Kar_lover Supercharged March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 And come to think of it, those who're considering the Jetta 1.2TSI and 1.4TSI would rather go for the K5 SX. That aggressive looks, features a tonne to the boot, makes their Jetta a wagger of the tail. I dun tink those looking at jetta will look at K5. Jetta ppl are those who dun need/want a big sedan. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PPeripheraL Clutched March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 I dun tink those looking at jetta will look at K5. Jetta ppl are those who dun need/want a big sedan. Yep, especially those with the same thinking as me.. K5 is a bit oversized for me. Considering jetta and fluence. but jetta arriving in june only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 Yep, especially those with the same thinking as me.. K5 is a bit oversized for me. Considering jetta and fluence. but jetta arriving in june only I agree, K5 and Jetta - different segment lah. K5 should be comparing with Passat. Jetta should be compared with the Forte. At this moment, MIK is priced lower than the Conti and Jap but the MIK nowadays has better features and specs compared some Conti and Jap. Interesting to see whether the MIK will be as good as the Conti in the future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 But the Jetta is almost the size of the Passat. If one can get the Passat with 1.2 or 1.4 engines, why not? The Jetta having outgrown the old model, plus the Passat hasn't changed much since the last model [The interior only has better materials, not a new design], VW shooting themselves in the foot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic March 23, 2011 Author Share March 23, 2011 I agree, K5 and Jetta - different segment lah. K5 should be comparing with Passat. Jetta should be compared with the Forte. At this moment, MIK is priced lower than the Conti and Jap but the MIK nowadays has better features and specs compared some Conti and Jap. Interesting to see whether the MIK will be as good as the Conti in the future. Better than Conti maybe not so soon, but better than Japan I think they are better now. Just look at the spec and design This thread was started by me, the moment I saw those photo, I am love in first sight. Too bad my boring japanese car is only 2.5yrs and I will have to stick to it for another 2-3yrs. For those who suspect Korea car quality, do you see how their electronics is leading the market now. Is the end of Sony product now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 Better than Conti maybe not so soon, but better than Japan I think they are better now. Just look at the spec and design This thread was started by me, the moment I saw those photo, I am love in first sight. Too bad my boring japanese car is only 2.5yrs and I will have to stick to it for another 2-3yrs. For those who suspect Korea car quality, do you see how their electronics is leading the market now. Is the end of Sony product now. Korea's R&D is so rapid now, the Japanese are struggling to keep up. But I still believe that in this day and age, engineers and quality control are having steps in place for products to fail after 3-4yrs. No one wants to build a product that lasts forever, though they're more than capable to do so. But doing likewise means people can just buy a car and drive it forever without problems. Where would they earn from new car sales then? The new Jetta has really grown in size. Like the Fluence, park it next to an Insignia, the Fluence's width dwafts the Insignia and most 1.6L cars on the roads. It really is that big! But the Jetta suffers from the lack of design and appeal, especially the interior. The Kia K5 would be a compelling package for those looking at the 1.2 and 1.4TSI versions of the Jetta. The Passat as before, would struggle to stay afloat in terms of sales. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
St220 Neutral Newbie March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 This thread was started by me, the moment I saw those photo, I am love in first sight. This is how I felt too, emotional design that makes me want to grab it inregardless of specs, price (as long it is within budget), branding.... Been following closely on the arrival & got it during pre-launch even though my ex ride is onli 2yrs old.... the only regret I've now is getting it too soon as I would prefer the higher spec model.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 This is how I felt too, emotional design that makes me want to grab it inregardless of specs, price (as long it is within budget), branding.... Been following closely on the arrival & got it during pre-launch even though my ex ride is onli 2yrs old.... the only regret I've now is getting it too soon as I would prefer the higher spec model.... You got it first! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 But the Jetta is almost the size of the Passat. If one can get the Passat with 1.2 or 1.4 engines, why not? The Jetta having outgrown the old model, plus the Passat hasn't changed much since the last model [The interior only has better materials, not a new design], VW shooting themselves in the foot. I know new jetta is bigger but are u sure its about the same size as passat? Guess will have to wait until actual launch to know or when actual specs come out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 (edited) I know new jetta is bigger but are u sure its about the same size as passat? Guess will have to wait until actual launch to know or when actual specs come out. Almost no noticeable difference! I would say, park the Fluence next to the Passat. See if there's a marked difference in size or not. Edited March 23, 2011 by Proton_neutron Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 (edited) Almost no noticeable difference! I would say, park the Fluence next to the Passat. See if there's a marked difference in size or not. If I am interested to buy a Passat, I would park it next to a A4, C Class or at least a CAMRY or M6. I will not park my car next to a Fluence. If i am interested to buy a Fluence, I would park it next to Forte, Avante, ALTIS, CIVIC. Edited March 23, 2011 by Civic6228 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 If I am interested to but a Passat, I would park it next to a A4, C Class or at least a CAMRY or M6. I will not park my car next to a Fluence. If i am interested to buy a Fluence, I would park it next to Forte, Avante, ALTIS, CIVIC. And you'd be dwafted by the Camry. Look at how miserable the sales is for the previous Passat. I doubt it'd sell even for the new model, since people would rather pay for the A4 1.8TSI. If one has $159k, what is $20k more for the A4? You park your Passat next to the Fluence, people think your Passat is a small car, the Fluence is the big one. Malu. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 And you'd be dwafted by the Camry. Look at how miserable the sales is for the previous Passat. I doubt it'd sell even for the new model, since people would rather pay for the A4 1.8TSI. If one has $159k, what is $20k more for the A4? You park your Passat next to the Fluence, people think your Passat is a small car, the Fluence is the big one. Malu. Unless having some promotion, A4 is not $180k leh. At least $190k for the base model. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taciturn Neutral Newbie March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 (edited) I think the new Avante looks better than Forte,Fluence and of course Jetta. Passat CC is quite stylish but it is only a makeshift 5 seater upgrade from the initial 4 seater version. Ecoboost Mondeo is big and can hold its own against even 5 series in overall size.The Titanium spec costs 150k which is cheaper than the likes of Insignia, CC etc.It is quite a value for money purchase with the space and superior handling.Pity the lack of brand awareness among locals. Edited March 23, 2011 by Taciturn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PPeripheraL Clutched March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 Unless having some promotion, A4 is not $180k leh. At least $190k for the base model. I know Audi used to have a promotion for the A4. 160k.. or so they claimed. not sure what it comes with. was on saturday life section a few weeks back. not sure about now though.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 Unless having some promotion, A4 is not $180k leh. At least $190k for the base model. Hmm, the Passat at $160k also pre-launch special leah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PPeripheraL Clutched March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 I agree, K5 and Jetta - different segment lah. K5 should be comparing with Passat. Jetta should be compared with the Forte. At this moment, MIK is priced lower than the Conti and Jap but the MIK nowadays has better features and specs compared some Conti and Jap. Interesting to see whether the MIK will be as good as the Conti in the future. In the future im not sure, but MIK cars interior not as good quality as conti yet. (with those plastic touches) but might improve like the equus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 I think the new Avante looks better than Forte,Fluence and of course Jetta. Passat CC is quite stylish but it is only a makeshift 5 seater upgrade from the initial 4 seater version. Ecoboost Mondeo is big and can hold its own against even 5 series in overall size.The Titanium spec cost 150k which is cheaper than the likes of Insignia, CC etc.It is quite a value for money purchase with the space and superior handling.Pity the lack of brand awareness among locals. I agree that the Ford Mondeo has road presence. But the interior space kinda disappointed me. The Passat CC just doesn't look as sleek as before. And I find the Mondeo Titanium looks much nicer than the CC. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...