Freestylers09 5th Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 6 years ago, I bought all my furniture back in my hometown in Johor too. - 1 queen size bed set (comes with a queen size wood bedframe, 4 door to-the-ceiling wardrobe, make-up cabinet with marge mirror, 1 side bed cabinet). - 1 additional same 4-door to-the ceiling wardrobe - 1 nyatoh super single bed with another pullout bed underneath - 1 3+2+1 fabric sofa + glasstop coffee table with 2 drawers - TV cabinet with glasstop - 1 solid wood shoe rack cum place to put wallet, keys, etc - 1 6 seat dining table with glasstop with 6 chairs - 1 solid wood side dining cabinet - 1 cabinet with ceramic top as a place to prepare milk for my then baby girl. 6 years liao, the sofa still solid despite my children climbing around, except that some of the corners, the fabric torn. Dining table top got scratch mark. Rest is OK..... Total cost: about 16K RM. ex or cheap? i checked China price liaoz..cheaper for alot things.. onz liao..i will whack a container in like Bro LittlePrice friend did..lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 TS, What is your budget for doing up the flat totally? This would include renovation, furnishings, air con, lighting etc. If on a tight budget, try not to consider marble or granite. The $ you save using cheaper flooring e.g ceramic tiles could be spent on more built-in wardrobes, nicer furniture, whole house air con etc.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 ex or cheap? i checked China price liaoz..cheaper for alot things.. onz liao..i will whack a container in like Bro LittlePrice friend did..lol note hor... you better get a trusted shipper... and pack everything properly.. if damaged during shipment LLST... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 ex or cheap? i checked China price liaoz..cheaper for alot things.. onz liao..i will whack a container in like Bro LittlePrice friend did..lol You be the judge lor.... I'm sure China should be even cheaper. However, how easy is it to buy? Just see the catalog and buy? No need to see the real thing? Go there is still an expenditure right? If got reliable kang tao, I'm not surprise it'd be a better deal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 You be the judge lor.... I'm sure China should be even cheaper. However, how easy is it to buy? Just see the catalog and buy? No need to see the real thing? Go there is still an expenditure right? If got reliable kang tao, I'm not surprise it'd be a better deal. cannot la... have to go and see one... best if you bring ID go there ... cuz they have trusted KT otherwise they will ship diff thing from what you ordered... not as if you dunno china merchants... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear October 5, 2010 Author Share October 5, 2010 TS, What is your budget for doing up the flat totally? This would include renovation, furnishings, air con, lighting etc. If on a tight budget, try not to consider marble or granite. The $ you save using cheaper flooring e.g ceramic tiles could be spent on more built-in wardrobes, nicer furniture, whole house air con etc.... im thinking of $40K all in. as in all fixtures and fittings excluding equipment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 cannot la... have to go and see one... best if you bring ID go there ... cuz they have trusted KT otherwise they will ship diff thing from what you ordered... not as if you dunno china merchants... wah.. fly here fly there. waste time and money. i rather spend a bit more stay in singapore but hor... different ppl different stroke. if i got private jet, i sure fly here and there to buy lah.. but wont be china Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 excluding flooring already min abt 25k... unless you can get package... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 (edited) im thinking of $40K all in. as in all fixtures and fittings excluding equipment more than enough. My dad doing his 106 square meter 4 room now. At present, rough quote is around 40K. (including hacking) but hor, he manage to find nice looking and cheap Marble lah. ($7.50 per square feet clearling stock as qty too small for big project.) of couse i am assuming furniture not included lah. Edited October 5, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AhTAN Neutral Newbie October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 im thinking of $40K all in. as in all fixtures and fittings excluding equipment If thats the budget you are looking at, i suggest you skip marble. homogeneous is a good replacement. but if you insist on having marble, den you have to put in effort to shop around and ask. like a lot mention, diff origin and types has v diff price range. for some suppliers, they supply a lot to projects (condos etc). if they do, try to ask them if there is any leftovers from all this projects and see if the price fits your budget. but keep in mind, it is leftover cos it fails the initial rounds of selections. but u might get lucky and manage to pick out nice pieces. as for the rooms, if you want a woody feel/look to it and laminate is not a option, try using vinyl flooring. for a new flat, 40k is a good budget if you spend wisely. good luck! have fun sourcing around! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 more than enough. My dad doing his 106 square meter 4 room now. At present, rough quote is around 40K. (including hacking) but hor, he manage to find nice looking and cheap Marble lah. ($7.50 per square feet clearling stock as qty too small for big project.) of couse i am assuming furniture not included lah. Your 40k is only the floor? Robo 4ok is all in. Kitchen cabinet alone easily $8-10k. Wardrobe for 3 rooms also another $10k. Curtain also easily $5k liao, unless you buy Ikea. Lights another $2k. Sofa $2k King size bed and mattress $4k Dining table and chairs $2k Aircon $3k Paint whole house $2k ...left nothing for the floor... My apology, if Robo decided to postpone his wedding because of Money not enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 im thinking of $40K all in. as in all fixtures and fittings excluding equipment Then I suggest you look into the costs of built in wardrobes, kitchen cabinets, aircon(how many rooms?), hacking(if required)/false ceilings, feature walls, toilet fittings (bath tub needed??) and lightings first then see how much left for your flooring. I am guessing not much... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 Its is better you talk to few contractors and compare their prices. In this line is very competitive so you can choose the best one for you. Price is not everything, the workmanship is equally important. You can go and see the workmanship (those WIP project). Some can promise you many things when you signed liao then many additional cost, like need to top up this and that. Its better to write doen black and white. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 Bro, 40K for the below. Floor (marble for living room and 3 bedroom. Kitchen and Toilet Homo.) Kitchen and toilet floor plus waterproofing. (cook and hod.) re-route all the electrical points and SCV points Windows Grilled Demolishing of walls and rebuilding of walls (change direction of doors for one of the room.) Kitchen cabinet Wardrobe for 3 rooms also another Curtain Lights Dining table and chairs Paint whole house Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 (edited) TS, setting up a home very expensive hor? Lucky you in accounting line know how to count money. If budget not enough, make sure to spend the money on things you cannot chin chai change one eg flooring, custom-made fixtures (if you have budget), toilet bowls, sinks, aircon, piping, windows. The additional moveable items like sofa, dinning table can get a cheaper version first or later if it bursts the budget now since you can easily swap it for a newer version later when you have more savings. Edited October 5, 2010 by Kxbc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 Bro, 40K for the below. Floor (marble for living room and 3 bedroom. Kitchen and Toilet Homo.) Kitchen and toilet floor plus waterproofing. (cook and hod.) re-route all the electrical points and SCV points Windows Grilled Demolishing of walls and rebuilding of walls (change direction of doors for one of the room.) Kitchen cabinet Wardrobe for 3 rooms also another Curtain Lights Dining table and chairs Paint whole house hmm... sounds good. Btw, is your contractor also did job for YOG? If yes, good luck to you. Better prepare 2x $$ for the final charges. just joking.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 (edited) hmm... sounds good. Btw, is your contractor also did job for YOG? If yes, good luck to you. Better prepare 2x $$ for the final charges. just joking.. no. this contractor is the same one that had done my house flooring. very good. for homo flooring, he can keep the floor tiles gap within 1mm. a bit slow though as he is using wet cement rather than the cheapo and easy to do dry cement. he check each tile 1 by 1 for wrapage before laying it down. BTW, my dad marble flooring are source by himself and bought by himself. i think that itself will save on the markup. Edited October 5, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 TS, setting up a home very expensive hor? Lucky you in accounting line know how to count money. If budget not enough, make sure to spend the money on things you cannot chin chai change one eg flooring, custom-made fixtures (if you have budget), toilet bowls, sinks, aircon, piping, windows. The additional moveable items like sofa, dinning table can get a cheaper version first or later if it bursts the budget now since you can easily swap it for a newer version later when you have more savings. good advice. This reminds me of what happened to me. When my wife and I started shopping for our home, the first piece of big ticket item we bough is a sofa. We were window shopping at Park Mall for the idea on how to zheng our house. The mall was very quiet because SARS had just killed the good doctor. After spending 2-3 hours in 1 shop, the salesman was keep asking to buy their sofa. It was quoted as $5k and now selling at $3k. We said no as too expensive. So, he asked how much are you willing to pay? We were naive then, thinking, give them a ridiculous number so that we could go home. So, we said, $2k we will take. It is a 3+2 full leather Italian design sofa. To our horror... they ok. That was how I got my sofa before collecting my home sweet home. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...