Kia K5

Tohto

K5 is using 6spd auto, CVVT is the engine. Similar to toyota VVTi.

CVVT = continuous variable valve timing. gear one is CVT (contnuous variable transmission).

yap. this is a common sign of wear and tear. dont get too sensitive about it.

Wear and tear? I wonder what will happen when it hits 3yrs or 100000km.

If you say lemon 325i I would certainly agree because it was only less than 6mths old <5000km.

Sorry lazy to refer to your earlier posts but what car was that?...just curious

yes true, squeaks and rattles can come from any car. My friend's 325 also had noises coming from the rear interior trim and it was very hard to troubleshoot.

It is a Civic FD.

I notice the lack of rear headroom in the Kia K5, as well as rear footroom. As for the C5, the interior is noticeably smaller than the K5. The Peugeot 508 doesn't look like a Peugeot to me, but I'm glad it bridges between the old 407 and 607. As for the Ford Mondeo, thanks to the heavy body, the car doesn't seem to be able to have a settled ride. The interior legroom is generous, but the same can't be said of the rear headroom and shoulder room, thanks to the wide doors, eating into interior cabin width.

If it were me, I'd go for the 508 estate. A more practical car that I can use for the family.

Wear and tear? I wonder what will happen when it hits 3yrs or 100000km.

If you say lemon 325i I would certainly agree because it was only less than 6mths old <5000km.

wah so bad huh?? didnt know withi 6months. so how they settle it?

Wonder why so many people like heavy body cars. After having driven both a light and heavy car, I still prefer the lighter car, especially when taking corners.

Different people have different likings what.

suspension setup has more impact during cornering than car body weight.

I do agree heavy car with underpowered engine = painful [knife]

Edited by St220

Test Drived 3 Cars yesterday..... C5, K5 and Mondeo(2.0T). (I am on Mazda 3 hatchback as a benchmark for my review below)

I must said K5 is really surprise me the most..... Outlook (very handsome) beat all the Rest with Paddle Shift ! My little Girl like the K5 the most(but but when ask her why, she is still a little Girl loh). I felt the Brake of K5 I like best maybe I am currently on aftermarket 4 ports slotted disc brake. Very Good value for all the feature(esp the +10K more X version), but I was taken back by the OMV and thinking of the Higher Cat B COE. Ha..... and I look very KuKu with the foot brake. Power wise is good and linear but I think there is more engine noise above 4k rpm. Suspension is on Firmer side which is my liking....., and the steeling wheel weight is ideal for me that also provide good feedback. Any1 know if K5 is on CVT or Torque Coventer or otherwise..... the paper written CVVT (real blur here) ???

C5(basic) overall is nice, the biggest pull is the Power/Torque, higher OMV and Cat A car(assume lower depreciation). But the steeling wheel with non-turning center console caught me off, maybe not use to it. Powerwise and pickup is off course better than K5 cos of the twin Scoll Turbo. Rather quiet and ride is comfy but I think the suspension is too soft for my preference (I am on Coilover but those comfy type). I was a little nervous during the test drive, maybe is the brake(a bit soft for me), and also the position of the Accelerator is very different(further, reference with the Brake pedal). The steeling wheel weight is lighter than K5 that ofter lesser feedback.

Somehow my heart was on Mondeo(2.0T)...... esp the 5doors(mind U, but not hatchback hor) but the Damn Doors was very heavy ! But who is complaining.....= more metal protection (I assume) but most Lady will not Like the 5 doors, esp the Boot....keke! Somehow it drive and look value for $ for the build, ride and power @ 200+hp with max 300Nm at below 1700rpm if we compare to other Conti. @ 1.55tonnes, it pull off from the stationary real impressive but somehow can feel the heavy weight of the Car during pickup. Very stable at higher speed(of course lah @ 1.55 tonnes), the Ride and road handling is impressive (K5 is not far behind hor). The 6 speed dual clutches gear box..... Good Good, somemore it is WET ! Weewee........ I will need some time to get used to the Brake, Only if Only COE for CAT B is much lower !

To me K5 is the best choice... Citroen is French and French car are well-known for their reliability issue, that's why even though it is very competitively priced, I believe the C5 is going to sell well, same story goes with the 508... As for Mondeo, dual-clutch transmission is still a new tech in the market and reliability issue remains unknown... VW's DSG had quite some problems, with potentially lower reliability, higher replacement costs...

All these turbo lah new fangled technologies are nice, but they introduce more risk and reliability issues. Ultimately if your super high tech car starts giving you problems, you will find an excuse to sell it off as soon as 2 or 3 years right?

Even simple NA cars w/o problems after 2/3 years, lotsa people also trying to find excuses to sell off right? (Warranty expired, paper value dropped alot after X years, etc, etc). [:p]

Hi all, I'm a new driver and I have no car before. So, wanna ask all the da ge here for advice.

Is the K5 seen as flashy by the average person? Cos I'm not the flashy type and I don't want others to think I'm showing off, but I like the design of this car and its features. Also, shd I get the K5 as my first car?

THANKS!

Hi all, I'm a new driver and I have no car before. So, wanna ask all the da ge here for advice.

Is the K5 seen as flashy by the average person? Cos I'm not the flashy type and I don't want others to think I'm showing off, but I like the design of this car and its features. Also, shd I get the K5 as my first car?

THANKS!

Flashy can be perceived differently by different ppl. Most important is to get a car that you LIKE. Don't bother too much about wat other ppl think. You dun even know them!

If it's me, i'll get the Citreon C5 and cross my fingers (due to so-call reliability issue). Or wait a few months for the new VW Jetta to come out (note dat VGS service lately been criticised) or also soon-to-arrive Peugeot 508 (reliability issue also).

THANKS!

You should get the K5 since you like the design and features, mai tu liao.

Since you don't like people to think you are showing off then buying a Kia or Hyundai will be a the perfect choice because you will be seen as person who buy a car because

1. you like it and don't need a brand/badge to show off

2. it gives the most features for your money

Flashy can be perceived differently by different ppl. Most important is to get a car that you LIKE. Don't bother too much about wat other ppl think. You dun even know them!

If it's me, i'll get the Citreon C5 and cross my fingers (due to so-call reliability issue). Or wait a few months for the new VW Jetta to come out (note dat VGS service lately been criticised) or also soon-to-arrive Peugeot 508 (reliability issue also).

It is not fair to label the Citroen and Peugeot as being unreliable because they are French. I have owned French, German and Italian cars before and their reliability are more or less the same. Many of the parts come from the same suppliers. The Germans being much more expensive are slightly more reliable but their parts are very expensive. French and Italian car parts cost the same as Japanese so is cheaper overall to maintain then the Germans.