Truth Behind Retailers' Installment Plans

Tom_kkh

always see gain city advertise about their installment plans.

anyone knows if they go through banks or is it their own in house finance house?

how about courts? in house or bank?

anyone knows if they go through banks or is it their own in house finance house?

not many do in house i think only Court, the rest all tie up with banks. But Court also have those with the banks too, their in house is ridiculous :wacko:

Edited by Jman888

during their sales promotion, gain city usually ties up with major banks (eg citi, uob, dbs) to offer installment plans via credit cards....

Yes, they usually work with banks to come up with these installment plans for consumers.. Most of the time must use credit cards though..

Edited by VenomMX

during their sales promotion, gain city usually ties up with major banks (eg citi, uob, dbs) to offer installment plans via credit cards....

Aiyah, dun need wait for sales promo. Now almost everywhere also hv installment plans for big ticket items....

If you have to resort to paying installment on things you buy from such places like these...

It means you can ill afford to buy such things... :D

If you have to resort to paying installment on things you buy from such places like these...

i was about to write the exact stuff... [laugh]

Is gain city based on hire-purchase with interest or pure installment on principle amount interest free?

Because if it's installment on principle amount, it might make sense to use the money for other investments instead of plonking 8k down into a tv and 18k into a sound system while paying installments on an interest free deal.

And no hire-purchase makes sense for the consumer. If it does, you can't afford it.

bo $ ma, don laugh at me lei.... [:p]:D

envy u ar, my life time i cannot pay full for anything except chicken rice [laugh]

Edited by Tom_kkh

you think everyone as rich as you ? stop laughing at pple who have shallow pockets... are u rich enough to pay full in cash for your house or car? knn... look down on pple. even if they paid by installment, does that mean they are poor? many rich pple also pay in installment to take advantage of the interest free .

Typical sinkie snoob who think u are higher than everyone

Edited by Apvman

One of those times, I can cay I agree with what you said.

imho, these credit card instalment promo benefits all parties.

for consumers, like myself --> no extra interest charges, can use credit card, earn reward points, sometime the instalment promo offer discount and free gift.

for the retailers --> attract consumers, like myself, to buy from them instead of elsewhere, maybe credit card banks share the advert cost.

for the credit card banks --> increase usage of cards, extend consumer loyalty due to the instalment duration.

on the issue of affordability, this is individual spending habits.

Personally, if I can't afford or not crucial needs, I may walk many rounds pass the promo and consider many times, but still walk away without buying.

bo $ ma, don laugh at me lei.... [:p]:D

envy u ar, my life time i cannot pay full for anything except chicken rice [laugh]

I never said one should pay full for everything....

Doing so would be a MORON....

There are some very good reasons why certain very, very BIG ticket items are paid in instalments cost these 'items' are investments and they make BIG money....in return for stalling the actual need to pay full for them.

But definitely not those items you can buy from Gain City ....Audio House....Harvey Norman....and Courts....

The 'joke' .....if you can take this in a light hearted way is....

Many say Courts would be outta business if Mats don't buy from them....cos after Courts....it'll be the Court who will seize the items for the unpaid instalments thereafter! [laugh] [laugh]

There are some very good reasons why certain very, very BIG ticket items are paid in instalments cost these 'items' are investments and they make BIG money....in return for stalling the actual need to pay full for them.

But definitely not those items you can buy from Gain City ....Audio House....Harvey Norman....and Courts....

Many say Courts would be outta business if Mats don't buy from them....cos after Courts....it'll be the Court who will seize the items for the unpaid instalments thereafter! [laugh] [laugh]

again i bo $ ma, that y envy u can pay full in gain city ma.... i say otherwise mai?

i pay installment for my $200 DVD player. :D

no hard feeling la. forum is for everyone to comment. if cannot tahan kana swan, don come in lo. :D

the courts joke very old liaoz la....

Edited by Tom_kkh

Many say Courts would be outta business if Mats don't buy from them....cos after Courts....it'll be the Court who will seize the items for the unpaid instalments thereafter!

+1 and well said. [;)]

it is not about who look down on who, rather more towards of knowing your own limits.

it is fine not to be rich but always know your limits than using future money.

in the long run, you will know who will suffer; don't have to pray to God and hoping to tio toto; be realistic. -_-

for example, if your TV is spoiled, you need to buy a TV.

instead of getting a set of 55' LED 3D Smart TV which is out of your budget, why don't you look at 46' normal LCD screen TV?

like i had mentioned above, know your limits. even a laptop can be as cheap as $600 and also can surf MCF. :D

yes and again. if i can't even fully paid a TV, i will not watch TV programs, listen to mp3 or radio also can.

the next immediate thing i will do is to start working harder and save up for my dream 55' LED 3D Smart TV. :D

oh well... to each its own. ^_^

Is gain city based on hire-purchase with interest or pure installment on principle amount interest free?

Because if it's installment on principle amount, it might make sense to use the money for other investments instead of plonking 8k down into a tv and 18k into a sound system while paying installments on an interest free deal.

And no hire-purchase makes sense for the consumer. If it does, you can't afford it.

it makes sense to pay by installments for 0%.

but for the rich,they don't bother about such hassle.

purchase and investment are 2 different things.

why do the rich pay million of dollars to buy so many supercars when they seldom drive it?

they can easily use these millions of dollars to roll more bucks in.

it makes sense to pay by installments for 0%.

but for the rich,they don't bother about such hassle.

purchase and investment are 2 different things.

why do the rich pay million of dollars to buy so many supercars when they seldom drive it?

they can easily use these millions of dollars to roll more bucks in.

the riches i know goes all the way for interest free installments more then the mortals. maybe those "rich" ppl i know not rich enough :D

think abt it. tmr there might be a real good investment for u but u are $40 000 short because u paid full for the home entertainment system yesterday when u can pay in installment, interest free... :D

Edited by Tom_kkh

the riches i know goes all the way for interest free installments more then the mortals. maybe those "rich" ppl i know not rich enough :D

think abt it. tmr there might be a real good investment for u but u are $40 000 short because u paid full for the home entertainment system yesterday when u can pay in installment, interest free... :D

$40k is not a big amount for the filthy rich.

as i mentioned purchase and investment should not be mixed.

if a person is short of money to invest,then he is not rich enough to invest.

if a person is short of money to purchase certain item,then he cannot afford it.