Galantspeedz Turbocharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 opp jamiyah children's home at changi road, across eunos darul aman mosque u better bring along floor plan for an estimate material costing.. there should able to quote off from floor area , excluding labour/works i embarking on home reno ... starting nov... double my initial budget BUT with accessories/lightings.. you can get more info from renotalk forum curtains, lightings, furniture and bedding are all much cheaper in malaysia... i got mine from there and my fren who just bought a place also bought from there.... looking at 50% cheaper for most things... fyi ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 don't marble the whole house. zone your home using different materials eg marble for living/dining, parquay (typo?) for bedrooms for a more cozy feel, and non slip homo for kitchen and bathrooms. marble and granite are porous so you need to know that if there is spillage and is left there for some time, the floor will be stained and cannot be easily removed. You will forever have a visible stain mark depending on the colour of the marble/granite. Marble = no grout lines which is a nice feeling to the feet and of course no ugly and dirty grout lines later on. the other materials all have grout lines. Marble is damn hard so if a toddler falls and hits the head, damn freaking painful. Marble = very slippery when wet so if got old folks, pls take care. Marble = swee when highly polished. But over time, there will be many faint scratches which will tarnish the shine and gloss which means repolishing which is damn sian, messy (remove all furniture and they use water in the polishing process which means your wooden custom made furniture will kanna) and costly (11 years ago I did approx $2000 for whole house except kitchen). Marble = cool feeling to the feet even during hot weather. Shiok! Big house use big pieces very swee. Small house use big pieces make the house smaller. You know got artificial/man-made marble? Almost same price as real marble but you can control the colour and pigmentation (you can't control the colour, streaks of real marble). All other characterisitics are the same as real marble. there are some tile shops at balestier road (near to the Thomson Medical Centre end) which you can go look see look see. Not sure if they have marble though. Nearby got a laksa shop (inside an old kopitiam) there very nice. Good for a light lunch. $3 only. LTA parking lots. Free after 5pm and on Sun. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlyb86 Neutral Newbie October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 Good information don't marble the whole house. zone your home using different materials eg marble for living/dining, parquay (typo?) for bedrooms for a more cozy feel, and non slip homo for kitchen and bathrooms. marble and granite are porous so you need to know that if there is spillage and is left there for some time, the floor will be stained and cannot be easily removed. You will forever have a visible stain mark depending on the colour of the marble/granite. Marble = no grout lines which is a nice feeling to the feet and of course no ugly and dirty grout lines later on. the other materials all have grout lines. Marble is damn hard so if a toddler falls and hits the head, damn freaking painful. Marble = very slippery when wet so if got old folks, pls take care. Marble = swee when highly polished. But over time, there will be many faint scratches which will tarnish the shine and gloss which means repolishing which is damn sian, messy (remove all furniture and they use water in the polishing process which means your wooden custom made furniture will kanna) and costly (11 years ago I did approx $2000 for whole house except kitchen). Marble = cool feeling to the feet even during hot weather. Shiok! Big house use big pieces very swee. Small house use big pieces make the house smaller. You know got artificial/man-made marble? Almost same price as real marble but you can control the colour and pigmentation (you can't control the colour, streaks of real marble). All other characterisitics are the same as real marble. there are some tile shops at balestier road (near to the Thomson Medical Centre end) which you can go look see look see. Not sure if they have marble though. Nearby got a laksa shop (inside an old kopitiam) there very nice. Good for a light lunch. $3 only. LTA parking lots. Free after 5pm and on Sun. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 (edited) Now I don't think got $28k for a house your size liao. Easily $40k I guess. And workmanship is very important. Nowadays, less people lay marble means less pool of skilled workers means higher chances of slipshod work. Take a look at the homo tile. It comes in a variety of sizes, shapes, colour, texture, gloss, matt and price. Cheaper too. Only bad thing is that it has grout lines. If you intend to stay 5 to 10 years then sell, don't waste money on marble. Won't fetch you a much higher price one. Edited October 5, 2010 by Kxbc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 Yup, I got my marble there. The shop name I think is Taurgess or Taugress after Jalan Datuk Bak Chor Mee stall ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 That's correct! Taugraus I think. Total of 3 different shops there side by side. Got try the laksa there? Good leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 curtains, lightings, furniture and bedding are all much cheaper in malaysia... i got mine from there and my fren who just bought a place also bought from there.... looking at 50% cheaper for most things... fyi one of my friend go china buy everything... beddings... furniture .. lightings ... and ship everything back in container... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 All in is it cheaper? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 one of my friend go china buy everything... beddings... furniture .. lightings ... and ship everything back in container... i will do it next time..LOL easily save 100-200% lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 according to my friend much cheaper.... container cost abt only abt 2k iirc... he brought his interior designer there shopping... buy everything... he said he saved at least half the quoted price in sg... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 which HDB dun have corridor??? i mean corridor in the house not outside the house lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 don't marble the whole house. zone your home using different materials eg marble for living/dining, parquay (typo?) for bedrooms for a more cozy feel, and non slip homo for kitchen and bathrooms. marble and granite are porous so you need to know that if there is spillage and is left there for some time, the floor will be stained and cannot be easily removed. You will forever have a visible stain mark depending on the colour of the marble/granite. Marble = no grout lines which is a nice feeling to the feet and of course no ugly and dirty grout lines later on. the other materials all have grout lines. Marble is damn hard so if a toddler falls and hits the head, damn freaking painful. Marble = very slippery when wet so if got old folks, pls take care. Marble = swee when highly polished. But over time, there will be many faint scratches which will tarnish the shine and gloss which means repolishing which is damn sian, messy (remove all furniture and they use water in the polishing process which means your wooden custom made furniture will kanna) and costly (11 years ago I did approx $2000 for whole house except kitchen). Marble = cool feeling to the feet even during hot weather. Shiok! Big house use big pieces very swee. Small house use big pieces make the house smaller. You know got artificial/man-made marble? Almost same price as real marble but you can control the colour and pigmentation (you can't control the colour, streaks of real marble). All other characterisitics are the same as real marble. there are some tile shops at balestier road (near to the Thomson Medical Centre end) which you can go look see look see. Not sure if they have marble though. Nearby got a laksa shop (inside an old kopitiam) there very nice. Good for a light lunch. $3 only. LTA parking lots. Free after 5pm and on Sun. All material are slipy when wet lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 not like marble... if got kids or old folks get antislip ceramic tiles... you won't regret it... my grandma slipped before and broke her hips because of a careless maid... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 Marble is really slippery vs homo glossy, ceramic and parquay. I slipped before. Freaking painful. My ex colleague baby sat on the floor and could not balance well on his own. Smacked his forehead onto the marble floor. Damn freaking loud sound. Straight away screaming and crying and big baluku formed within 2 min. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 Marble is really slippery vs homo glossy, ceramic and parquay. I slipped before. Freaking painful. My ex colleague baby sat on the floor and could not balance well on his own. Smacked his forehead onto the marble floor. Damn freaking loud sound. Straight away screaming and crying and big baluku formed within 2 min. yeah. what i mean is that all floor will be slippery when wet. so all floor must be careful when wet lah but hor. Homo those shining type very very slipery too. plus Homo is harder than Marble. now homo not cheap either liao. one average pcs easily 5 dollar per square feet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 robo, read www.renotalk.com\forum for infor. btw, if you need a good contractor (in terms of pricing and workmanship), pm me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grindcore888 Clutched October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 curtains, lightings, furniture and bedding are all much cheaper in malaysia... i got mine from there and my fren who just bought a place also bought from there.... looking at 50% cheaper for most things... fyi another good location for lightings... their prices are cheaper by 30-40% or more as compared to nearby lighting shops... words has it this is the 'black sheep' of the industry... for selling too cheap to consumers.... http://www.lightings.com.sg/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grindcore888 Clutched October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 for those with deeper pockets... http://www.motto.com.sg/page/category ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...