MAZDA 6

Voxy28

If its 190hp and 230 torque, then won't be any faster than the current 2.5l since torque is lower

This is just my assumption, but I've a feeling that the new 2.0 Skyactiv-X might be priced as the top of the range model, unless a new 2.5l skyactiv-X engine comes in as well..

This still needs to see the pricing strategy of the company.

Hi Richard, congratulation on your new Mz6 collection soon, and hope to read about the DIY and modifications that you will performing post collection! Why was there $500 less just before collection - was that COE rebate? Really generous of you to be returning that to the SE!

Hi kykb,

Just a quick update after 1 week of collection:

- fireball ceramic coating at detailingwork .. went for upgraded version at sgd650 compared to previous sgd450 devil's blood which was great on both white qashqai and silver forester ... makes washing so much easy by domestic helper and no staining if rained and not cleaned

- thinkware F770 with non intrusive cabling .. stock one from pre FL used is ridiculous with the lowered rear view mirror that block precious front view

- Dr. Artex's redwind sound barrier .. not as effective since fitted on door instead of usual chassis stock insulation cos installer did not want to cut this holeless one .. examination however also problem cos this chassis insulation is not flat against chassis .. have to seek further method but wife not supportive of driving up to KL for autofoam sound barrier treatment

- swapped rim to silver one with neighbour preFl mazda 6 .. he bought the last 3 available but quite a different car in my opinion both internally and noise insulation

- changed to michelin primacy 4 ST from Thailand .. much much quieter and recommended although threading pattern looks more grippy and expectedly louder than priamcy 3 ST but marketed as 0.3db quieter

- installed black rubber coil floor mat with anti slip back surface and 1 pc rear from cypress at usual good quality and price of 90

Some trimming order from aliexpress and ebay pending receipt but hard to get or know if it fits this FL mazda 6 especially since tiong is still pre FL versions.

But frankly nothing much else to do with this executive version except planned pivot ethrottle .. it is basically detuned in my opinion with retarded throttle response experience but gives extraordinatory 7.5l/100km for a 2.0 NA car vs my 12l/100km forester fxt on same route and driving style.

Ended with sgd388 angpower to SE instead cos more auspicous.

Cheers.

Richard

In the end, the consumers wan it but numbers show that they arent selling that many 2.5L.. much less a 2.5T. Many consumers say want this but in the end nobody want to buy.. say high road tax, high fc.

Same case for 24hrs tampines hub kopitiam. Hahaha.

Our miw say consumers want 24hrs but where is the crowd?

In the end, the consumers wan it but numbers show that they arent selling that many 2.5L.. much less a 2.5T. Many consumers say want this but in the end nobody want to buy.. say high road tax, high fc.

Same case for 24hrs tampines hub kopitiam. Hahaha.

Our miw say consumers want 24hrs but where is the crowd?

agree with u,

if 2.5l is now $141k, 2.5l TC will probably be $150-155k, then some will feel that's jaguar XE, or audi a4 pricing

Coupled with higher running cost, hard to some buyers

agree with u,

if 2.5l is now $141k, 2.5l TC will probably be $150-155k, then some will feel that's jaguar XE, or audi a4 pricing

Coupled with higher running cost, hard to some buyers

Agree.

Given that SG is small and we're spending a lot of time di**ing around in traffic, a large cc turbo engine is for those with ample money to burn only.

You see Stinger GT (3.3L Bi-turbo V6) and Audi R8 (5.2L V10) stuck in traffic together with you, Suddenly you feel that you're no different from them anymore...

Agree.

Given that SG is small and we're spending a lot of time di**ing around in traffic, a large cc turbo engine is for those with ample money to burn only.

You see Stinger GT (3.3L Bi-turbo V6) and Audi R8 (5.2L V10) stuck in traffic together with you, Suddenly you feel that you're no different from them anymore...

Hi DK,

2.0 turbo with about 350Nm like my forester xt, glc250 etc. is just nice ... comfy no stress engine performance and safety albeit not 7.5l/100km but 7.5km/l.

Cheers.

Richard

Hi DK,

2.0 turbo with about 350Nm like my forester xt, glc250 etc. is just nice ... comfy no stress engine performance and safety albeit not 7.5l/100km but 7.5km/l.

Cheers.

Richard

I think the keyword in this regard is "effortless".

When the engine is sufficiently powerful at lower revs, the pick-up is nice and smooth and not noisy i.e effortless.

In fact, because you don't need to rev so hard to get ahead, you actually have better fuel economy.

That was what made me choose the 2.5 over the 2.0.

It's just another silly tax providing more money to pay million dollars salaries.

Hi Dach,

Actually hor ... 2400 or 0.3% of 800k tax payers earns more than $1.5kk/yr in 2017.

You can go to this site to check out percentile of income of the total number of 800k tax payers:

https://www.salary.sg/2017/compare-your-annual-income-2017/

Not sure how many but do not believe there are much more than 100 that pay $1.5kk salary in govt services ... the rest of 2300 of them are parking their lambo and silver shadows at marina bay office carparks or their bukit timah houses.

Yes, it surprises me also that singaporeans earn that kind of $ ... to make it to top 5% or 40000 earners, you need to make $270k as an individual and not household income.

Cheers.

Richard

For us here in Singapore, have to depend on whether TEK is bringing it in wor...

They have yet to bring in the Mazda 6 2.5L Turbo despite it being available in just about every other country.

Even if they do bring it in, they will strip out many features from it, claiming that the feature "will seldom be used in local context".

In Singapore where VES, road tax, COE, high petrol prices drive up the cost of car ownership exponentially, most Singaporeans will opt to purchase a car with a smaller, more fuel-efficient engine, to cut expenditure on road tax and petrol.

A good example is the Mazda 3. You can hardly find the 1.5L engine in other territories, and the Mazda 3 in those territories come in 2.0L and 2.5L flavours. The 2.5L Mazda 3 is a genuine gem to drive, so I've read.

Then you better dun buy Mazda as you already so unhappy with the agent

Unhappiness with the dealer's sales practices is one thing, liking the car is another.

In any case, the car market in SG is quite different from many other territories (with VES, COE, etc etc) to jack up the cost of car ownership, and the COE means unless we pay again, the car has to be off the road.

So it's a given that the way sales are done is different as well. Where the dealer is allowed to get away with stripping stuff just because it has a monopoly on that particular car brand.

Edited by DK3410

Unhappiness with the dealer's sales practices is one thing, liking the car is another.

In any case, the car market in SG is quite different from many other territories (with VES, COE, etc etc) to jack up the cost of car ownership, and the COE means unless we pay again, the car has to be off the road.

So it's a given that the way sales are done is different as well. Where the dealer is allowed to get away with stripping stuff just because it has a monopoly on that particular car brand.

Why not give details of the sales tatics they use?

Sales tactics as in:

Exclusion of certain features that are available in similar/ same models in other territories e.g the Mazda Radar Cruise Control, other radar-controlled features such as smart braking at highway speeds.

That's the main gripe I have, otherwise, all is good.

In my previous post, I had already mentioned that the 2.5 Luxury model here is like the Signature model available overseas, minus the following:

1) The turbo engine, duh

2) Radar-controlled features

3) Heated steering wheels (but we don't need that here)

4) Heated seats front and back (we don't need that here either)

Anyone can PM to share price of 2.0 executive? Thanks in advance.

Hahahaha bro, since it is a slow sat morning for me, let me have a pop since there is quite a few in other threads doing this to. Hahahahahah

The best is

A. Give TEK a call and inquiry. Somewhat accurate pricing. Less than 2 min

B. Go down personally and ask the SE. Maybe u get to be greeted by the chioest milf at the reception counter. Perhaps u can get to test drive the car. Most accurate pricing plus nterest rates, freebies, etc. About 1 hour

C. Go to SGcarmart new car section. Least accurate as mods may not update pricing as fast as the ADs raise their prices but u will hv the specs. Abt 30 sec of ur life

I am an old and confused d1ckhead here but the best option is to check out for urself as this is not a small sum even by those 'self proclaimed pay full cash' members here.

I mean, it is faster for u to go down at 10am for the most accurate answer rather than relying old farts like me to keep u informed.

Some SE give bestest price, some cb SE give the official SRP. So no one here can give u an accurate price. But u may say u dun want an accurate price, just an indicative, then go to SGcarmart new car section.

Ok, old man here kpkb enough to bleed ur ears, so here it goes.

NEW M6 2.0 std -fr $99800

NEW M6 2.0 EXE - fr $108800

NEW M6 2.5 Pre - fr $131800

So u may ask, am I a SE? Just make sure u go down to AD, and leave ur hp no behind. Every father mother SE who needs sales will drop u a text whenever there is a change in price.

You are welcome.

Been shopping around for cars, the different pricing from different SE seems to b common among dealers. Probably due to the SE expected commission or sales quota to meet.

If you are recommended by your fren, it will definitely to be a better deal as you already have a past reference to quote.

As for the car, I have tried out the 2L. Specs and features were good but sadly, the insulation was pretty poor and the engine was too noisy. Don't know if the rest feels the same with me?