Tjkbeluga 5th Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 306 Bedok Road. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 While there are perceived benefits of indulging in coffee, dont forget that one can get addicted to it, and then if you dont drink, you will feel yearning, even lethargic and like missing something, as if engine havent warm up yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spkentchai Neutral Newbie October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 try vietnam coffee...expresso style Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 looking for local coffee...not gourmet coffee... local coffee are junk actually. its 50% bean and the other half corn and fried with sugar and margarine. Take 100% robusta and arabica. less than 30 buck/kg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 local coffee are junk actually. its 50% bean and the other half corn and fried with sugar and margarine. Take 100% robusta and arabica. less than 30 buck/kg different type of coffee and I don't think you can classify it as ''junk''....I do take gourmet coffee but traditional coffee is also part of our culture and never go away... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rockaphonics 2nd Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 dont drink too much coffee. I used to drink around 5 cups a day since i work late. Then after a while i kena chest pain tight and breathing problem. I tot it was asthma, but in the end its gerd. Heartburn from caffine overdose. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2012 Neutral Newbie October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 While there are perceived benefits of indulging in coffee, dont forget that one can get addicted to it, and then if you dont drink, you will feel yearning, even lethargic and like missing something, as if engine havent warm up yet. Can the word coffee be replaced with sex in your sentences? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2012 Neutral Newbie October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 different type of coffee and I don't think you can classify it as ''junk''....I do take gourmet coffee but traditional coffee is also part of our culture and never go away... OMG, I have been drinking junk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 Anyone have a good place to buy local coffee powder? I like to make it at home but so far...can't find a good supply for coffee powder....I was think Malaysia, Indonesia coffee powder can get in market and etc but the taste is not up my preferrence....any recommendation? Go to Giant hypermarket. There are lots of coffee beans for you to choose and match. You can get your favourite taste from there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 local coffee are junk actually. its 50% bean and the other half corn and fried with sugar and margarine. Take 100% robusta and arabica. less than 30 buck/kg Margarine = trans fat Next time must look for coffee with zero trans fat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 Margarine = trans fat Next time must look for coffee with zero trans fat. + sugar and corn to roast it to bring the cost down... To me these tradition kopi is still junk to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 + sugar and corn to roast it to bring the cost down... To me these tradition kopi is still junk to me. That's true. Kopi tiam kopi is about low cost and high margin. So don't expect the best coffee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 + sugar and corn to roast it to bring the cost down... To me these tradition kopi is still junk to me. Talk nonsense lah! If you really take a look at the local coffee beans itself, it is still a whole bean and nothing else. Yes, they may use corn and margerine to roast it, but that's call 50% of junk? I'd say it's negligible..... People have been drinking such coffee for so many generations. Want to talk about unhealthiness, then talk about the artificial creamers are mostly palm oil and olien... THAT I'd say is unhealthy.... Can't stand people who are affluent now tend to look down on old simple food that has been around for generations.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 That's true. Kopi tiam kopi is about low cost and high margin. So don't expect the best coffee. Yes, those it coffee shops I can't guarantee it's pure. but local coffee, if you buy from the whole bean and grind it is still fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 Yes, those it coffee shops I can't guarantee it's pure. but local coffee, if you buy from the whole bean and grind it is still fine. Long time ago, I spent some time in my uncle's provision shop. He would roast and ground the powder for customers. That's pure beans, yes. And beans are priced accordingly to quality. But nowadays, not many does that, especially kopitiam. There just buy bulk by the tins, most likely the cheapest price they can get. As long as customers are still ordering kopi from them, then it must be ok. If anyone is looking to buy those tins, I think you should looking at industrial parks processing food. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 Talk nonsense lah! If you really take a look at the local coffee beans itself, it is still a whole bean and nothing else. Yes, they may use corn and margerine to roast it, but that's call 50% of junk? I'd say it's negligible..... People have been drinking such coffee for so many generations. Want to talk about unhealthiness, then talk about the artificial creamers are mostly palm oil and olien... THAT I'd say is unhealthy.... Can't stand people who are affluent now tend to look down on old simple food that has been around for generations.... That goes to show you know nuts about kopi beans. Everything is roasted black and sticky and you can't tell what is what. Still can say it's whole beans? To me it's junk but that don't mean I look down on it. Don't presume Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 looking for local coffee...not gourmet coffee... stirling road i think one of the blocks has a shop selling coffee powder pipit road blk 89 hawker ctr has a stall selling as well... its facing those foodstalls Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 (edited) That goes to show you know nuts about kopi beans. Everything is roasted black and sticky and you can't tell what is what. Still can say it's whole beans? To me it's junk but that don't mean I look down on it. Don't presume Unhealthy, but I don't agree you should call it junk for a local and traditional F&B which is around for decades. If like that means junk, then a lot of our local food such as Char Kway Teow, Chay Tow Kuay, Laksa is basically junk. Then what can you eat? I have had overseas business associates who told me they find our local coffee very special and unique when they tasted it for the first time. Edited October 24, 2012 by Damienic ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...