Marathons in Singapore

Ah_roy81

Any guys doing the StanChart Marathon next week???  We have had very good weather (no haze I mean) unlike last year when even upto mid Nov there was some haze.

Rains are a  welcome as the weather is cooler and easier to run

Good Luck to runners!!  

No early trains for Standard Chartered Marathon Singapore; SMRT refutes claims it did not give ample notice

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/no-early-trains-standard-chartered-marathon-singapore-smrt-refutes-claims-it-did-not

I also just heard about it yesterday only, damn not good news.

Govt talk about car- lite , major Event also cannot co-op!!

The train thing was the best part in the last 2 years, before that the whole area around Scotts Road is like bumper to bumper - all the way to newton circus

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/no-trains-for-runners-organisers-told-in-may-says-smrt?utm_campaign=Echobox&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&xtor=CS1-10#link_time=1480116558

So who to believe? Standard charted marathon or smrt? Both give different stories. Hmm..

Or is it smrt sent out email in may to standard charted marathon and they overlooked it and deleted the email? Or there is no check in place to ensure there is proper followup either from smrt or standard charted? In anyway, there sure have lesson learnt to ensure the communication loop is closed.

e.g email sent out from smrt to standard charted marathon to mention that not able to provide train service. Standard charted marathon no response for a few wks, smrt should check with standard charted marathon whether they acknowledged or not? If 2nd email still no response, then we know there maybe problem, either wrong email address sent out or standard charted don't want to reply. In anycase there will still have a lot of time to do necessary action to ensure that standard charted marathon gets to necessary information and acknowledged it.

Edited by Yewheng

Now maintenance becomes soooo important, can't even miss for an important event for Singapore.

Some of the statements from SMRT look a bit dodgy to me.

'He pointed out that "every minute of track access time is valuable" because engineering staff have only around three hours every night to work.'

So the maintenance schedule would be put back a max of 3 hours if trains allowed for the marathon????

BTW I'm not saying maintenance is not important, but what happens if heavy thunderstorm during 3 hour maintenace period.

Do workers still stay on track working when there is heavy rain and strong chance of lightening strike???

•  
Edited by Neutrino

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/no-trains-for-runners-organisers-told-in-may-says-smrt?utm_campaign=Echobox&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&xtor=CS1-10#link_time=1480116558

So who to believe? Standard charted marathon or smrt? Both give different stories. Hmm..

Or is it smrt sent out email in may to standard charted marathon and they overlooked it and deleted the email? Or there is no check in place to ensure there is proper followup either from smrt or standard charted? In anyway, there sure have lesson learnt to ensure the communication loop is closed.

e.g email sent out from smrt to standard charted marathon to mention that not able to provide train service. Standard charted marathon no response for a few wks, smrt should check with standard charted marathon whether they acknowledged or not? If 2nd email still no response, then we know there maybe problem, either wrong email address sent out or standard charted don't want to reply. In anycase there will still have a lot of time to do necessary action to ensure that standard charted marathon gets to necessary information and acknowledged it.

With like less than 6 days to go...... seems like SMRT is sticking to its guns..... unless the sports ministars from the 2 ministries sit down and sort it out. But looks like too late already...... even the roads leading to Orchard road are going to be jam packed and besides this year they decided to start both the 1/2 and full to start from Orchard unlike previously 1/2marathon was from Sentosa (if I am not wrong)

I still  like the start from Padang somehow still, the roads are more easily accessible and the roads are much more huge       

How's the run? Looks like a fine weather. Hope mcfers runners in the race had a good run.

Anty mcfers runner in the Elite Runners pen?

1 of 25 photos
  1. Yahoo Newsroom1 hour 13 minutes ago

Elite runners at the start point of the Standard Chartered Marathon Singapore 2016. Photo: Yahoo Singapore
  •  

<p>How's the run? Looks like a fine weather. Hope mcfers runners in the race had a good run.Anty mcfers runner in the Elite Runners pen?

1 of 25 photos

Next

• previous06d6ea70-b9c6-11e6-b23d-370ffcc5f20d_0dfnext

• Yahoo Newsroom1 hour 13 minutes ago

• Elite runners at the start point of the Standard Chartered Marathon Singapore 2016. Photo: Yahoo Singapore

Standard Chartered Marathon Singapore: 29-year-old man dies after collapsing during half-marathon

http://www.straitstimes.com/sport/standard-chartered-marathon-singapore-29-year-old-man-dies-after-collapsing-during-half?utm_campaign=Echobox&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&xtor=CS1-10#link_time=1480820959

Yes I heard about the casualty too - just came home 2 hours back - the morning SBS bus arrangement was kind of a let down - went to Eunos at 2.30am and bus left only st 3.10am and went makan angin to Kembangan and Bedok for what also I don't know as it was already filled up but they move in convoy ( which I don't know why too) and Penang road there was a massive jam - reached like at

4.25am..... haiz.... really bad but was Ok after that , my flag off was at 5am and finished at 11 am - sun was scorching bad , glad to be alive

Oh dear.. RIP.. It usually near the finish line that runners collapse.. The last power burst is always dangerous.

Heard many times such conditions weren't detected beforehand.

Even reservist 2.4 ippt back then we were told to be conscious of our body. Don't overly push it.. got family to feed..

RIP to the deceased..

jin ironic: Singapore oso not big, no bus/mrt then jog there lah. can run marathon but cannot make own way to start line?

How's the run? Looks like a fine weather. Hope mcfers runners in the race had a good run.

Anty mcfers runner in the Elite Runners pen?

Did SCMS Half marathon this year. Overall i would say the new route is much better than the Sentosa route. Did my personal best for HM complete in~ 2 hours. I believe many fellow runners too as the course are quite flat.

The bottleneck is to get to the starting line as the road are fenced and create human jam. It tooks me almost 40min to reach the starting point and by then already past my start time at 445am and i have to start at ard 510am.

Afterward is a smooth and breeze to run as the road is wide ~3 lanes. There are no bottle neck through out the route as the road are wide enough. Most of the route are flat and we start really early so no killer hills and scorching suns as what we experience previous years. However, it still very humid to run though and need drinks after more than 5k mark. Surprisingly there are bananas for Half marathoner as well which never seen before in previous years.

Another interesing experience saw a few old uncles, some i think 60-70 years and look very frail and he just easily zoom  past a few young runners. U can see the face of those young runners looking at each other in disbelief [bigcry] 

After the 15k mark, keep seeing the elite runner from Kenya full marathon zoom past. Their pace are amazing i reckon their speed is close to 18-20 km/hr. At the last 2K toward finish line saw local elite runner Dr Mok yin ren zoom past me. Try to follow his pace but only can smell smoke.

Overall i would say running route are much better than sentosa route, enough drinking stations. The only things to improve is to better manage for runners to get to their starting line.

Did SCMS Half marathon this year. Overall i would say the new route is much better than the Sentosa route. Did my personal best for HM complete in~ 2 hours. I believe many fellow runners too as the course are quite flat.

The bottleneck is to get to the starting line as the road are fenced and create human jam. It tooks me almost 40min to reach the starting point and by then already past my start time at 445am and i have to start at ard 510am.

Afterward is a smooth and breeze to run as the road is wide ~3 lanes. There are no bottle neck through out the route as the road are wide enough. Most of the route are flat and we start really early so no killer hills and scorching suns as what we experience previous years. However, it still very humid to run though and need drinks after more than 5k mark. Surprisingly there are bananas for Half marathoner as well which never seen before in previous years.

Another interesing experience saw a few old uncles, some i think 60-70 years and look very frail and he just easily zoom past a few young runners. U can see the face of those young runners looking at each other in disbelief [bigcry]

After the 15k mark, keep seeing the elite runner from Kenya full marathon zoom past. Their pace are amazing i reckon their speed is close to 18-20 km/hr. At the last 2K toward finish line saw local elite runner Dr Mok yin ren zoom past me. Try to follow his pace but only can smell smoke.

Overall i would say running route are much better than sentosa route, enough drinking stations. The only things to improve is to better manage for runners to get to their starting line.

Guys, is there a time frame to complete the Full Marathon?