10 Most Indebted Nations (Guess where we are?)

Mockngbrd

http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/10-Most-I...772041.html?x=0

Will this be reported in ST?

There are many different ways to measure debt as a factor in a nation's economic health. In fact, there are so many that we can sometimes lose the meaning of any one measure. In this article, we'll look at two different measures of debt and how they change the landscape of the most indebted nations.

Debt Compared to Cash Coming In

One of the most popular, measures is debt as a percentage of GDP. This tells you how likely it is that a nation is going to be able to pay its bills. In this sense, GDP is income, so the more GDP you have, the more debt you can service.

As far as measuring which nations are struggling, the debt to GDP is an excellent measure. The public debt to GDP listing, compiled in the CIA World Factbook, is reassuring in this sense. It's top 10, based on 2009-2010 data includes:

1. Zimbabwe 234.10%

2. Japan 197.50%

3. Saint Kitts and Nevis 185.00%

4. Greece 142.80%

5. Lebanon 133.80%

6. Jamaica 126.50%

7. Iceland 126.10%

8. Italy 119.10%

9. Singapore 105.80%

10. Barbados 102.10%

The United States is far down the list at number 32. The U.S. has the highest GDP for a single nation, in other words, excluding the E.U.. The U.S. GDP hasn't come in under $1,400 billion since it broke that level in 2007, so the debt situation of the U.S. isn't as bad in this context, when compared to Japan. Japan has a GDP of around $4,300 billion and public debt over $10,000 billion.

The reason that Japan hasn't folded, is that over half of all Japanese debt is held domestically. This gives Japan the advantage of relatively friendly hands holding its IOUs. There is also another economic advantage that economists see in the Japanese situation: most of the interest payments on the debt, make citizens wealthier and more likely to buy things domestically. This makes some sense, but the theoretical domestic buying boom either hasn't yet hit its stride in Japan, or the debt situation has grown beyond the point where this beneficial side-effect is noticeable.

Japan's woes aside, the debt picture shifts quite noticeably when, instead of looking at debt-to-GDP, we focus on external debt.

Edited by Mockngbrd

Similar reasons to Japan, internal debts. Also, Japan has zero to low interest rates for a long long time .. since it went into recession.

the ranking shows that singapore (the country) has a huge debt-to-gdp ratio?

hmm, i'm confused.

isn't singapore has huge reserve (in term of population size) and also sibei "rich" that many countries are jealous. where is the logic?

hmm, i'm confused.

isn't singapore has huge reserve (in term of population size) and also sibei "rich" that many countries are jealous. where is the logic?

Because Singapore has zero external debt. All the debts that the govt has incurred has been on the expense of the public i.e. domestic debt.

These reports doesn't come as a rude shock, basically, our garmen withholding our people's huge sum of CPF savings without gratitude.

The recorded information was based on CIA's 2009-2010 Data.....today is end 31st.Oct 2011 and already about a year ago, are we expecting our GOVT to make explainations of our Singapore Debts as stated in this particular nerve breacking news ???

If CIA's data is a Lie or inaccurate, then GOVT should be telling us something that we're not aware ?

Can someone in the OUR GOVT clarify ? Please !

hmm, i'm confused.

they are measuring the public debt, not garmen debt.. it simply mean singaporean has heavy debt, nothing to do with garmen money... this is quite in-line with the puchasing power capability...

err no. We are still talking about debts owed by the govt. The difference is just merely to whom the govt owe the monies.

you mean sg still not #1 yet??? damn.... pappy has to work extra hard to achieve the pole position.. [laugh]

if no. 1? i think everybody will need to give 40% to CPF... den work till 75yrs old.. 95 yrs old den can withdraw all e CPF $$$>.. [laugh]

Japan is way more jialat...

public debt almost double of GDP, stagnant economy of 20 years and a serious aging population problem

if it doesn't solve the population issue (which is difficult due to their immigration restrictions and low birth rates), the Japanese govt may well go bankrupt in another 15/20 years

who wishes for a Japanese maid? [rolleyes]

public debt almost double of GDP, stagnant economy of 20 years and a serious aging population problem

if it doesn't solve the population issue (which is difficult due to their immigration restrictions and low birth rates), the Japanese govt may well go bankrupt in another 15/20 years

Japanese maid? hahah... lets start with China maid 1st [laugh] a lot of ppl surely want

Japan has something which Singapore don't, Japan has the world's highest no. of patents filed and granted. More likely when all our neighbouring countries banned or restrict exports of maids due to abusive employees, we will be buying robot maids, using Japanese technology.

For every non-Japanese branded or made camera, computer, car, medical equipment, optics or phone you buy, you are highly likely to be paying to somebody in Japan for the patented technology.

Did somebody mentioned China ? They are #3 on the world ranking for patent filing. And Singapore ? Uhh.. not ranked...

Edited by Acieed