Is this pay high/average/low?

Nutsack

$3.9K is not high for 1 year's work experience???

Hell... I've engineers (degree but not masters) here working for coming to 10 years and not even $3.9K yet.

Unless its a doctrate.... masters don't mean much.... at most $100 to $200 more for entry level manufacturing related engineering work.

I think 4k for little (I would classify that as no experience) experience is a very good offer. I would not even consider him for $3K, Masters with 1st class honours or not. Good results just show the candidate is good at learning and tackling examinations, it does not translate to real world performance. Show me the real world experience then I will promote him with good pay increment.

I think the youngsters nowadays are just spoiled and think that just because they have a Masters or PHD somewhere and expect a cushy job with high pay with little or no experience. I have always been looking to hire local Singaporeans but more often than not, they are unrealistic with their pay expectations and behave like we owe them a living. That is precisely why we have so many FTs around. We should all stop complaining about FTs taking our jobs and start digging in and start doing some real work.

Okok.

I'll pass the msg to him

And tell him to take the offer

in my experience (im in the accounts and finance industry) $3.9k for a 1 yr experience is reasonable, i read that its from a govt/public sector?

if he is as good as he is and i mean both his degree and his masters are from reputable universities. he can actually much more in the banking industry. assuming he is using more on his econs than his marketing. i know of analyst who is taking $5.8k based on 1.5years experience. first job paid her $3.8k starting. 2nd class upper NUS finance/econs(i think) Grad.

$3.9K is not high for 1 year's work experience???

Hell... I've engineers (degree but not masters) here working for coming to 10 years and not even $3.9K yet.

Unless its a doctrate.... masters don't mean much.... at most $100 to $200 more for entry level manufacturing related engineering work.

Engineer worked for 10 yrs with a degree, pay still not yet reached $3.9K? [confused] Wonder it is the norm for every engineer or not? Even i know some people who is working as supervisor, worked for 10 yrs and not a diploma or degree holder, their basic pay even reached about $3.3K.

these are likely ppl working at local SME who dont dare to change job..

seen alot like that one. their worth is more than what they think they are. but too bad, the fear of change bind them to their SME

these are likely ppl working at local SME who dont dare to change job..

seen alot like that one. their worth is more than what they think they are. but too bad, the fear of change bind them to their SME

If every capable and experienced employee leaves SMEs, how can SMEs survive....?

Wa lao what gahmen agency is this? 2 years ago I was offered a stat board position...not a new area but something I have experience in..only about same pay as your cousin but with 9 years experience!!?#!? :angry:

Think I must get into civil service liao..wahaha

Before u say anything, this isn't me. It's a cousin of mine who asked me the same qns (he got a few offers) and is considering one.

The pay he's offered is: $3900

My cousin's bkgrd:

- Good AU Bachelors and Masters in Marketing and Economics, respectively. Not distance learning.

- Pretty good results: Average 3.5/4 GPA, but no honors cos AU deg no straight to honors.

- Less than 1 year working experience

Job is in public sector. One grade above entry level. But I can't rem wat grade exactly he told me. I can ask him again if it's impt for u to make judgement.

Is this considered a good or bad offer judging from what he has to offer the org?

I told him it shld be avg, but am unsure cos I'm doing business hence not familiar with wage expectations. So told him I'm not 100% certain. What do u guys think?

it's not the starting pay but where it goes from there, that's more important

Ten (10) years and not $3.9k yet?? Local engineers or 3rd world engineers with their home degree?

It is possible. My previous colleauge at the age 31 with 1st class honor EEE degree from NTU didn't even manage to hit 4k in the company since graduate working there. BTW, the company is not a SMC. It is a US MNC with more than 30k of employee worldwide.

so is it a case of study dead book (direct hokkien translation)

My cousin's bkgrd:

- Good AU Bachelors and Masters in Marketing and Economics, respectively. Not distance learning.

- Pretty good results: Average 3.5/4 GPA, but no honors cos AU deg no straight to honors.

And he cannot make such a simple decision for himself? $3,900 is overpaying him.

I say he grab it with both hands. -_-

No la. Wah kao he's only asking for opinion when I met him yesterday over coffee. He was just asking for my opinion, and I said I can ask on forums lor. And he said sure. And that was it.

I just called him telling him most ppl think it's reasonable, some even think it's high. It's a FYI thing only. I'm sure he is weighing his options. He has a few more offers in the range, but he said money isn't everything.

Anyway, I talked a little more to him, and he mentioned that he was also surprised by the two offers (one from private, the other from public sector) that offered close to 4k.

Cos he never thought he could demand that much. But he said could be because for both these offers he went through several stages and did well in quite a few written, numeric tests and interviews - competing against other candidates. So now he is weighing two offers with about same salary package but different sector and different job scope. I just thought the info from other ppl (here) may be of interest to him. I'm a caring cousin. :) Just wanted the best for him.

That's all. Thanks so much guys for your input guys. Cos I've been self-employed for quite some years already, hence it's hard for me to tell cos cos I don't pay myself anything :p

My cousin's bkgrd:

And he cannot make such a simple decision for himself? $3,900 is overpaying him.

I say he grab it with both hands. -_-

Edited by Nutsack