MadDog70 2nd Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 We employed a maid to take care of our baby girl when she was very young, now this maid went home after 2 years of service (she wanted to work in HK for better pay). Recently we got 2 maids, each cannot tahan one month because the first was dirty and the second was slow and forgetful. Wife suggests we skip maid forever, but I keep telling her that it's not so easy because we are both working and there are many chores we need to do (despite we send baby girl to playgroup the whole day). Care to share your experience of your life after having a maid, and suddenly no more? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 (edited) We employed a maid to take care of our baby girl when she was very young, now this maid went home after 2 years of service (she wanted to work in HK for better pay). Recently we got 2 maids, each cannot tahan one month because the first was dirty and the second was slow and forgetful. Wife suggests we skip maid forever, but I keep telling her that it's not so easy because we are both working and there are many chores we need to do (despite we send baby girl to playgroup the whole day). Care to share your experience of your life after having a maid, and suddenly no more? Try getting a Philipino maid. the maid that brought me and my brothers has worked with my family around 10years. until she was too old to continue and she misses home. at least until your baby girl is a little bit more grown up until like at least kidergarten or primary school. Edited September 13, 2010 by Simplesilver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 my family had a maid for the 15yrs. But went back home in Myanmar 1/2 yr ago. As my youngest is now 7 yrs old, decided not to have one and divided the house chorus between my missus and I. Not a problem or issue at all as I am not born with a silver spoon in the 1st place Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 im a believer of "nothing beats taking care of own children by wife". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 (edited) dun have kids but 2 dogs (prob just as messy... maybe worse cos everyday come home from work need to clean poop/pee) , no maid = every weekend and some week nights must do cleaning. You'll get used to it... i prefer to do my own cleaning... i just don't like to iron clothes Edited September 13, 2010 by Mockngbrd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 dun have kids but 2 dogs (prob just as messy... maybe worse cos everyday come home from work need to clean poop/pee) , no maid = every weekend and some week nights must do cleaning. You'll get used to it... i prefer to do my own cleaning... i just don't like to iron clothes you are comparing a human baby with dog Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MadDog70 2nd Gear September 13, 2010 Author Share September 13, 2010 (edited) All our maids are Filipinos. Can't depend on wife to take care of my baby girl (now 2 yrs 9 mths old) only, because she gets tired easily. I may engage a domestic help that comes weekly to do clothes ironing and thorough cleaning of house, I think this will help relieve some loads. Hmm, agrees that should have maid till baby girl is bigger, also agrees that we should do our chores too, hard decision. Edited September 13, 2010 by MadDog70 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 (edited) My 6yr old girl have gone through full day childcare, private nanny care and now at home with maid. Each have its own pros & cons. But IMHO.......a maid is still the best option. Its the best solution for our 2 kids by far. Maybe for you bcos you only have one...........can still manage without maid. But when yr kid starts P1.........do you think you can still come home from work on time ? Have energy to oversee kid's homework ? Have time to do housechores ? U still need to have some decent time to relax to aviod burnout ? Think about it.......... Edited September 13, 2010 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 dun have kids but 2 dogs (prob just as messy... maybe worse cos everyday come home from work need to clean poop/pee) , no maid = every weekend and some week nights must do cleaning. You'll get used to it... i prefer to do my own cleaning... i just don't like to iron clothes ^5 la... i hate ironing... mum do help once in awhile.. while i help with the remaining house chores. nvr had a maid all my life. told my wife to be that in the future we wont have maids. dun really like the idea of having a stranger in the house. heard too much horror stories from my aunts... wife to be stays in a terrace, never had a maid all her life. chores divided between dad mum n herself. future shouldnt be a problem i guess Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 ^5 la... i hate ironing... mum do help once in awhile.. while i help with the remaining house chores. nvr had a maid all my life. told my wife to be that in the future we wont have maids. dun really like the idea of having a stranger in the house. heard too much horror stories from my aunts... wife to be stays in a terrace, never had a maid all her life. chores divided between dad mum n herself. future shouldnt be a problem i guess choose the right maid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MadDog70 2nd Gear September 13, 2010 Author Share September 13, 2010 My 6yr old girl have gone through full day childcare, private nanny care and now at home with maid. Each have its own pros & cons. But IMHO.......a maid is still the best option. Its the best solution for our 2 kids by far. Maybe for you bcos you only have one...........can still manage without maid. But when yr kid starts P1.........do you think you can still come home from work on time ? Have energy to oversee kid's homework ? Have time to do housechores ? U still need to have some decent time to relax to aviod burnout ? Think about it.......... This is exactly what I told my wife, all the house chores are no kidding, there are plenty that she may have forgotten before we have this kid. Some more, she is very indecisive on this, one moment "let's fire the maid", next moment "shall we try a week without maid first?". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 choose the right maid. u nvr know gd anot on the first sight ma tio bo? must try lioa den know.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MadDog70 2nd Gear September 13, 2010 Author Share September 13, 2010 choose the right maid. Not easy bro, because all the profile looks the same and they do pretend to be good during tele-interview. So it's basically pure luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SupperTime Clutched September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 (edited) We employed a maid to take care of our baby girl when she was very young, now this maid went home after 2 years of service (she wanted to work in HK for better pay). Recently we got 2 maids, each cannot tahan one month because the first was dirty and the second was slow and forgetful. Wife suggests we skip maid forever, but I keep telling her that it's not so easy because we are both working and there are many chores we need to do (despite we send baby girl to playgroup the whole day). Care to share your experience of your life after having a maid, and suddenly no more? i changed maid 2x already since my good one contract ended n went back cus of husband.... can say its tough having no maid but u can do it with a part timer... alas will be very difficult. have 2 admit the quality of maids now has dropped terribly. best is to continue changing until u get a good one. still got up to 5 times ma. my previous agent i found was also to blame.... she neva train d maid properly.. straight rush out. many of these agents r crooked also. Edited September 13, 2010 by AceofproZ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 My friend's maid decided to stop working cause she found local BF that wanna marry her many years ago leh, then now married and the maid status upgrade to kindergarden teacher after some years of studying locally. Maybe can get trusted nanny to babysit your girl during working hours? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 im a believer of "nothing beats taking care of own children by wife". agree. but some family cannot afford single income. i have a relative, the wife gave up her high post job to bring up her 2 son, now they grown up to be very remarkable fine men. how envious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 Not easy bro, because all the profile looks the same and they do pretend to be good during tele-interview. So it's basically pure luck. heard so much about the bad one and the good one, really depends on luck... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 agree. but some family cannot afford single income. i have a relative, the wife gave up her high post job to bring up her 2 son, now they grown up to be very remarkable fine men. how envious. quite true, not easy but not impossible..... luckily, my wife and i are simple being, we dont shop in orchard, we dont need a district 10 hdb flat and we dont go tour every year......... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...