Do NOT Call Registry

anybody knows if DNC registry will inform/update you about the complaint that you filed?

i previously logged 1 call on 28 Nov 2014 but til now there is no reply or followup. does it mean no case or what?

I think actions will only be taken if there are lots of complaints. One or two, they will just register and nothing will happen.

Got another one.

Phone number (Novo House Cleaning) is related to Star Zest Tuition Law Han Wei.

Nevertheless, complain sent to PDPC

post-7854-0-15576100-1421327577_thumb.png

This Starzest guy (Law Han Wei) must be out of his mind.

Really kee siao liao to go against DNC.......

==========================================

Local website DNC Register taken down for 'impersonating' privacy commission

Published on Jan 19, 2015 4:18 PM
1678 151 0 1 PRINT EMAIL

Capture-19115e.jpg

Screengrab of the DNC Register website before it was taken down. -- SCREENGRAB OF WEBSITE

• Capture-19115e.jpg
  • eclaw05-19115e.jpg

Screengrab of the DNC Register website before it was taken down. -- SCREENGRAB OF WEBSITE

Law Han Wei, who was the first person fined for breaching "Do Not Call" rules here, has found himself in trouble again after the website of his company DNC Register was taken down for potentially passing off as the Personal Data Protection Commission. -- PHOTO: ST FILE

By Irene Tham

SINGAPORE - Five months after becoming the first person to be fined for breaching "Do Not Call" rules here and just a week after facing fresh probes by the authorities, Law Han Wei is back on the law enforcement radar.

A company called DNC Register, for which Law is the sole director and shareholder, is being sanctioned for potentially passing off as the Personal Data Protection Commission (PDPC), which enforces the Personal Data Protection Act and the Do Not Call rules here.

Its website www.dncpdpc.com.sg has been taken down by the Singapore Network Information Centre, which governs domain names ending with .sg, on the instructions of the PDPC.

"The company and website are not associated with, endorsed or approved by the PDPC," said the PDPC in a strongly-worded statement in response to queries from The Straits Times.

"Organisations should not adopt names that impersonate the PDPC or its official platforms, or that may mislead the public into thinking that their companies or websites are associated with the PDPC," it added.

It urged organisations that wish to register for an official DNC registry account with the PDPC to do so through its official website www.dnc.gov.sg. Individuals registering their numbers on the DNC registry should only do so at www.dnc.gov.sg

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/more-singapore-stories/story/local-website-dnc-register-taken-down-impersonating-priv#sthash.LzYV07wm.dpuf

Got another one.

Phone number (Novo House Cleaning) is related to Star Zest Tuition Law Han Wei.

Nevertheless, complain sent to PDPC

Bro, to be honest, SMS not really that disturbing ba, right? (I'm not related to that guy, nor do I flout PDPA rulings even though I'm in sales line) But just want to say, if keep calling against PDPA / DNC ruling, whack the complaint gao gao, but for SMS, I'll just read and delete.

In fact, in my office, my colleagues will pass me their phones when they get such nuisance calls, and then I'll just chit chat with the bugger calling in. Usually I'm a broke unemployed ORD personnel looking for a huge loan to get a new car, and they can't hang up fast enough.

Bro, to be honest, SMS not really that disturbing ba, right? (I'm not related to that guy, nor do I flout PDPA rulings even though I'm in sales line) But just want to say, if keep calling against PDPA / DNC ruling, whack the complaint gao gao, but for SMS, I'll just read and delete.

In fact, in my office, my colleagues will pass me their phones when they get such nuisance calls, and then I'll just chit chat with the bugger calling in. Usually I'm a broke unemployed ORD personnel looking for a huge loan to get a new car, and they can't hang up fast enough.

To you, it may not be disturbing.

To me, yes, especially if I have calls and sms from customers to attend to.

They are a nuisance to me.

And the law is the law.

My phone number is registered with DNC Registry.

If they still want to SMS to me, they deal with the law.

I'm just waiting for another one against all those flyers distributors that come and throw their farking rubbish in my house.

To you, it may not be disturbing.

To me, yes, especially if I have calls and sms from customers to attend to.

They are a nuisance to me.

And the law is the law.

My phone number is registered with DNC Registry.

If they still want to SMS to me, they deal with the law.

I'm just waiting for another one against all those flyers distributors that come and throw their farking rubbish in my house.

To each his own. Cheers!

Can you explain about the flyer distributors? I thought that wasn't against DNC as they said it would take too long to determine which house was on the list and what not?

To each his own. Cheers!

Can you explain about the flyer distributors? I thought that wasn't against DNC as they said it would take too long to determine which house was on the list and what not?

I live in hdb flat. Anyone can come up and throw their rubbish into my home.

No protection like maybe condo with security guards.

First of all, I will never, ever buy or deal with any business that does this.

I don't need to sell my flat everyday, so the property agents can fo.

I don't need to have my gates done every day.

I have competing stickers on my electrical box for locksmiths 1 to 10, all trying to outdo each other and stick over one another.

Look..if you are in sales, the last thing you should do is thrust your wares in somebody's face when they are not in the mood.

To me, flyers in my home, in my mailbox courtesy of sinkpost are just rubbish to be disposed of.

I get really tired of it.

You like stickers, papers, flyers on your windscreen ?

Great when it rains and they melt all over your windscreen.

Since Apr 29, they have started to spam my SMS again. All illegal ah longs.

I've reported all of them, at least 50 spams to PDPC.

My guess is they will refer to police case, but I don't care, just let them do their jobs.

Illegal ah longs thinks PDPC will not act on them.

Since Apr 29, they have started to spam my SMS again. All illegal ah longs.

I've reported all of them, at least 50 spams to PDPC.

My guess is they will refer to police case, but I don't care, just let them do their jobs.

Illegal ah longs thinks PDPC will not act on them.

This type report no use to PDPC no use. PDPC refer to police as they suspect illegal ah longs, then police will say case close as those are licensed money lender. So at the end of the day. you'll still received those sms. Unless you tell the PDPC in the email that those are licensed money lender and you keep on following up with them if they say they refer to police that they suspect those are illegal ah longs.

For me, no more sms from those licensed money lender so far after I follow up with PDPC.

This type report no use to PDPC no use. PDPC refer to police as they suspect illegal ah longs, then police will say case close as those are licensed money lender. So at the end of the day. you'll still received those sms. Unless you tell the PDPC in the email that those are licensed money lender and you keep on following up with them if they say they refer to police that they suspect those are illegal ah longs.

For me, no more sms from those licensed money lender so far after I follow up with PDPC.

today i'm a bit free... spent the around 1 hr did screen grab, transfer to pc and finally sent 6 reports EACH to PDPC and to Mata for the illegal money lending sms.

hope these nonsense will stop. it is getting on my nerves. at first one or two i closed an eye, knn, it's getting too frequent nowadays.

and i got to correct u on this after reading up a little.. advertising money lending is ILLEGAL.

whoever tell u they are 'okay', please tell them to go read the Moneylenders Act.

quote:

Under the Moneylenders Act, licensed moneylenders are not allowed to advertise their moneylending services via SMS or voice calls. Therefore, any SMSes or calls soliciting loans are either sent by an unlicensed moneylender (a.k.a. Ah Long) or by a licensed moneylender in contravention of advertising restrictions. - See more at: http://www.ifaq.gov.sg/pdpc/apps/fcd_faqmain.aspx#FAQ_70047

all these money lender and illegal gaming website contact number is Singapore mobile number.

but when u call, it turns to overseas line. maybe they the line divert to overseas.

I tried many times calling them to f them upside down and to greet their parents, but no one pick-up

all these money lender and illegal gaming website contact number is Singapore mobile number.

but when u call, it turns to overseas line. maybe they the line divert to overseas.

I tried many times calling them to f them upside down and to greet their parents, but no one pick-up

imo best is not to respond at all.. cos when u do call, they will know it is a genuine number.

same concept when u receive a spam email.

make the police report online instead.. it's so convenient now.

u may also mention in the report 'contravene against the moneylenders act' [smash]

the guy receiving your report would probably not take it lightly [laugh]

today i'm a bit free... spent the around 1 hr did screen grab, transfer to pc and finally sent 6 reports EACH to PDPC and to Mata for the illegal money lending sms.

hope these nonsense will stop. it is getting on my nerves. at first one or two i closed an eye, knn, it's getting too frequent nowadays.

and i got to correct u on this after reading up a little.. advertising money lending is ILLEGAL.

whoever tell u they are 'okay', please tell them to go read the Moneylenders Act.

quote:

Under the Moneylenders Act, licensed moneylenders are not allowed to advertise their moneylending services via SMS or voice calls. Therefore, any SMSes or calls soliciting loans are either sent by an unlicensed moneylender (a.k.a. Ah Long) or by a licensed moneylender in contravention of advertising restrictions. - See more at: http://www.ifaq.gov.sg/pdpc/apps/fcd_faqmain.aspx#FAQ_70047

Been there... done that... PDPC reply within 3 days and say they pushed to mata. And if same stupid SMS's come... I should contact SPF directly.

Same stupid messages came again... and I uploaded via the EPC and crimestopper portal. Still get them on and off... but not as many as before. I just delete them nowadays.

Been there... done that... PDPC reply within 3 days and say they pushed to mata. And if same stupid SMS's come... I should contact SPF directly.

Same stupid messages came again... and I uploaded via the EPC and crimestopper portal. Still get them on and off... but not as many as before. I just delete them nowadays.

tried ignoring..okay if it was 1 or 2 a month in the past.. i've been very nice already..

ut it's getting disruptive now...at least 2 a week

i use my phone for work.. and from customers and automated system alerts. every single sms will make me jump.

worse still if i'm overseas in a different timezone... kns...

quote:

I think you're right. Maybe the PDPC follow up my case with the mata after my 3rd complain letter and the mata issue warning letter to the senders according to the moneylenders act. That's why I didn't received any more sms from the money lender. *Touch Wood* don't want to receive any more those unwanted sms.

I gave up on useless PDPC and mata already.

Now, I'm just sms blocking every farking ahlong.

Every tel number can be traced since you need NRIC to buy a SIM card.

Unless the seller is in cohort with ahlong.

But useless mata don't seem interested.

Edited by Kb27

I gave up on useless PDPC and mata already.

Now, I'm just sms blocking every farking ahlong.

Every tel number can be traced since you need NRIC to buy a SIM card.

Unless the seller is in cohort with ahlong.

But useless mata don't seem interested.

Still possible to buy SIM card without NRIC. I learnt this from my maid cuz she didn't have her passport or her work permit card and she still could buy. She say some shops do sell the prepaid cards without IC but they cost more.