DK3410 4th Gear November 26, 2018 Share November 26, 2018 Hi Dk3410, Good point, CVT does have a weakness n seems rather problematic if driven hard. So not considering buying used nissan. Hi tchinhe, Actually, a lot of things in engineering are a yin and yang thing. You gain some, you lose some. CVTs actually are better than other transmissions with regards to smoothness of drive, as well as the ability to hold the engine at the revs for peak power, and then deliver said power smoothly through infinite gear ratios to the wheels. No other transmission can do that. You stomp on the accelerator, your revs climb, goes past the peak power rpm, the gear shifts, your revs drop, and the cycle repeats until you hit your top gear. You chase, but only briefly achieve, peak power. There's actually a reason why CVTs were banned in formula one racing in 1993, simply because it could hold the engine at the optimal revs for the desired task. CVTs also allow good fuel economy (depends also on how the ECU is tweaked), as they can "force" the engine to work at lower rpms. The main downside of CVTs is that they feel different. If you're old enough like some of us, we came from the era of manual transmission, where we equate climbing revs to need to change gear. In CVTs, the revs remain fairly constant, while things happen. In addition, CVTs are mechanically more complex than any other transmission, and the CVT transmission fluid isn't cheap. When CVTs break, it's expensive to fix. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carhorn 5th Gear November 26, 2018 Share November 26, 2018 Actually the 216gt. The diesel one is good value back then untim it became only petrol variant in sg. The 2gt back then was the "lux" version. And it does feel a bit more premium actually. The stitchings. Etc all done nicely. Lack of cheap plastics feel. The c class n beemer 3 series also not too bad interior wise. Definately can consider if one do not mind the size and love thr badge. funny leh, wanna compare cars, must compare similar class or size car. like the previous person who says Beemers and Audis are different class than Mazda 6 (True the contis are much better, but, in SG, when u factor the premium price of the contis, how to compare? if compare similar cost, the entry level of the contis really are poor [116 cost more]) now compare 216 with mazda 6 (mpv vs sedan). again not similar size and class. like tt no meaning to compare leh. sometimes we lose our way in comparing the merits of each car cos we are blinded by the badges i dun drive a Mazda 6 but i think for 108k, it is currently a good seller compared to other similar cars of same segment of japs/korean/contis maybe the superb ambition is better (but then it is 20k more) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear November 26, 2018 Share November 26, 2018 (edited) Hehe. I was kinda badge whore also thus then it was bmw 2gt over the bigger but more practical odyssey. It was however thru this experience that i discovered i will never be a mpv person. Hi spurman, Haha .. who would not want to have a nice badge aka badge whore. I yearned for a merc when I graduated and always wanted the cheapest 190e .. not the cosworth of course and did made it to having the e200 w124 masterpiece. Guess mpv serves its purposes for me .. 3 children, helper and 1 wife .. 3 trips up to Penang on the 2.3 honda odyssey and 2.4 estima as well as great sliding doors. But I do have to forgo a more quicker ride despite >>2.0 taxes and high FC. For now, kids are grown up and hence the forester xt for nice zoom zoom .. no longer willing to part 300k in 10 yrs for a car. Cheers. Richard Edited November 26, 2018 by richard_crl032 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic November 26, 2018 Share November 26, 2018 For now, kids are grown up and hence the forester xt for nice zoom zoom .. no longer willing to part 300k in 10 yrs for a car. Cheers. Richard Can renew for a few more 10 years mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear November 26, 2018 Share November 26, 2018 Can renew for a few more 10 years mah... Hi Dach, Unfortunately, even the over designed and over built e200 w124 also had gearbox failure towards 10 yrs old but yes, I see them still on the road. No regret to have moved on and while the honda odyssey 2.3 was not missed and sold after 4.5 yr, the estima was fine until also almost 10 yrs old with noisy steering and various issues albiet almost 240k km. Yes, took me a while to get used to jap cars after the merc but Jap had caught up and conti went cheap :( Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DK3410 4th Gear November 27, 2018 Share November 27, 2018 haiz... ownself say, ownself song i presume u are comparing price? lets talk abt 100k sum then. if so, we will be talking abt A3 1.0 and 116. A3 1.0 is an entry lvl chia 116 is also an entry lvl chia the one thing they can appeal is the badge BMW and Audi or any angmoh chia is different league only when we use A5/6, 4/5series, E class. The rest of the range below dont give u the driving experience the brand wanted originally Dun believe, go and test drive urself. Dun believe, go and ask those table wipers and cardboard collectors here in the forum. hahahH Hi Carhorn, It's true. When you pay for half a BMW/ Mercedes Benz/ Audi, you get half a BMW/ Mercedes Benz/ Audi. The CLA I've had the benefit of driving for about 2 years had: Non-existent suspension (you could feel EVERY bump, pothole, even gravel) Poor NVH Poor comfort levels unbecoming of something bearing a 3-pointed swastika An abomination of an ICE that cannot connect to bluetooth properly A boot that looks and loads like a letter slot Poor head and leg room at the rear But it's got that venerated 3-pointed swastika. Chicks love guys who have that 3-pointed swastika. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 27, 2018 Share November 27, 2018 Hi Carhorn, It's true. When you pay for half a BMW/ Mercedes Benz/ Audi, you get half a BMW/ Mercedes Benz/ Audi. The CLA I've had the benefit of driving for about 2 years had: Non-existent suspension (you could feel EVERY bump, pothole, even gravel) Poor NVH Poor comfort levels unbecoming of something bearing a 3-pointed swastika An abomination of an ICE that cannot connect to bluetooth properly A boot that looks and loads like a letter slot Poor head and leg room at the rear But it's got that venerated 3-pointed swastika. Chicks love guys who have that 3-pointed swastika. You say until the CLA merc so bad? but still many people buy le?! Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carhorn 5th Gear November 27, 2018 Share November 27, 2018 (edited) But it's got that venerated 3-pointed swastika. Chicks love guys who have that 3-pointed swastika. Is it? Chicks love my volvo as much as I love their vulvas. We all know they love something pointing at them. But seriously, those chicks who get a high from sitting on the passenger seats of a entry conti know shit about cars. RS3, 135 are not entry level cars hor. You say until the CLA merc so bad? but still many people buy le?! Lol. bro, u may want to test drive and see if 150-160k for CLA180 gives you the merc experience. CLA 45 is different hor of course i know nothing about the glamour of a 3 pointed star. Edited November 27, 2018 by Carhorn 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DK3410 4th Gear November 27, 2018 Share November 27, 2018 (edited) You say until the CLA merc so bad? but still many people buy le?! Lol. If you look at the statistics, the sales of Merc mainly made up by C-class, CLA, GLA, GLC, etc. The sales of S-class (which is their premier flagship) or even the S-class Maybach, have fallen. The fact that many people buy has no bearing on whether a car is good or bad. Just like there are many people who believe the earth is flat. Their numbers have no bearing on whether it's true or otherwise. The bulk of Merc sales these days are the "baby-mercs" which are the lower end of the range. Understandably so, as these are much more affordable than their "premium" range. At the end of the day, it boils down to how much compromise in quality people are willing to accept for the price point, especially if they die-die must have a 3-point swastika in their HDB season parking lot, which, by the way, is something I can totally agree with and relate to. During my secondary school days, some of my classmates enjoyed having that 3-pointed swastika on their bags or as key-chains. Those were the days...... Edited November 27, 2018 by DK3410 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabdat 4th Gear November 27, 2018 Share November 27, 2018 I envy the american car prices.. Hehe.. A base E-class prob USD40k. With many add ons, it wont break your arm or leg too. Prob 10k more for much more features... Anyway america is well still america. Singapore, boh bian, just suck it up. haha. In truth, Mazda 6 offer one of the best value for money now for a mid-big sized sedan. A full 4.8mtrs car, and honestly a better upgrade over the mazda 3 liao. Mazda 6 vs camry vs sonata vs jetta now. Price wise Mazda 6 already blow the rest aside. And do not ever ever use Audi A3 or bmw 1 series to compare Mazda 6.. haha.... Jetta?it's as small as M3 and Altis. you should compare it with passat.priced closely to the Camry and all of em are FWD.as for sonata,Koreans have come along way and it's far more reliable than it used to be.the new Camry is coming pretty soon so we'll see how it stack up against the rest but i believe it'll cost around $140k(currently the run out model 2.0 is selling about $125k) give and take.hence,the M6 is still the obvious choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabdat 4th Gear November 27, 2018 Share November 27, 2018 Is it? Chicks love my volvo as much as I love their vulvas. We all know they love something pointing at them. But seriously, those chicks who get a high from sitting on the passenger seats of a entry conti know shit about cars. RS3, 135 are not entry level cars hor. bro, u may want to test drive and see if 150-160k for CLA180 gives you the merc experience. CLA 45 is different hor of course i know nothing about the glamour of a 3 pointed star. because it's one of their cheapest range and you still get a Mercedes. CNC version is NOT from Germany. it's a front wheel drive so a lot of RWD merc owners call it a "fake" merc. i have test driven this car,very disappointed with the NVH and the legroom space inside the car.not trying to be rude but i think it's a merc for people who cannot afford a "real" merc. think a lot of CLA owners will be very upset if they were to read this.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DK3410 4th Gear November 27, 2018 Share November 27, 2018 because it's one of their cheapest range and you still get a Mercedes. CNC version is NOT from Germany. it's a front wheel drive so a lot of RWD merc owners call it a "fake" merc. i have test driven this car,very disappointed with the NVH and the legroom space inside the car.not trying to be rude but i think it's a merc for people who cannot afford a "real" merc. think a lot of CLA owners will be very upset if they were to read this.... In U.K and Australia the CLA is called a "hairdressor's Mercedes". I have no idea what that means though I figure it cannot be anything good... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged November 27, 2018 Share November 27, 2018 Jetta?it's as small as M3 and Altis. you should compare it with passat.priced closely to the Camry and all of em are FWD.as for sonata,Koreans have come along way and it's far more reliable than it used to be.the new Camry is coming pretty soon so we'll see how it stack up against the rest but i believe it'll cost around $140k(currently the run out model 2.0 is selling about $125k) give and take.hence,the M6 is still the obvious choice.U r rite. Its passat. I typed too fast and prob the name jetta prop out over passat tat time of writing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SZ_ford 5th Gear November 27, 2018 Share November 27, 2018 because it's one of their cheapest range and you still get a Mercedes. CNC version is NOT from Germany. it's a front wheel drive so a lot of RWD merc owners call it a "fake" merc. i have test driven this car,very disappointed with the NVH and the legroom space inside the car.not trying to be rude but i think it's a merc for people who cannot afford a "real" merc. think a lot of CLA owners will be very upset if they were to read this.... it's funny to be disappointed with CLA legroom. It's meant to be a small car anyway can't be go in and expect legroom like a C and E class Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabdat 4th Gear November 27, 2018 Share November 27, 2018 it's funny to be disappointed with CLA legroom. It's meant to be a small car anyway can't be go in and expect legroom like a C and E class agree Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear November 27, 2018 Share November 27, 2018 Is it? Chicks love my volvo as much as I love their vulvas. We all know they love something pointing at them. But seriously, those chicks who get a high from sitting on the passenger seats of a entry conti know shit about cars. RS3, 135 are not entry level cars hor. bro, u may want to test drive and see if 150-160k for CLA180 gives you the merc experience. CLA 45 is different hor of course i know nothing about the glamour of a 3 pointed star. Hi Carhorn, 150-160k for CLA180 now ?? I would shoot for XC40 at 149k with cool thor headlights and SUV happy car. Cheers, Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
tcmean Neutral Newbie November 27, 2018 Share November 27, 2018 Anyone will be collecting car this week? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic November 27, 2018 Share November 27, 2018 Hi Carhorn, 150-160k for CLA180 now ?? I would shoot for XC40 at 149k with cool thor headlights and SUV happy car. Cheers, Richard Mercedes Benz are always overpriced,at first i am looking at the C Class Couple with a budget of $225,000,but only can get a C200 with a pony 4 Cyls Engine,finally settle with a BMW M240i,same price,but with a super 6 Cyls engine. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...