CNA poll: 81 percent will not fly Singapore flag

Johorat

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/polls/archi...anid=1311762430

In an ongoing poll conducted by Channel News Asia, 81 percent of the respondents indicated that they will not fly the Singapore flag during the National Day celebrations:

The autocratic PAP regime has launched a propaganda blitz via the state media and its grassroots organizations on the ground to

I'm glad to be part of the 19%! They don't care about us singaporeans, only the FT so what's the point.

do you mean that you will be glad to be the part of the 81% not hanging flag?

not 19%....or i'm reading something wrong here? [:p]

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/polls/archi...anid=1311762430

In an ongoing poll conducted by Channel News Asia, 81 percent of the respondents indicated that they will not fly the Singapore flag during the National Day celebrations:

The autocratic PAP regime has launched a propaganda blitz via the state media and its grassroots organizations on the ground to ‘encourage’ Singaporeans to fly the Singapore flag.

With only a week to go before 9 August, few flags are seen on public display in the HDB heartlands nor on the tops of cars in contrast to our neighbor across the Causeway whose National Day is on 31 August.

In fact, the only signs of ‘celebration’ observed are the many banners and billboards of its ’smiling’ MPs put up by the PAP regime all over the place to remind Singaporeans of its ‘omnipresence’.

Grassroots organizations are so desperate to please their political masters that they even resorted to hiring Bangladeshi workers to hang the Singapore flags along the common corridors and staircases of flags in the vicinity of MRT stations and shopping centers so that they won’t appear too ‘empty’.

46 years after Singapore was booted out of Malaysia, there is really nothing for native Singaporeans to ‘celebrate’. After all, Singapore is only a city and NOT a country, according to PAP Law Minister Shanmugan.

With the flood-gates opened wider after the May election, Singaporeans will soon become a minority in their own country in a few years’ time and perhaps in the not too distant future, we will be ‘celebrating’ National Day on 1st October instead.

[:)]

This thread is so misleading leh. In the link the question or title to the poll is

The public has been invited to display the Singapore flag during the National Day celebrations. How would you fly the flag?

And where's the link to the above article? Or is it written by TS?

"Grassroots organizations are so desperate to please their political masters....."???!!! Whoever in CNA writes like that is asking for trouble.

This thread is BS.

I'm glad to be part of the 19%! They don't care about us singaporeans, only the FT so what's the point.

Had been the 19% for the past 10 years liao...this year no different........ maybe we can find other national flag..china, india, banglah and blan blah blah....

But 60.1% endorse MIW.

81-60.1%= about 20% not happy but endorse anyway?

Hmm.

they endorse because of selfishness......scare their own flat's value drop

pay $ to buy flag... hang it out for fear that i hang it the wrong way, have to make sure color isnt faded due to weather..... too stressful la [rolleyes]

u see...wayang again.....hang for others just for show......usual doings of ..P&P

yah.. somemore my area newly taken over by pee eh pee one..

just on sun, they had a pre-national day celebration for the residents here..

200 tables, $20 per pax, 10 course dinner with stage performance..

Last year some patriotic baxtards came in around this time and fark ppl who sprout anti-Pap or anti patriotic posts...

This year...see who fark who.. :D