Time needed to reach Genting

Vega

can i just follow the direction from a garmin GPS to reach Genting? anyone try driving to gentling purely depending on a GPS for direction?

usually from sg custom if road smooth can reach in 3.5hrs..... just be careful of polis dogs

Agree with you on this one. Less than 4hrs to reach GH with average speed of 120km/h (exclude overtaking of course) incorporating two 15min breaks on NSH.

U need to lower down your gear when going up and down Genting, u cannnot drive up and down Genting using D drive.

Sorry bro i beg to defer. If your ride is 1.5 and above there shouldn't be any problem using d to drive up and down c/w passengers. I have been using d to drive up and down for years though my is 2.0. I have seem cases where boleh land 800 cc overtake me as well. [laugh]

20 plus years ago what you said are true. You need to shift to lower gear when going up and down GH due to the narrow single lane. Also back then there aren't any central divider. There are many abrupt corner as well. The road wasn't well lit especially when foggy. Many accidents happened due to drivers trying to overtake on a single lane two way traffic.

The last 10 plus years or so roads (both direction) have been widen into a two lanes road. Road are well lid as well. If i remember correctly there aren't many abrupt corners as compare to the past.

Anyway enjoy and [drivingcar] drive safe.

can i just follow the direction from a garmin GPS to reach Genting? anyone try driving to gentling purely depending on a GPS for direction?

I had driven to/fro Genting twice using my Garmin 255W GPS.

It follow the same route, that I took previously when I rely on printed google map.

* suggest to turn up the volume so that navi-commands can be hear clearly.

usually from sg custom if road smooth can reach in 3.5hrs..... just be careful of polis dogs

So fast meh? dun need buy eat /water /smoke or go toilet? i almost take 4hr to reach KL.

Agree with you on this one. Less than 4hrs to reach GH with average speed of 120km/h (exclude overtaking of course) incorporating two 15min breaks on NSH.

Less than 4 hrs to reach Genting?! So fast?! :o

usually i leave sg around 7+am have BF at gelang patah ard 8

drive straight... reach Gohtong jaya by lunch time ard 11-12 latest latest including some toilet/petrol break inbetween

Edited by Little_prince

not very fast lor

suggestion: try go on weekday morning ... friday best... polis dogs all go baibai

really damm empty road

no car at all

U must have a powerful ride..

I had driven to/fro Genting twice using my Garmin 255W GPS.

It follow the same route, that I took previously when I rely on printed google map.

* suggest to turn up the volume so that navi-commands can be hear clearly.

thanks for your input!

IMO, how fast to reach genting really depends on how fast one drives on NSHW and time of traveling... certain stretch timing is quite fix.... the only huge variables is NHSW and also depends on timing which directly will affect the achievable speed....

Example 1:

from sg custom (if woodland), it will take around 20-30mins after clearing custom to hit NSHW.

on NSHW if ave 120km/h, then it will take 2.5hrs to reach sungei besi tol.

from there onward, to reach genting is around 1-1.5hrs depends on traffic/timing...

so, it will take btw slightly less than 4hrs to 5hrs max with this pattern.. this is general guideline base on let's say ~8am at custom....

Example 2:

from sg custom (if woodland), it will take around 20-30mins after clearing custom to hit NSHW.

on NSHW if ave 150km/h, then it will take 2hrs to reach sungei besi tol.

from there onward, to reach genting is around 1-1.5hrs depends on traffic/timing...

so, it will take btw slightly less than 4hrs to 4.5hrs max with this pattern.. this is general guideline base on let's say ~8am at custom....

Example 3: if wee wee hour (mid nite, 2am, etc..)

on NSHW if ave 150km/h, then it will take 2hrs to reach sungei besi tol.

from there onward, to reach genting is around 45mins- 1hr max if maintain high speed on karak highway..

so, it will take btw slightly less than 3.5hrs with this pattern......

Example 4: if wee wee hour (mid nite, 2am, etc..)

from sg custom (if tuas), it will take max 20mins after clearing custom to hit NSHW.

on NSHW if ave 170km/h, then it will take ~ 1hr 45min to reach sungei besi tol.

from there onward, to reach genting is around 45mins-1hr max if maintain high speed on karak highway..

so, it will take btw slightly less than 3hrs with this pattern is possible......

with family, i normally set off at ~6am and reach there 11am+ with a few stop for breakfast and toilet break....

as for my fastest (alone and not to genting but to my KL-cheras home), i clear sg tuas custom as 2am, reach my cheras home at 4:15am with 2 toilet/ciggie break.... if want to add genting, my cheras home to genting normally take ~45mins.... [:p]