a lot to catch up in terms of FC FC very subjective one la! Some drive without air-con on,some max air-con on,some min air-con on. Some 14" rim,some 17" rim. Some driver alone only,some always have passengers. Some travel mostly in jam road,some travel mostly on highway. Some drive like F1 driver,some drive very gentle. So,how to compare? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 21, 2011 Share February 21, 2011 (edited) i agree, my gf's integra gives about 8km/l my current accord gives 12km/l with extra slow move off from traffic lights + super duper hot cause no aircon otherwise it barely gives 10km/l on the other hand my friend's avante gives 15km/l with aircon every now and then and 14km/l with aircon on all the way It used to be "super fuel efficient" in the past (80's/90's) as they are very very light. Yes, even a mid-sized sedan is sub-tonne only. However, they are now seriously over-bloated and their claimed "fuel efficiency" holds no water. So, with no improvements done to their engines, the fuel consumptions suck big time compared to their competitors like Kimchi and Ang Mo chias even though all weigh around the same. Even the Jap supermini that still weigh sub-tonne, the FC isn't that great as far as 4AT is concerned. Edited February 21, 2011 by Kangadrool ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...