Mercedes Vs. Bmw- Quality and Reliability

Stanley30949

comparing smaller puny Tc engine vs a bigger NA engine with a higher cylinder count???

------- 1.8 TC Merc I4 vs 2.5 NA BMW I6, isn't uncanny similar to something like,,,,,,

------- 3.0 TC BMW I6 vs 4.2 NA Audi V8 ????

Never ending, each marque have their own branding and direction plus various supporters whom may at the point in time, compare the various different models and settled on the final one.

No need to defend the brand till so "fanatical".

Peace gentlemen..............

to me,

merc = ah pek

bmw = young punk

even though merc current lineup say something about their current target demographic, but i think end up neither here nor there...

50 plus 60 years old need DRL? Nah..

Merc = realiable

bmw = super reliable, can count on them to break down when warranty over..i must say their qc very good

seriously feel that those new mercs not ahpek anymore, acceleration is better than bimmer and model also not bad,

and personally felt both are reliable but BMW recent call on 350k cars in world and thone 7 series with idrive problem make me feel bmw quality lose to merc.

until now i havent heard any merc being called, am i right??

seriously feel that those new mercs not ahpek anymore, acceleration is better than bimmer and model also not bad,

and personally felt both are reliable but BMW recent call on 350k cars in world and thone 7 series with idrive problem make me feel bmw quality lose to merc.

actually bro

AMG models just kena recall i believe last week

Well... I didnt know people who drive merc must go below the belt and shaft their dicks around.

1.8L is really a small engine for a E class selling 200k.

Anyway if you start calling names then no need to reply.

Why get so angry? Change to a Audi or beemer lor, best get a 6 pot merc. [rolleyes]

Don't get me wrong. I'm fanboy of neither brands, nor am I calling anyone names. If you think I intended to, I apologize. I am more interested in why you call it puny engine? To me, it's a different technology with previous Krompressor engines, NA or SC. Now is TC. It's not new at all in fact. The reduction in engine size, like I mentioned, is due to presence of TC. If they kept the engine size the same and added TC, then Mercedes Benz today will have a slightly different range of cars in terms of engine performance in their C and E class. But with this different technology into CGI, performance is improved or retained, same with FC.. Which is a decent feat, when you consider lower running costs.

I think car buyers for C200, C350, E250, E350, BMW 523i or 535i, more or less still bothered by costs, difference being the extent of it. Maybe only supercar owners can relinquish themselves off that thought of being bothered by costs of tax, price, etc. I might be wrong though.

Though I agree, more pots is better in an engine but to be frank, that was never revealed by you or anyone from either side of the brand as a unit of measurement from the start. When you suddenly went away and ask others to enjoy their 4pots TC while you enjoy your 6pots TC, how do you expect people not to get the wrong idea ah? Until you tried to explain, which, in my opinion.. Isn't very convincing lol.

I particularly like 523i heavier steering, exterior look and the gearbox but performance wise, E250 does it better for me by bring faster, lower FC and cheaper. I'll say this again. Both brands have merits & shortcomings. It's okay to be loyal to what you drive or the brand you love, but all I can advice is.. Do not do it in blind faith. It's okay if one can't put up an equal or better comparison, just steer away. Ill do that. Just don't be a prick by saying things like "my car is more expensive ok" after telling another driver he has puny engine but is indeed faster. (well, stupid analogy, but people should get it). Cheers :D

Don't get me wrong. I'm fanboy of neither brands, nor am I calling anyone names. If you think I intended to, I apologize. I am more interested in why you call it puny engine? To me, it's a different technology with previous Krompressor engines, NA or SC. Now is TC. It's not new at all in fact. The reduction in engine size, like I mentioned, is due to presence of TC. If they kept the engine size the same and added TC, then Mercedes Benz today will have a slightly different range of cars in terms of engine performance in their C and E class. But with this different technology into CGI, performance is improved or retained, same with FC.. Which is a decent feat, when you consider lower running costs.

I think car buyers for C200, C350, E250, E350, BMW 523i or 535i, more or less still bothered by costs, difference being the extent of it. Maybe only supercar owners can relinquish themselves off that thought of being bothered by costs of tax, price, etc. I might be wrong though.

Though I agree, more pots is better in an engine but to be frank, that was never revealed by you or anyone from either side of the brand as a unit of measurement from the start. When you suddenly went away and ask others to enjoy their 4pots TC while you enjoy your 6pots TC, how do you expect people not to get the wrong idea ah? Until you tried to explain, which, in my opinion.. Isn't very convincing lol.

I particularly like 523i heavier steering, exterior look and the gearbox but performance wise, E250 does it better for me by bring faster, lower FC and cheaper. I'll say this again. Both brands have merits & shortcomings. It's okay to be loyal to what you drive or the brand you love, but all I can advice is.. Do not do it in blind faith. It's okay if one can't put up an equal or better comparison, just steer away. Ill do that. Just don't be a prick by saying things like "my car is more expensive ok" after telling another driver he has puny engine but is indeed faster. (well, stupid analogy, but people should get it). Cheers :D

[thumbsup]

Theirs.. Err very few people actually own them, in singapore's context, compared to Merc, BMW, Audi.

Those who try to compare them usually get info from google.. Like the FC we know? :D

He will tell you this.. "I'm held between Ferrari California or Lamboghini Gallardo Spyder".

confirm acceleration performance etc not bad but in terms of outlook, which in my opinion, is old pekish comparatively.

seriously if i want performance, i go audi liao..

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lifestyle/M...ehicles_8057415

confirm acceleration performance etc not bad but in terms of outlook, which in my opinion, is old pekish comparatively.

audi fast meh? i tested drive the A6 but not so fast, E class is faster. so audi havent kena recalled yet??

Audi and performance dont fit in the same sentence bro.

You tell me M power ok

you tell me AMG even better

You tell me RS?? [laugh]

Don't think fc will ever be a factor. Heard from a relative who once had murcie, a 50 buck tank of fuel finishes in a snap.

Anyway, still on the roc? Keeping?