Wong Can't Sing

Piyopico

SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has appointed Mr Wong Kan Seng as special advisor for economic co-operation.

A statement from the Prime Minister's Office said Mr Wong will advise the prime minister on Singapore's economic co-operation programmes with China and other Asian countries.

Mr Wong has also been appointed chairman of Singbridge International Singapore Private Limited.

This was announced by Singbridge, a company wholly owned by Temasek Holdings which invests in and manages integrated projects in cities such as Guangzhou, Tianjin, Suzhou and Bangalore.

Singbridge projects include the Guangzhou Knowledge City project, the Suzhou Industrial Park, Tianjin Eco-City and Bangalore International IT Park.

Mr Wong takes over as chairman from Mr Lim Chee Onn, who was chairman of Singbridge since it was started in 2009.

From October 1, Mr Lim will be senior international advisor to Singbridge.

- CNA/cc

Heh heh heh.............

Give up!

[bigcry]

New slogan for the government career website - "Even if you failed in many areas, we will find a place for you"

Errrrrh........ Dun think it's new.

So Ah Seng is now secured a job liao...finally.

What about Ah Lim or Ah Mah?

Really really good to be a minister- step down still got good state jobs waiting for you...

IMO, so can i say that little dragon is acting against the will of singapore citizen ! [:(]

Fact : Step down as minister due to the negative "ground" sentiment toward can't sing.

Fact : Reinstate him into a post under the Temasak urmbella.

[confused]

Some one agrees that you should run a country like a business.

So like a business, you can create any post you want for your friend.

Nobody is stopping you.

Really dint know what to say although I'm expecting something like this will happen... this remind me of durai.... wonder has he completed his golden toilet collection with a toilet bowl made from pure 999 gold?

Some one agrees that you should run a country like a business.

So like a business, you can create any post you want for your friend.

Nobody is stopping you.

This is exactly how they run GIC and Temasek Holding. Take a look at the following article. The points made by the professor from MIT who had criticized Singapore 's state-linked enterprise are very true.

Subject: MIT Prof Huang Yasheng & his views on GIC & Temasek

Beijing-born Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) political economist Professor Huang Yasheng had criticized Singapore 's state-linked enterprise model dominated by its two giant sovereign wealth funds GIC and Temasek Holdings as a sure-fire way to stifle the economy in the long run.

In a recent speech made at the Civil Service College , Prof Huang urged Singapore to rethink the Temasek model and warns that Singapore 's state management model has milked this system for all it is worth.

The private sector is the best way to grow the economy. It has the most productive, most innovative and entrepreneurial culture. The state-owned enterprise system doesn't give you that. You are already hitting the wall. Retaining this strategy could mean sacrificing future growth that is possible only through a bigger, more dynamic private sector, he said.

Prof Huang felt that governments should not get involved in venture financing as they are using taxpayers' monies and questions how the government can defend its decisions to invest in failing individuals and projects.

Nine out of 10 investment projects fail. Does the government have such a high tolerance for risk? It's taxpayers' money, right? I don't think, politically, it's legitimate for the government to keep investing in failing individuals and failing projects. How do you defend these decisions?, he asked.

Temasek Holdings is led by the wife of Singapore 's prime minister Ho Ching. It had lost billions of dollars in failed overseas investments such as Thailand 's Shin Corp,

Australia's ABC learning, and U.S's Merrill Lynch.

Ho Ching is an engineer by training.

GIC has been headed by Lee Kuan Yew since its inception in 1981, a lawyer by profession who has never worked in the financial industry before.

Prof Huang opined that Singapore should expand its private sector in order to compete with China and India :

Maybe a better way is for the government to fund more basic research and then allow universities, private equity firms, venture capital

firms and rich individuals to take care of the rest. That is because even when the state sector is well managed, it is not as innovative as the private sector, he says. From a technological development point of view, you need a bigger private sector to compete, to come up with new products,

processes and technologies, to better compete with India and China .

Under Singapore 's state-model enterprise, civil servants are often placed in leadership positions in its major state-linked companies and research agencies. For example, the current head of A*STAR is Lim Chuan Poh, a former Chief of Army with no prior experience in the private sector.

Prof Huang felt that creative thinking is often in short supply with civil servants leading the charge due to the culture they are immersed in:

Civil service culture is about discipline. It's about execution. It's about efficiency. Entrepreneurial culture is about challenging the authorities, questioning the existing ways of doing businesses, moving away from the routines and norms. It's about theunconventional, rebellious and diverse. These values are almost polar opposites.

He also criticized Singapore 's education system for not producing diversity in ideas and unconventional ways of solving problems and warns that Singapore risks going down in history as an economic has-been if it fails to exploit the potential of its private sector.

Prof Huang had hit the nail on the right spot about the macroeconomic problems plaguing Singapore

IMO, so can i say that little dragon is acting against the will of singapore citizen ! [:(]

Fact : Step down as minister due to the negative "ground" sentiment toward can't sing.

Fact : Reinstate him into a post under the Temasak urmbella.

[confused]

C'mon guys he is relieved of his DPM duties because he is underperforming but that is a Minister job.

This is a Chairman job... its different. He may be very well suited for this job of making nice speeches to the Ah Tiongs, cutting ribbons and gracing ceremonies. You all cannot mix the job of DPM and Chairman please.

Give him a break lah he needs to work too. I think pay is better than DPM, so good for him.

Can't say about Horse and Lemon as they are not related.