Jujitsuka 4th Gear March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 wait for the new C4 to come out its equipped with th esame 1.6thp engine found on the new C5... Shld be arriving by the middle of the year with the new Ford Focus Eco-boost 1.6 Turbo like the one found on the new opel Astra ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 You are talking to F.C. You should know he is Roti Prata man. Who selling prata?"slurp" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taciturn Neutral Newbie March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 I think C5 looks better than Peugeot 508. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 I think C5 looks better than Peugeot 508. Got pug 508 meh? Or u mean 5008? if u mean 5008 then cannot compare looks lah. 5008 is MPV sure not as nice as saloon (but nicer than wish & touran). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 Got pug 508 meh? Or u mean 5008? if u mean 5008 then cannot compare looks lah. 5008 is MPV sure not as nice as saloon (but nicer than wish & touran). think he mean 407 or 408 bah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 I think C5 looks better than Peugeot 508. Both C5 and 508 would be an interesting cars to watch. Both running on the same 1.6T engine and hence Cat A COE. As long as Cat A stays low, say $20K below Cat B, both these cars would have a good chance to sell in our competitive market. Personally I think the Peugeot 508 looks better, but then again looks is subjective. I especially prefer the interior of 508 over that of the C5. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 508 is the converterable iszi? swee.. but hor 2 different type of car leh. one is sedan one is convertable. confuse us lah you. Both C5 and 508 would be an interesting cars to watch. Both running on the same 1.6T engine and hence Cat A COE. As long as Cat A stays low, say $20K below Cat B, both these cars would have a good chance to sell in our competitive market. Personally I think the Peugeot 508 looks better, but then again looks is subjective. I especially prefer the interior of 508 over that of the C5. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 508 is the converterable iszi? swee.. but hor 2 different type of car leh. one is sedan one is convertable. confuse us lah you. Try google. Peugeot 508 is a replacement of both 407 and 607. It is in the segment where they will compete with VW Passat and the like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 Try google. Peugeot 508 is a replacement of both 407 and 607. It is in the segment where they will compete with VW Passat and the like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cttan456 2nd Gear March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 The latest model to come from Peugeot is the 508. It replaces the 407. Regards this argument of comparing apples to apples. Car manufactures categorise their sedans and hatchback cars according to size as below D segment - C5 and K5, Pug 508, Mondeo, Insignia, Laguna, Passat, teana, mz6, camry, accord, legacy C segment - C4 and forte, civic, lancer, astra, sylphy, focus, golf, megane, 308, maz 3, sx4, impreza B segment - C3 and rio, city, vios/yaris, mz2, 207, clio, latio( these 2 are based on the same platform) swift, polo, colt, A segment - c1, picanto, 107, aygo, twingo, fiesta, ka, Of course not every manufacturer has a representative in each category. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cttan456 2nd Gear March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 (edited) This is how the 508 look like. Rm2s, you seem to know a lot about Euro cars. I have my fair share of Pugs, Citroens, Renaults and Alfa. Yes 508 is to replace the 607 and 407. It seems that the PSA Peugeot/ Citroen group is focusing more on diesels. Their top of the line models are all turbo diesels and very good engines they are. In terms in emission and energy conservation, the Europeans are leading the way to the future trend of efficient smaller forced- induced engines. That is something Asian carmakers are lagging behind. Edited March 1, 2011 by Cttan456 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jujitsuka 4th Gear March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 i also waiting for the 508 to be launched in SG in my opinion its one of the most sexiest looking D segment car out there! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 This is how the 508 look like. Rm2s, you seem to know a lot about Euro cars. I have my fair share of Pugs, Citroens, Renaults and Alfa. Yes 508 is to replace the 607 and 407. It seems that the PSA Peugeot/ Citroen group is focusing more on diesels. Their top of the line models are all turbo diesels and very good engines they are. In terms in emission and energy conservation, the Europeans are leading the way to the future trend of efficient smaller forced- induced engines. That is something Asian carmakers are lagging behind. Best part is they finally reduced that big smiling face! Looks quite big but definitely nice. I wonder how much it will cost....if same as K5, i tink K5 will have problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cttan456 2nd Gear March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 The 508 should cost about the same as its sister car C5. Having a 1.6Turbo engine works to their advantage due to the big disparity between cat a and b COE now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 Interesting in the sense that the Citroen C5 comes into play as comparison. Size-wise, price-wise and engine output-wise, both C5 and K5 are pretty similar. I too, like the C5, I like it because of its looks (got character and it stands out) and also the great riding, plus good build quality. Even though, it is a 1.6 Turbo charged. Brand and engine capacity aside, I do have a hard time choosing between these two. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACB 1st Gear March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 haha original thread is k5 kia, now becomes european talk, anyway i know nothing abt european make, as long as the car looks good/solid, nice package, who cares if its japanese, korean or continental Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 But the 508 seriously doesn't look like a French car anymore. It looks more like a china car. No offence, but that's how I see the 508. As for their other models, I'm totally fine with it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caddilac Neutral Newbie March 1, 2011 Share March 1, 2011 But the 508 seriously doesn't look like a French car anymore. It looks more like a china car. No offence, but that's how I see the 508. As for their other models, I'm totally fine with it! Yup... Quite sad that the French are trying to look like a German... To me both K5 and Sonata are much better looking than the 508... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...