Ecu remapping

Minikong

14 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

Personally I'd stayed away from piggy back ecu. Either a direct swap of ECU or tuning the stock ECU is better. More direct and less error and I guess cheaper (maybe)?

FD2A should be quite fun to tune. Can go for Hondata if you don't mind to pay abit more.

oh any idea how much does hondata cost and where to go to? 

19 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

If the tuner is not good, dunno the characteristic of your car, it might cause you alot of problem.

Car works on 3 elements, Air, Fuel Spark. For tuning, they will control the fuel and spark to give a bigger explosion inside the chamber. If you run too lean on fuel, your car might face some problem in the long run.

If you want to save FC, don't bother tuning. cause you need to fork out like 400-600 to tune the car just to save fuel. Not worth it. How long you need to drive then can earn back?

I rather you wait for covid finish you go to Malaysia and drink all the petrol there. Instantly more economical.

Absolute TRUE - I am waiting for a run-down in the highway of JB to KL. When can this run start.  

1 hour ago, Confusedboi said:

oh any idea how much does hondata cost and where to go to? 

Sorry, I've never owned a Honda before so can't give any recommendation. But what @kobayashiGT mentioned, the workshop he mentioned is quite reputable. Can check with them, good luck!

2 hours ago, Confusedboi said:

Hi 

car is still stock. No mods at all. I enquired from F*** K** exhaust  system  regarding whether they have LTA legal compliant exhaust system  have for my car but they say dont have for civic fd?? 😅. ( Saw they have LTA compliant exhaust for the newer civic fc)  Was looking at HKS or Fujitsuburo exhaust system.

https://www.hks-power.co.jp/en/product_db/muffler/db/17892?fbclid=IwAR1PBLUGLerpTLIp0LWsNeeatR1S51-ujMdkq8X_Fpx3PjLxjKiK47-fWjk

They quoted 850 dollars including tuning and installation for unichip q as they dont carry rschip anymore. Just thinking whether to take the plunge ... 

Dont want to spend too much on mods ( less than 1k max) 

850...i would go for ecu flash better. the only good thing abt piggy back is u can resell for some money or some pple want to take out before go back AD for warranty issues. 

Most time off shelf brand stage 1 is very safe. tested and run on many same makes. Custom tune - it depends. Most are actually using off shelf file then do some customisation, run dyno, trim somemore. this one u need to go with trusted tuners.   

i used before piggyback, race chip, revo stage 1.  ecu flash is def more direct. some pple worry ecu adaptation then money gone but dun worry it wil not be overwritten or revert back to stock map. 

3 hours ago, Confusedboi said:

Hi 

car is still stock. No mods at all. I enquired from F*** K** exhaust  system  regarding whether they have LTA legal compliant exhaust system  have for my car but they say dont have for civic fd?? 😅. ( Saw they have LTA compliant exhaust for the newer civic fc)  Was looking at HKS or Fujitsuburo exhaust system.

https://www.hks-power.co.jp/en/product_db/muffler/db/17892?fbclid=IwAR1PBLUGLerpTLIp0LWsNeeatR1S51-ujMdkq8X_Fpx3PjLxjKiK47-fWjk

They quoted 850 dollars including tuning and installation for unichip q as they dont carry rschip anymore. Just thinking whether to take the plunge ... 

Dont want to spend too much on mods ( less than 1k max) 

ur budget 1k?

don't waste time on tuning fully stock car.

waste of $$.

the 1k u buy exhaust, got many 2nd hand around, + open pod.

On 6/10/2020 at 11:21 AM, Confusedboi said:

Hi All

I read online regarding unichip q and rschip both have mixed reviews regarding power gains/improved torque vs problems such as Check engine light. ..

So does it really boil down to the skill of the tuner who does the installation? 

Anyone here used either of this chips? Both of them are considered piggy back ecu i guess.

Really tempted to try either one of the chips above. ( My car is  honda  civic FD2A  so i know power gains wont be a lot) not expecting too much 

Unichip and rschip are 2 very different thing. Unichip is piggyback custom tuning. Rschip is off the shelf plug and play...and hope for something, nothing to tune.

A few years ago, RSchip was very popular. Can see many vendors peddling on forums, facebook, etc. And people do buy it. Then after a while nobody talks about it anymore. The reason is obvious.

Just ordered Racechip from website, For S$200+, good enough I guess. till warranty end, then go for flash tune. 

1 hour ago, Othello said:

Just ordered Racechip from website, For S$200+, good enough I guess. till warranty end, then go for flash tune. 

I have that (cheap one) installed - thinking of upgrading to the latest bluetooth controlled model since I am keeping the car for a while more....

1 hour ago, Othello said:

Is that 2nd hand one? The normal piggyback is like close to S$1k. A few years ago, I bought the throttle controller fr local dist around S$300+.

Unfortunately racechip don't make for my car else I would buy. I using TDI tuning, cheaper, but I am not sure whether how much it boosted. Never measured the output.

12 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

I have that (cheap one) installed - thinking of upgrading to the latest bluetooth controlled model since I am keeping the car for a while more....

now the pricing of flash tunes has become lower. No point still going for piggyback unless warranty issues. 

12 minutes ago, Columbian78 said:

Is that 2nd hand one? The normal piggyback is like close to S$1k. A few years ago, I bought the throttle controller fr local dist around S$300+.

Unfortunately racechip don't make for my car else I would buy. I using TDI tuning, cheaper, but I am not sure whether how much it boosted. Never measured the output.

New one. Race chip has 3 range S / RS / GTS

S is the most basic and its really not expensive as you can see. Below is pricing for my car. Add $20 for shipping. 

1782417794_Screenshot(26).thumb.png.dc0461e5b87e424a1df35761ca60e85e.png

9 hours ago, Othello said:

New one. Race chip has 3 range S / RS / GTS

S is the most basic and its really not expensive as you can see. Below is pricing for my car. Add $20 for shipping. 

1782417794_Screenshot(26).thumb.png.dc0461e5b87e424a1df35761ca60e85e.png

Now you make me itch.

2 hours ago, Discoburg said:

Now you make me itch.

Your car no need lah. hahah. You buy lighter wheels, better tyres and maybe a cold air intake, your car will run better.

Hahha. aesthetic wise also nicer. 🙂 1 stone kill 2 bird.

I will be wary if any reputable tuner/shop/workshop sells an ECU (standalone, piggyback, plugin, re-flash) without suggesting:

1) That they take a look at your car and its condition

2) Do a dyno tune with appropriate wideband, o2, exhaust sensors

3) Customise your table

4) Fine tune cold start and idling (non-aircon, aircon)

5) If able, tune your throttle response (auto car)

6) Finalise your table

7) Do a road test with or without you driving (not so important)

There are reasons why an accomplished tuner charges what he charges. Basically it is paying for his expertise, time, dyno rental, miscellaneous advices and maybe friendship if the tuning is done up properly. 

If you are someone who upgrade your car progressively, then perhaps you can just install the wideband on the car permanently. If you have a budget and dont want to go all out, a tuner may suggest canned maps and road tune - so its up to you. 

Most importantly, dont tune a stock car and then after that, start your upgrades.

For non-performance cars, fine tuning or upgrading the suspension system, rims, tyres have higher smile factor.

2 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Your car no need lah. hahah. You buy lighter wheels, better tyres and maybe a cold air intake, your car will run better.

Hahha. aesthetic wise also nicer. 🙂 1 stone kill 2 bird.

Like the stock wheels for the hatchback, very nice compared to the sedan ones. Very Long never hear the term CAI liao haha. Thought of port and polish the throttle body.

1 hour ago, Discoburg said:

Like the stock wheels for the hatchback, very nice compared to the sedan ones. Very Long never hear the term CAI liao haha. Thought of port and polish the throttle body.

cold air denser. So will helps with combustion. hahaha. How does the wheel look like arh? the alot of spokes one arh?

26 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

cold air denser. So will helps with combustion. hahaha. How does the wheel look like arh? the alot of spokes one arh?

Last ride did CAI was my first and second ride. After that never do liao. You did for your CL7?

B33788C5-1699-47AD-92E1-E2C6FDE2346D.thumb.jpeg.7066b35f56c12da7eaad9cfeff86329c.jpeg