Yeobt Supercharged August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 My downstairs neighbour used to burn small quantity at the stairwell too. We, staying above really cannot tahan. The smoke and ash gets into our flat. I hate it. But seeing thats it a old granny, dont wish to make a big fuss. Pass two years, she kicked the bucket liao. Her son burn at the common bin. Can breathe so much better. Please be considerate leh, dont burn in the stairwell. The smoke and ash will travel to upstairs neighbours. Unless you burning just a single paper. Hot air rises, thus the smoke and ash will travel up. As it travels up, it cools and with wind, it will enter your neighbours' units. Noted your concern. Will make alternative arrangements if is required. FYI, the stairs landing has only an opening and the smoke goes directly outward to the outdoor which is not affecting to any neighbours. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 Last night before the thunderstorm, a heavy gust of wind blew for almost 5-10 mins. Got up quickly to close all windows 'cos all the ashes flying around. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 i honestly find this burning is damn silly. Just polluting the environment. When my parents leave, i will burn for them still but I will instruct my kids no need to do such nonsensical stuff for me 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 For 7th month..................I burn offering 3 times...................1st day.......15th day.....and last day...........not a lot but always do it downstairs at common area..............I was told never to do offering at home................as in inside the house..................at the very most got to be outside the gate..............because we dont want strangers get invited into the house and refuse to leave later................ Another thing I was told before..................used to do it at the old place..............but didnt do it for many years liao...................which I think I sld do it again this coming last day....................that is beside the offering to the good brothers............we sld also prepare a small offering to the earth god (土地公) before we start the prayer............ 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 i honestly find this burning is damn silly. Just polluting the environment. When my parents leave, i will burn for them still but I will instruct my kids no need to do such nonsensical stuff for me i alsho think so, but i keep quiet better. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 i honestly find this burning is damn silly. Just polluting the environment. When my parents leave, i will burn for them still but I will instruct my kids no need to do such nonsensical stuff for me Bro............it really is up to individuals.............I am quite open minded................and I usually dont try to argue when it comes to religion and believes...............but i do it because i met "them" before.............and not once but 3-4 times so far in my life............ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 Bro............it really is up to individuals.............I am quite open minded................and I usually dont try to argue when it comes to religion and believes...............but i do it because i met "them" before.............and not once but 3-4 times so far in my life............ There's one residing in my office toilet I always knock before I go in but sometime kena pranked, it will flush the toilet when I am alone at the urinal. One new chap went in that cubicle and it "whoooooshh" past him and he thought it was the wind blowing. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 (edited) There's one residing in my office toilet I always knock before I go in but sometime kena pranked, it will flush the toilet when I am alone at the urinal. One new chap went in that cubicle and it "whoooooshh" past him and he thought it was the wind blowing. i was told there was one in my office when I was a sales manager many years back.............that one cubicle nobody dare go in.............and the office phone system would ring all lines together after 10.30pm.............I witness it once when I had to stay back to finish some work .............the ladies were quite used to it...............but they quickly packed up and left when the phone system rang............I left as fast also.................but that one I have never feel or encounter "It"............. Edited August 24, 2016 by Tianmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 Bro............it really is up to individuals.............I am quite open minded................and I usually dont try to argue when it comes to religion and believes...............but i do it because i met "them" before.............and not once but 3-4 times so far in my life............You looked into the mirror only 3 to 4 times so far? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 i was told there was one in my office when I was a sales manager many years back.............that one cubicle nobody dare go in.............and the office phone system would ring all lines together after 10.30pm.............I witness it once when I had to stay back to finish some work .............the ladies were quite used to it...............but they quickly packed up and left when the phone system rang............I left as fast also.................but that one I have never feel or encounter "It"............. Answer phone and ask for 4D number HAIZ!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 They go internet, download 7th month apps lor... This tradition will be a thing of the past, 20-30 years down the road? Those burning offerings are middle ages and above, never see any younger ones doing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 last time nong nong ago when sentosa still had chalet, those colonial type building, had one night when we watching movie late night, then the phone on top of the TV rang. Everybody stunned. My fren went to pik up then nobody on the line, he then unplugged the phone. Was thinking if unplugged and phone still ring i will run away liao. But that didn't happen. I suspect some prankster somewhere call one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 Answer phone and ask for 4D number HAIZ!! I dont dare...........and the ladies told me the 1st time that happened...............they answered and was those disturbing sound like radio tio jammed................knn if I had answered also wont ask for 4D..................wait really kena how return sia..............要求的东西要还的..................... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 (edited) I've never seen one myself. But my mum and dad have experienced things in china hotels that i would say is not easily explained by conventional sense. And my friend saw a strange woman in his aunt's garden where there shouldn't be anybody. haha and some of the shows on american TV, really creepy lol. Edited August 24, 2016 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 last time nong nong ago when sentosa still had chalet, those colonial type building, had one night when we watching movie late night, then the phone on top of the TV rang. Everybody stunned. My fren went to pik up then nobody on the line, he then unplugged the phone. Was thinking if unplugged and phone still ring i will run away liao. But that didn't happen. I suspect some prankster somewhere call one. this one I agree with you.................but that time was 4 hunting line all go together.............4 lines blinked at the same time.............mayb got 4 person call and disturbed ...............but according to the ladies it happened whenever they stayed late............anyway that was the one and only encounter I had there .............so I also dont know............. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 You looked into the mirror only 3 to 4 times so far? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 (edited) It has always been my believe.................and I told my children as well...............that "these" were once upon a time human...........they were like us.................so technically there is nothing to be afraid of.................what we encounter ( for those who did encounter) .............is just they trying to communicate...........they sld not be here at all.............and they too want to leave to where ever they are suppose to be ...................but something must have held them back and they need help.............some do it politely some dont............but still it is help they wanted....................so if we can help try to help..................can help we try to help but if really boh pian just tell them nicely and ask not to be disturb............. Edited August 24, 2016 by Tianmo 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 i honestly find this burning is damn silly. Just polluting the environment. When my parents leave, i will burn for them still but I will instruct my kids no need to do such nonsensical stuff for me My mum has never burnt these things also. She never liked the smoke and ashes. Its my aunties and uncles who burn these. I joined in cos I like to play with fire. After marrying my wife, then she will pull me to burn these offerings. She say cannot alone burn lah and she scared lah. Me like to play with fire, so under the bo bian law, have to burn these offerings. But I dont see it as offerings, I see it as play. Like how to start the fire and how to make it sustain itself and let the flame go up higher. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...