Hungry Ghost Month ....

Typhoonz

I wouldn't call it silly, although there could be alternatives for whatever you believe in. It is an action of remembering the dead. Just as in many cultures both East and West, people burn candles, some other people will lay flowers or make a donation. Tiong Guan is unique though, it is about remembering the homeless and nameless souls, those who have no families to remember them. Qing Ming is for remembering your ancestors.

I've nothing against whatever religion or belief that anyone may hold.

I don't think we need to do all these things to remember the dead. But of course like you said, remembering the homeless and nameless souls, without such a practice, can't expect the common folk to participate in remembrance.

I just won't propagate this tradition/practice downwards.

I see more nasal allergies and asthma exacerbation every time the 7 month comes along. But markedly less this year.

I dont dare...........and the ladies told me the 1st time that happened...............they answered and was those disturbing sound like radio tio jammed................knn if I had answered also wont ask for 4D..................wait really kena how return sia..............要求的东西要还的..................... [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

No worries.... they will come to look for you ... :we-all-gonna-die:

Then you ask how to return .. :wut:

My mum has never burnt these things also. She never liked the smoke and ashes. Its my aunties and uncles who burn these. I joined in cos I like to play with fire.

After marrying my wife, then she will pull me to burn these offerings. She say cannot alone burn lah and she scared lah. Me like to play with fire, so under the bo bian law, have to burn these offerings. But I dont see it as offerings, I see it as play. Like how to start the fire and how to make it sustain itself and let the flame go up higher. [laugh]

Later our weather satellite report missile launch from space because flames so high!  Also remind me to park my car very far from your burning experiment! [laugh]  [laugh]

It has always been my believe.................and I told my children as well...............that "these" were once upon a time human...........they were like us.................so technically there is nothing to be afraid of.................what we encounter ( for those who did encounter) .............is just they trying to communicate...........they sld not be here at all.............and they too want to leave to where ever they are suppose to be ...................but something must have held them back and they need help.............some do it politely some dont............but still it is help they wanted....................so if we can help try to help..................can help we try to help but if really boh pian just tell them nicely and ask not to be disturb............. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]  

You didn't tell them that when everything failed, look for @radx  the gatekeeper ..... :we-all-gonna-die:  

Later our weather satellite report missile launch from space because flames so high!  Also remind me to park my car very far from your burning experiment! [laugh]  [laugh]

During 7th month, best to park in multi storey car park, never park in open space car park ....... :ninja:

Anywhere, any corners and any places, there will be ppls offering prayers during this month... :wacko:  

Edited by Picnic06-Biante15

During 7th month, best to park in multi storey car park, never park in open space car park ....... :ninja:

Anywhere, any corners and any places, there will ppls offering during this month... :wacko:  

Yesterday, I went to this JTC factory at Kallang. No MSCP, only lot was next to a pile of burnt offerings. I was in a hurry so just park that lot. Lucky nothing happened to my car.

last time nong nong ago when sentosa still had chalet, those colonial type building, had one night when we watching movie late night, then the phone on top of the TV rang. Everybody stunned. My fren went to pik up then nobody on the line, he then unplugged the phone. 

Was thinking if unplugged and phone still ring i will run away liao. But that didn't happen. I suspect some prankster somewhere call one. 

Last time during my school camp, we sleep inside the school hall, one night while we were sleeping, we heard like someone clicked on the lights switch sound behind the stage, then all lights suddenly turned on! But we were very sure no one was at the back of the stage!

.............but i do it because i met "them" before.............and not once but 3-4 times so far in my life............

No need to hao lian lah. A lot of us have also met @RadX. [laugh]

You can suggest alternatives to your descendants so the true meaning of the custom is passed down, not the burning. How about making a donation every year to the homeless, orphanage, and other less privileged ? How about cooking a big meal every year, and invite all your neighbors to come enjoy it free ? It is not just about the burning, it is about giving back to society especially to those who have been forgotten by society. It is easy to say, let's forget it all and just be a selfish society.

My family doesn't burn offerings other than Qing Ming in the 1st place.

If it's replacing a custom, what u suggested are good alternatives.

Just like how releasing captivity bred animals during vesak day are frowned upon now.

I used to release small birds every 初一十五 .................even when I was stationed in china................until one day a few years back.......

that very afternoon I bought 9 birds................because i was in a hurry..............I released them in the car park instead of the usual park near by..........the moment i opened the gate..............all flew up except one.................it flew onto the ground..............out of nowhere a cat appeared...............and ate up that little bird right in front of me.............My heart dropped and I didnt speak a word the rest of the day..........

i spoke to my younger brother a few days later.............and he told me dont bother over it...........the bird owe the cat its life............and I was given the task to sent it off...............that's all............and then he asked me...........do you kill ants, cockroaches, lizards and mozzis????.....................thats one life also you know............you kill life every so often and buy a few birds to release twice a month..............you can easily spare hundreds of ants and dont buy any birds.............no demand and nobody will go catch those birds.............

I kept that with me from then.............. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

You can suggest alternatives to your descendants so the true meaning of the custom is passed down, not the burning. How about making a donation every year to the homeless, orphanage, and other less privileged ? How about cooking a big meal every year, and invite all your neighbors to come enjoy it free ? It is not just about the burning, it is about giving back to society especially to those who have been forgotten by society. It is easy to say, let's forget it all and just be a selfish society.

U reminded me of the chap chai png stall I visited. Asked me whether I wana add some roast piglet that they had finished praying, FOC. :XD:

I used to release small birds every 初一十五 .................even when I was stationed in china................until one day a few years back.......

that very afternoon I bought 9 birds................because i was in a hurry..............I released them in the car park instead of the usual park near by..........the moment i opened the gate..............all flew up except one.................it flew onto the ground..............out of nowhere a cat appeared...............and ate up that little bird right in front of me.............My heart dropped and I didnt speak a word the rest of the day..........

i spoke to my younger brother a few days later.............and he told me dont bother over it...........the bird owe the cat its life............and I was given the task to sent it off...............that's all............and then he asked me...........do you kill ants, cockroaches, lizards and mozzis????.....................thats one life also you know............you kill life every so often and buy a few birds to release twice a month..............you can easily spare hundreds of ants and dont buy any birds.............no demand and nobody will go catch those birds.............

I kept that with me from then.............. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

I remember the tame doves that was released in china for something event like vesak day. They flew up and landed on the beach. They were too used to captivity and human contact.

The locals just waited at the beach and brought them home to eat  [:p]

I heard last day is for closing.

I usually burn only the 1st day and occasionally last day.

20-30 years down the road,  all will use online to "burn".

i also burn on 15th day to the close ones who passed away. 

I remember the tame doves that was released in china for something event like vesak day. They flew up and landed on the beach. They were too used to captivity and human contact.

The locals just waited at the beach and brought them home to eat  [:p]

yah lor..........thats the reason I stopped doing it for so long since................i rather spare other life..............how big or small ..............is still one life...............better than creating a demand for ppl to catch birds for sales to release.................that one I think is really silly................

Edited by Tianmo

Hmmmmmmm.......... send by E-mail or WhatsApp "them" ..... [sly]

:XD:       :XD:

There's one residing in my office toilet [sweatdrop]

I always knock before I go in [grin] but sometime kena pranked, it will flush the toilet when I am alone at the urinal.

One new chap went in that cubicle and it "whoooooshh" past him and he thought it was the wind blowing.

That cubicle flushing sensor needs to be replaced. Lol

Just for information :

The 1st day offering is to respect 'them' and also for own & family safety whilst walking, driving, jogging in park, swimming, ... etc. as 'they' just released.

On the 15th offering is to our relatives who might pay a visit to us

And the last day of offering is for 'those' who did not have any relatives to offer 'them' and they can collect from your offering so that they have a peaceful journey back.......

:that-dood-is-up-to-something:  :that-dood-is-up-to-something: