Hyundai8818 3rd Gear September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 Was thinking whether to go the route of getting used Picnic for the interim, after hearing such a suggestion in the other thread, but after last week (my wish 8.5 yr only 105k mileage), am worried about getting a car that is beginning to give lots of problems… and come to think of it, in this market, if a car is still decent and working well, chances are that owners may not want to sell, right? So that Plan B also suddenly don't look v feasible. Really sian... if your car still got 1.5yrs to drive, Still worth to repair even if it cost 2K, dun get a 2 years left car when u dunno the history and likely cost more in terms of depreciation. for 2K, you get problem free for 1.5 yrs Problem is if you dun repair, some problem comes again when your car is less then 1yrs old and you feel the pinch and also find it silly to repair it since it have only less then a yr to drive. my old car when it was less then 1 yr left, everything I go to workshop, they will say this need to change etc... I ask back my mechanic, " eh tong buay" till the end, if he says cannot safety reason, LL change the parts lor. then I tong and tong, until buay tong and scrap it ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
starsecure1 Neutral Newbie September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 Quite hard for ADs not to bring in "fancy" cars for the whole year... Why not consider the 2nd hand replacement? The "COE dropping soon" is a rumour and perhaps are let go by the ADs and dealers themselves... Any plan B in case the COE doesn't drop? I am not well verse with car. Hence, prefer brand new car instead and carry out proper mainteance to ensure it runs smoothly till 10 years ceo expires. U shld believe in dd and supply theory. When the number of COE quota goes up, the COE price would go down and lead to drop new car price. It would happen next year or year after next. No point looking back and just enjoy your car when you get it... Perhaps can form a BOC (Biante Owners' Club) in the future... Agreed. I saw a biante parking at roadside yesterday. Stopped my car to admire it before driving off................. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 I am not well verse with car. Hence, prefer brand new car instead and carry out proper mainteance to ensure it runs smoothly till 10 years ceo expires. U shld believe in dd and supply theory. When the number of COE quota goes up, the COE price would go down and lead to drop new car price. It would happen next year or year after next. Yes the demand for cars in Singapore is always high so any news of COE quotas going up will spark an even higher demand... Unless it's those freakish $2 COE bids... I am not well verse with car. Hence, prefer brand new car instead and carry out proper mainteance to ensure it runs smoothly till 10 years ceo expires. U shld believe in dd and supply theory. When the number of COE quota goes up, the COE price would go down and lead to drop new car price. It would happen next year or year after next. Agreed. I saw a biante parking at roadside yesterday. Stopped my car to admire it before driving off................. You are going to get it soon liao so no need to admire too much... After you get it you can take a stool and sit in the carpark to admire at your own car all day long... When are you expected to get your car since the COE is secured? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 Agreed that the Touran is a nice car and probably I'll aim for it if I had a kid less... So the car was undriveable after it happened? The car cannot start and gear indicator stuck and flashing. But not to worry, just call the hotline on the sticker pasted on the windshield. Nowadays the turnaround time in workshop would be 2 to 3 days. In the past, this happen only once a year thereabout, and would have been improved now by latest new MU (gearbox). What is more annoying is the juddering that is part of the DSG design that cause the engine to vibrate when car starting to move off, like bad biting-point engagement for manual grearbox. So would need to change clutch plate once in a while, annually?, depend on usage. The above may sound terrible, but really not that bad if you consider the overall experience - very functional and powerful and easy to park. Summary would be that the car would stall not more than once per year due to MU issues, and need to replace clutch plate to get rid of juddering like yearly but it would not stall the car. Before MU go up lorry to stall the car, there would be some minor symptoms. You could then send the car to workshop in morning, and if there is stock, you could collect the car in the same evening. Not every VW is like what Keith has, no worry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 The car cannot start and gear indicator stuck and flashing. But not to worry, just call the hotline on the sticker pasted on the windshield. Nowadays the turnaround time in workshop would be 2 to 3 days. In the past, this happen only once a year thereabout, and would have been improved now by latest new MU (gearbox). What is more annoying is the juddering that is part of the DSG design that cause the engine to vibrate when car starting to move off, like bad biting-point engagement for manual grearbox. So would need to change clutch plate once in a while, annually?, depend on usage. The above may sound terrible, but really not that bad if you consider the overall experience - very functional and powerful and easy to park. Summary would be that the car would stall not more than once per year due to MU issues, and need to replace clutch plate to get rid of juddering like yearly but it would not stall the car. Before MU go up lorry to stall the car, there would be some minor symptoms. You could then send the car to workshop in morning, and if there is stock, you could collect the car in the same evening. Not every VW is like what Keith has, no worry. informative post. i can only imagine if that annual failure happens somewhere in boleh & u have to pay for tow charges all the way back plus arrange separate transport back for whole family... VW is stupid as they shld just install a cheap 5spd auto n most problems solved.. y they die die must keep putting a faulty gearbox? terrible corporate decision imo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 The car cannot start and gear indicator stuck and flashing. But not to worry, just call the hotline on the sticker pasted on the windshield. Nowadays the turnaround time in workshop would be 2 to 3 days. In the past, this happen only once a year thereabout, and would have been improved now by latest new MU (gearbox). What is more annoying is the juddering that is part of the DSG design that cause the engine to vibrate when car starting to move off, like bad biting-point engagement for manual grearbox. So would need to change clutch plate once in a while, annually?, depend on usage. The above may sound terrible, but really not that bad if you consider the overall experience - very functional and powerful and easy to park. Summary would be that the car would stall not more than once per year due to MU issues, and need to replace clutch plate to get rid of juddering like yearly but it would not stall the car. Before MU go up lorry to stall the car, there would be some minor symptoms. You could then send the car to workshop in morning, and if there is stock, you could collect the car in the same evening. Not every VW is like what Keith has, no worry. The one that Keith is quite extreme... All the way to CASE but I doubt it has any effect on the outcome... Down time 2 - 3 days nowadays so previously it was much longer? So you'll be without a car because I doubt they have that many cortesy cars to go around... The impression I have is VW sells more cars than it can handle... Got good and bad points to all cars... At least you enjoyed driving it while it worked... informative post. i can only imagine if that annual failure happens somewhere in boleh & u have to pay for tow charges all the way back plus arrange separate transport back for whole family... VW is stupid as they shld just install a cheap 5spd auto n most problems solved.. y they die die must keep putting a faulty gearbox? terrible corporate decision imo Many of the lower end models are still with the problematic 7 speed DSG... Don't think they can just change the transmission choice just like that... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 (edited) Many of the lower end models are still with the problematic 7 speed DSG... Don't think they can just change the transmission choice just like that... i guess so... the MK5 GTIs dont have as much as issues as the newer models... looks like batch issues... my fren's MK5 still going strong ok no more OT from me.. Edited September 8, 2014 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 Biante & Ody are the 2 new MPVs on the road lately that are quite good looking... But again price is still ridiculously out of reach for me!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 i guess so... the MK5 GTIs dont have as much as issues as the newer models... looks like batch issues... my fren's MK5 still going strong ok no more OT from me.. Yah we better stop talking about DSG transmissions... Biante & Ody are the 2 new MPVs on the road lately that are quite good looking... But again price is still ridiculously out of reach for me!! The Ody (PI) is way off... The Kah Motors version is worse... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 Heavy investment buying perhaps the most desired MPV on the market (at least for me)... Found myself always looking out for the Sharan and peeking inside to see... Saw a few at Ikea Tampines... Very nice plush interior... My wife say later the owner call police... please buy one and join me @Sabian too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 Yah we better stop talking about DSG transmissions... The Ody (PI) is way off... The Kah Motors version is worse... if KM ever brings in the new stepwagon, then biante will have serious competitor http://www.honda.co.jp/STEPWGN/?from=styling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 please buy one and join me @Sabian too See if Singapore Pools is nice to me today and thursday lor... if KM ever brings in the new stepwagon, then biante will have serious competitor http://www.honda.co.jp/STEPWGN/?from=styling The current situation you see ADs are not bring in as many models as before... For current stock already shipped here so boh pian... For other models like the Honda Jade (Stream replacement) and Stepwagon (Mid-sized MPV) I think will be on hold till the market gets better... The Stepwagon would be a fierce competitor to the Biante but the former was only brought in by the importers... The importers now also not bring in the Stepwagon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 That's very true... I won't want to get a interim car if I were you unless really really boh pian... Imagine get liao and you end up with massive repair costs for a car with only less than 2 years to go... Heart pain when the money you spent on repairs could have gone towards the deposit or even monthly payment for the new car... which is why it makes sense to renew COE if your PARF isn't too high and your car is till in relatively good condition. in the end your losses will be limited to the PARF and the yearly depreciation of the COE. Buying another used left 2-3years car you are subjected to a whole slew of repairs to keep it moving, if you are unlucky. and likely those selling such cars might have faced some issues already and waiting for the next sucker to buy it and suffer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 informative post. i can only imagine if that annual failure happens somewhere in boleh & u have to pay for tow charges all the way back plus arrange separate transport back for whole family... VW is stupid as they shld just install a cheap 5spd auto n most problems solved.. y they die die must keep putting a faulty gearbox? terrible corporate decision imo That is why VW car owners always worry about taking road trips up north. A few are brave but not the majority. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 The one that Keith is quite extreme... All the way to CASE but I doubt it has any effect on the outcome... Down time 2 - 3 days nowadays so previously it was much longer? So you'll be without a car because I doubt they have that many cortesy cars to go around... The impression I have is VW sells more cars than it can handle... Got good and bad points to all cars... At least you enjoyed driving it while it worked... Many of the lower end models are still with the problematic 7 speed DSG... Don't think they can just change the transmission choice just like that... When the problem started to surface about 2009, stalled cars swarmed the service bays in the workshop and cars were in workshop for weeks with both parties without any clues or solutions. That should be the dark ages for VW car owners. A lot of them are still bitter about it, from what I can gather from forums. But over time, VW HQ managed to trace the fault and initiated a mass recall to change MU of affected cars. So nowadays the workshop would have spare MUs (gearbox parts) for replacement, and downtime could be as short as a day. So if you buy VW nowadays, provided you do not get a sour lemon, things are pretty manageable now. Booking for appointment can also be done within a few weeks, which is better than some other ADs. 2 years back, servicing must be booked 2 months ahead haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 See if Singapore Pools is nice to me today and thursday lor... you another full cash table wiper? for me, i simply sell 1 kidney and my soul to the bank depreciation is not very much higher than your Mz5 since you can tahan your current car dep, the price shouldn't be a big concern? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 which is why it makes sense to renew COE if your PARF isn't too high and your car is till in relatively good condition. in the end your losses will be limited to the PARF and the yearly depreciation of the COE. Buying another used left 2-3years car you are subjected to a whole slew of repairs to keep it moving, if you are unlucky. and likely those selling such cars might have faced some issues already and waiting for the next sucker to buy it and suffer. There are some who are caught in between who want to wait it out for the COE to fall but the remaning "shelf life" on their COE doesn't allow them to do so... These group of people will bite the bullet and by an interim car to tide over... Heng sway lor... I won't generalise that all these cars are very jialat... I'm sure there will be a few that may last a few more years without any problems... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged September 8, 2014 Share September 8, 2014 so haf u decided? Not yet. My COE expires in 4 years. I am monitoring now bec I may not buy new. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...