Mini Cooper queries

Lucaswh

Another 2 years.....maybe change mine to a JCW F56 ....if I can wean the family off the practicality of an SUV/Station wagon....

Now my CO simply refuse to exchange her F55 Cooper S with me ..... -_-

Another 2 years.....maybe change mine to a JCW F56 ....if I can wean the family off the practicality of an SUV/Station wagon....

my wife owned a f55 S before she traded in for her clubman S.

a S is good enough for our daily use and yet can have some fun if you feel like pushing it a little more.

Exos sibeh steam... Lift off throttle macham machine gun... Go inside mce tunnel kpkb...

I was pondering this morning also if I had to choose an S or a Jcw which wld I pick. In the end, I think for those who like to mod, perhaps an S might be better. But if you want your car complete, then the JCW.

Unless of cos u got alot money and buy jcw to mod also.

Edited by Mockngbrd

How's the clubman JCW you test drove? Maybe a compromise will be to get that for just a little more practicality when having 2 cooper in the family.

my wife owned a f55 S before she traded in for her clubman S.

a S is good enough for our daily use and yet can have some fun if you feel like pushing it a little more.

Edited by Vratenza

my wife owned a f55 S before she traded in for her clubman S.

Cooper S is more than "good enough for daily use".

I drove R56 Cooper S to Cameron. Shiok man!!!

Edited by Davidtch

Exos sibeh steam... Lift off throttle macham machine gun... Go inside mce tunnel kpkb...

I was pondering this morning also if I had to choose an S or a Jcw which wld I pick. In the end, I think for those who like to mod, perhaps an S might be better. But if you want your car complete, then the JCW.

Unless of cos u got alot money and buy jcw to mod also.

Exos fart in normal or sports mode?

Cooper S is more than "good enough for daily use".

I drove R56 Cooper S to Cameron. Shiok man!!!

this is mini capability of nego corner.

you should join the one year once getaway drive org by MH, especially when we are on B road.

this is mini capability of nego corner.

you should join the one year once getaway drive org by MH, especially when we are on B road.

I always drive in MY B road. Sometimes Waze will direct me through Kampung.

big suv or sedan no nice to drive ah? too fatty...

i can appreciate a bigger CC, heavier German car stability at high speed on NSHW and a light weight, small CC, nimble japanese hatch on smaller city roads.

difficult to have a light weight high power car unless it is a lotus or caterham. then the old bones will be rattled like hell on bumpy singapore roads.

i admire those who can daily such cars.

Edited by Mkl22

i can appreciate a bigger CC, heavier German car stability at high speed on NSHW and a light weight, small CC, nimble japanese hatch on smaller city roads.

difficult to have a light weight high power car unless it is a lotus or caterham. then the old bones will be rattled like hell on bumpy singapore roads.

1.3 ton Mini Cooper S is stable at high speed.

But old bones will be rattled like hell on bumpy road unless it is fitted with adaptive damper

Having driven heavy relatively ample powered large sedan (GS450h), midsized SUV (GLC) they can be both easy to drive and comfortable as long range cruiser and highway overtaking vehicles. When it comes to point and squirt into traffic gaps, quick changes in directions, cannot beat the nimbleness and chuckability of the minis.

Actually the modern R and F series mini is not that light weight... 1.2-1.3tonnes not light for such as small footprint. I will say it is "dense/compact" and with all the wheels pushed to the corners, very "chuckable" and if you pair it with a 2.0T engine lump.....it is a pocket rocket with oodles of torque from low down and plenty of lungs when the road opens up. the F series also have BMW electronic dampers as standard for the S, so it is very liveable as a daily runabouts and if you want the occasional all out mini madness, just switch it to sports mode.

1.3 ton Mini Cooper S is stable at high speed.

But old bones will be rattled like hell on bumpy road unless it is fitted with adaptive damper

had a run with the 120i on the autobahn. up to 160kmh still good. lungs still too small for good acceleration above that. didn't find it that stable at 210-220kmh.

did it at 200kmh with my f55 S during mini getaway to genting, car felt stable and within control.

did it at 220kmh with my f54 S during mini getaway to penang. felt that f54 is more stable than f55 in high speed. but it lose out to f55 in attacking corners.

in fact, no need to switch on sport mode to reach 200kmh, can just do it in mid mode. I always turn off the adaptive damper when in nshw. turn it on when we had some fun driving in balak pulau penang heading for durian. mh engage euroscale to organize the drive event and it was well organized and coordinated, this is why we can do at such speed along nshw.

anyway, once a mini, always a mini.

I have no issue accelerate all the way to 200km/h.

Don't dare to drive beyond that.

My mini is 1.6L TC only.

I just test drove their clubman jcw last sat.

Bro, aparently, that test drive unit has been sold. The unit for press now will be placed in showroom eventually, provided no customet booked it. I understand in sg now, there are 3 fl jcw now.

179k with the latest coe today. They seem rather reluctant to discount further. Probably, they noe jcw super highly sought after.

Just to add, all 3 units are 8spd auto. Ves is neutral band.

Can indent manual version. But as it will be the first fl unit to be brought in, buyer may be subject to ves if it falls out of neutrAl band.

My mini is 1.6L TC only.

I reached 220kmh too. Can reach but can feel the lungs are not big enough. Most cars can reach 200kmh its how you reach is the difference. I expected more from it. But alas. Just to clarify the 120i was the b48 2.0 turbo.

Bro, aparently, that test drive unit has been sold. The unit for press now will be placed in showroom eventually, provided no customet booked it. I understand in sg now, there are 3 fl jcw now.

179k with the latest coe today. They seem rather reluctant to discount further. Probably, they noe jcw super highly sought after.

Just to add, all 3 units are 8spd auto. Ves is neutral band.

Can indent manual version. But as it will be the first fl unit to be brought in, buyer may be subject to ves if it falls out of neutrAl band.

Take a look at where the values of the each pollutant falls within the neutral band. Can give you a better idea if the manual will fall out or not. Not a sure thing but a good reference. Then go for the manual if it seems to have a good chance to stay neutral. The same 8speed in the 120i was a little meh. Not that it was bad, but i had expected more from it. Given the numerous praises. Edited by Mkl22

Sent the car home this morning. If its worth anything, I've been blessed to have been able to drive over 90 cars so far, almost all BMWs. Today, I had to re-evaluate my top 5 list. The last time I edited my list was a year ago. I haven't had this much fun in a car in Singapore for a really really long time. (the M2 I drove in Germany)

The exos is steams. Throttle down... Braaahhh, lift off throttle... Pop pop pop pop pop pop... Omg... Purposely go hunt down ppl driving cabriolet top down let them hear my popcorn machine.

#01: BMW Z4M

#02: BMW M2

#03: MINI JCW

#04: BMW M140i

#05: BMW M4

post-26533-0-75892700-1532002090_thumb.jpg

Edited by Mockngbrd

My mini is 1.6L TC only.

since we on this topic, what are the usual maintenance parts to replace, else will burn a hole in your pocket for F54 1.6 TC

And is the older supercharger version worth considering or just go with the turbo for reliability?