Civic6228 6th Gear March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 Hi all, I'm a new driver and I have no car before. So, wanna ask all the da ge here for advice. Is the K5 seen as flashy by the average person? Cos I'm not the flashy type and I don't want others to think I'm showing off, but I like the design of this car and its features. Also, shd I get the K5 as my first car? THANKS! IMO, the three brands that are flashy is BMW. Mercedes and AUDI .... there is nothing flashing about a 2.0L KIA ... If you are not comfortable with e the K5. you would have to look down a class at 1.6L cars. Cos a 2.0L Camry, Accord etc would be more flashy than a K5. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 It is not fair to label the Citroen and Peugeot as being unreliable because they are French. I have owned French, German and Italian cars before and their reliability are more or less the same. Many of the parts come from the same suppliers. The Germans being much more expensive are slightly more reliable but their parts are very expensive. French and Italian car parts cost the same as Japanese so is cheaper overall to maintain then the Germans. I did not say french cars confirm have reliability issue and infact i deliberately put it as "so-call" reliability issue. As i said, i myself would get de C5 over the K5. But since i am giving info to the TS, i feel its my duty to also tell him that french cars are (not exclusively) known to have reliability issues so that he goes in with eyes wide open. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cttan456 2nd Gear March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 No problem at all. I like the K5, C5, 508 and it would be a tough choice. But for a 1st time car buyer, I would recommend the K5 because it has a more mainstream appeal as well ownership experience. The C5 and 508 have a more unique appeal and may not cater to all tastes. Plus if intending to keep beyond warranty expiration, needs more specialised maintenence. But not to worry if you know where to buy parts and which workshops to go to. I know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
St220 Neutral Newbie March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 Hi all, I'm a new driver and I have no car before. So, wanna ask all the da ge here for advice. Is the K5 seen as flashy by the average person? Cos I'm not the flashy type and I don't want others to think I'm showing off, but I like the design of this car and its features. Also, shd I get the K5 as my first car? THANKS! Most ppl perceive KIA as budget car, inferior to MIJ, definitely not flashy. My K5 has been drawing alot of attension/stares where ever I go. Got stranger approached me asking what car am I driving & give thumb up because I've replaced the KIA emblem with "K"....he was kinda shock...."KIA??!! really??!! wow! very nice ride u got!" For ppl not familar with car, they might perceive K5 as a flashy expensive sport sedan kekeke Should u get it as your 1st ride? Well, I would suggest asking yourself 2 questions: 1) would you prefer soft or firm suspension set up 2) would you prefer light or heavy steering K5 has firm suspension & heavy steering, typical conti feel, some may not like it. My wife luv the K5 very much but does not enjoy driving it because of the heavy steering. Go test drive a toyota or other MIJ (soft suspension & light steering) & K5, see which type of feel u prefer..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
St220 Neutral Newbie March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 my 1st tankful of 60 litres cover 564km without using eco mode, that work out to be 9.4km/l. Will be switching to synthetic engine oil during the 1st 1000km servicing, fc should improve.... shall monitor further Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 I am beginning to like k5 already. So nicE, so handsome. So what it's Kia. If Kia can come out similar cars like camry, and beat them in looks and stability nd features, u have to give them credit, not scorn them. It's like a young wayward kid who gets jAiled for some offences he did when he is young, but had since turned over new leaf. Or someone who is doing well As a kid, obedient, goody two shoes, but as he grow older falls to temptation, commit frauds, and finally gets jailed And still doesn't repent. So which is a better evil. Pai seh a but off topic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 IMO, the three brands that are flashy is BMW. Mercedes and AUDI .... there is nothing flashing about a 2.0L KIA ... If you are not comfortable with e the K5. you would have to look down a class at 1.6L cars. Cos a 2.0L Camry, Accord etc would be more flashy than a K5. unless the accord is the euro r version that is completely modded with stickers and a GT wing, nothing beats the extremely large front grill on the k5 you'll spot it from miles away like a shark devouring up other cars in its path when the car pasts you, you'll notice how large the car is, the length of the car matches a 5 series BMW how can the accord or camry compete? the kah motors accord isn't even selling well at the moment, you see more teanas than accords on the roads these days and camry is too common on the roads to be flashy, its the benchmark for luxury japanese cars at the moment i'd go with the k5 if i wanted a flashy car saw a dark red k5 along CCK yesterday, very impressed by the color of the car because its extremely hard to match such a color to most other cars its only good that we are seeing k5 running the streets these days, they are simply jaw dropping Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 my 1st tankful of 60 litres cover 564km without using eco mode, that work out to be 9.4km/l. Will be switching to synthetic engine oil during the 1st 1000km servicing, fc should improve.... shall monitor further don't worry, my brother's civic when new only managed 10km/l after run in he's able to get 11.5 on average Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noobdriver Clutched March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 Thks lots for the speedy replies and wonderful advice. Kam sia! Flashy can be perceived differently by different ppl. Most important is to get a car that you LIKE. Don't bother too much about wat other ppl think. You dun even know them! If it's me, i'll get the Citreon C5 and cross my fingers (due to so-call reliability issue). Or wait a few months for the new VW Jetta to come out (note dat VGS service lately been criticised) or also soon-to-arrive Peugeot 508 (reliability issue also). I was eyeing C5 as well, but K5 looks to me more swee... You should get the K5 since you like the design and features, mai tu liao. Since you don't like people to think you are showing off then buying a Kia or Hyundai will be a the perfect choice because you will be seen as person who buy a car because 1. you like it and don't need a brand/badge to show off 2. it gives the most features for your money I guess my worry then would be being labelled as a conti-wannabe ... IMO, the three brands that are flashy is BMW. Mercedes and AUDI .... there is nothing flashing about a 2.0L KIA ... If you are not comfortable with e the K5. you would have to look down a class at 1.6L cars. Cos a 2.0L Camry, Accord etc would be more flashy than a K5. Hmm... my feeling is that perhaps my first ride being K5 kinda flashy? Perhaps shd take avante or altis first...i dunno la...lol Most ppl perceive KIA as budget car, inferior to MIJ, definitely not flashy. My K5 has been drawing alot of attension/stares where ever I go. Got stranger approached me asking what car am I driving & give thumb up because I've replaced the KIA emblem with "K"....he was kinda shock...."KIA??!! really??!! wow! very nice ride u got!" For ppl not familar with car, they might perceive K5 as a flashy expensive sport sedan kekeke Should u get it as your 1st ride? Well, I would suggest asking yourself 2 questions: 1) would you prefer soft or firm suspension set up 2) would you prefer light or heavy steering K5 has firm suspension & heavy steering, typical conti feel, some may not like it. My wife luv the K5 very much but does not enjoy driving it because of the heavy steering. Go test drive a toyota or other MIJ (soft suspension & light steering) & K5, see which type of feel u prefer..... Didn't know can change logo sia....is it illegal? I guess I'll go test drive more cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 (edited) Thks lots for the speedy replies and wonderful advice. Kam sia! I was eyeing C5 as well, but K5 looks to me more swee... I guess my worry then would be being labelled as a conti-wannabe ... Hmm... my feeling is that perhaps my first ride being K5 kinda flashy? Perhaps shd take avante or altis first...i dunno la...lol Didn't know can change logo sia....is it illegal? I guess I'll go test drive more cars. so many consideration.. first car better get a 2nd hand one. cheaper insurance . after 3 years than change to new car. Edited March 11, 2011 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 Got money to burn now.. THen get K5... Or wait a little while to see the new AVANTE... Also swee.. Or the I45... ALso nice and flashy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 Got money to burn now.. THen get K5... Or wait a little while to see the new AVANTE... Also swee.. Or the I45... ALso nice and flashy... more expensive than K5 leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 K5 and I45... Both swee swee.... Makes Camries and Accords so out-dated... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 Thks lots for the speedy replies and wonderful advice. Kam sia! I was eyeing C5 as well, but K5 looks to me more swee... I guess my worry then would be being labelled as a conti-wannabe ... Hmm... my feeling is that perhaps my first ride being K5 kinda flashy? Perhaps shd take avante or altis first...i dunno la...lol Didn't know can change logo sia....is it illegal? I guess I'll go test drive more cars. get the K5 if u are looking for mid size family sedan among KR and JP offerings. camry, accord, teana all these.. stupid bare offerings. the hyundai i45 is a good bet too. flashy or not, i don't think so. very nicely designed, packed full of features, value for $$ conti wannabe.. no matter what car u buy, some people will also have that mindset. dont bother. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 11, 2011 Share March 11, 2011 personally for me, its a tough choice between C5 and K5 C5 more value for money, simply becos its CAT A COE i just hope its reliable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cttan456 2nd Gear March 14, 2011 Share March 14, 2011 Dear Noobdriver, you can't go wrong choosing either the K5, C5 or 508. Follow your heart, go for the one you you like most. Some points to note: The C5 have been around for a few years and this latest one is a facelift with a new engine and gearbox. Buying a facelift version means improved reliability as most problems would have been identified and rectified. The engine is a proven unit used in many Peugeot/Citroen/ Mini models. The K5 is new but Kia and Hyundai cars have been reliable since a long time ago. A lot of current and ex-owners of the old and current model Kia and Hyundai cars from year 2000 onwards have reported reliable and affordable maintenence. The engine ia a proven unit used in many Kia and Hyundai models and the gearbox although new is found in many Kia and Hyundai models. Costing nearly the same: My head will tell me C5 - handsome looks, Cat A COE and higher OMV, better engine performance, smoother and quieter suspension and ride(almost limousine like) My heart will tell me K5 - even more handsome, the most gadgets in this price range, bigger. Dunno about the 508, since no one has tested it but this one is promising and gonna make it even harder for you, haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear March 14, 2011 Share March 14, 2011 Seriously on initial purchase paper omv is high, true... BUt at later stage, the Japs and Koreans still have better resale value. My last megane fetched more value scrapping than trading in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 14, 2011 Share March 14, 2011 Thks lots for the speedy replies and wonderful advice. Kam sia! I was eyeing C5 as well, but K5 looks to me more swee... I guess my worry then would be being labelled as a conti-wannabe ... Hmm... my feeling is that perhaps my first ride being K5 kinda flashy? Perhaps shd take avante or altis first...i dunno la...lol Didn't know can change logo sia....is it illegal? I guess I'll go test drive more cars. Ppl dun know its ur first ride. Remember its YOUR MONEY and YOU are the one going to drive this car. YOU should buy wat YOU like, not wat other ppl like. We bros here can help by highlighting some salient points but at the end of the day all the weighing of pros and cons has to be done by YOU. If u dun really like the C5's look then pls buy the K5 (bearing in mind higher running costs like road tax and FC). No point buying a technically better car which when u look at it, doesn't stir any feelings. Till today, one year already, i still get a "wow" feeling when i look at my koup :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...