Air con issue....

Ken4555

Update - collect car in evening. Car aircon pipe not freezing, no hissing n no slight burnt fume oil smell. Troubleshooting process involved removing dash to replace thermostat n chg back existing aircon comp, followed by another new aircon comp. total damage 600+ after gst, incl new AC comp, dryer, vacuum n recharge comp oil n refrigerant.

Considering labor of < 300 including additional day of troubleshooting, w goodwill temp car for use since ytd till today, the svc is better than value for $. What's more, 6 mth warranty.

Service car aircon can just go to any car workshop or better go to an aircon specialist workshop? So far I haven't service my aircon yet for the past 3 servicing..

Update - collect car in evening. Car aircon pipe not freezing, no hissing n no slight burnt fume oil smell. Troubleshooting process involved removing dash to replace thermostat n chg back existing aircon comp, followed by another new aircon comp. total damage 600+ after gst, incl new AC comp, dryer, vacuum n recharge comp oil n refrigerant.

Considering labor of < 300 including additional day of troubleshooting, w goodwill temp car for use since ytd till today, the svc is better than value for $. What's more, 6 mth warranty.

So actually u went to which workshop for this repair? [dizzy]

Service car aircon can just go to any car workshop or better go to an aircon specialist workshop? So far I haven't service my aircon yet for the past 3 servicing..

What actually is being done during a car aircon servicing ??

I also didn't service my car aircon for many past servicing leh.....

Haha I wish to know too what exactly they done on the aircon.. :)

I suppose they check the gas, fan belt etc... Usually if I go servicing I just leave my car there..

Any advises?

I suppose they check the gas, fan belt etc... Usually if I go servicing I just leave my car there..

Any advises?

I was told NOT to do anything to the aircon system if it is working well (eg. blowing cold air, temp control is working fine, etc).

What I could do is to remove the aircon filter and clean it every 2-3 months. This could be done DIY, no need WS to do it.

Fan belt there is a schedule to change it, like timing belt. It can be changed during normal servicing...

Dont do anything to it if it ain't broken.

I have been using my aircon for almost 7 years with no problem. Just regular change of aircon filter every 20K.

Dont do anything to it if it ain't broken.

I have been using my aircon for almost 7 years with no problem. Just regular change of aircon filter every 20K.

Even the topping up gas no need also ah?

Any advises?

There are a couple of things you can do on aircon servicing.

1. Aircon filter replaced - this traps dirt, leaves, bugs, etc..

2. Radiator cleaning - sometimes clogged by dirt or big cb leaves which reduce efficiency of the cooling system

3. Dryer replaced - this absorbs moisture in the cooling system. It can be overloaded over time esp if there's leak somewhere.

4. Coolant check and top up - usually pressure gauge is used to check high and low pressure line before topping up. A total vacuuming and replacement of coolant and compressor oil is available. Cost about $40~$50

But of cuz, you can always save your money and do nothing until it starts shooting out warm air.

The choice is yours.

Even the topping up gas no need also ah?

No need. It is a sealed system. If u need to top up gas, that means somewhere there's a leak.

Just want to add, unless you want to change the gas and oil in the aircon system with the machine then by all means go ahead.

But my theory is always:

Don't fix it if it ain't broken.

There are a couple of things you can do on aircon servicing.

1. Aircon filter replaced - this traps dirt, leaves, bugs, etc..

2. Radiator cleaning - sometimes clogged by dirt or big cb leaves which reduce efficiency of the cooling system

3. Dryer replaced - this absorbs moisture in the cooling system. It can be overloaded over time esp if there's leak somewhere.

4. Coolant check and top up - usually pressure gauge is used to check high and low pressure line before topping up. A total vacuuming and replacement of coolant and compressor oil is available. Cost about $40~$50

But of cuz, you can always save your money and do nothing until it starts shooting out warm air.

The choice is yours.

I'm only planning to replace the aircon filter, but if we only decide to take action when shooting out warm air, will it be too late?

Meaning need to pay more for repair cost instead if we have done preventive maintenance eg regular servicing etc [confused]

If no leak, then no need to top up gas.

But according to the a/c workshop guy i went to, he said it's advisable to change the oil in the a/c (dunno compressor or what?) every dunno how long at aircon servicing. This will help to maintain and prolong the lifespan of the a/c. He first asked me if i know a/c got oil, on top of gas, i said dunno. Then he said a/c compressor is a motor got run, if no oil, how to run?? Then if got oil, isn't it logical should change? If engine oil need change, why a/c oil doesn't?

The fella i feel is quite outspoken and not v high on EQ, as in good customer service skills -- but gave me the impression that he knows the car a/c quite well.

My car a/c was sometime cold, sometime not, and becoming mostly not… went to 2 (general) workshops, they checked, and then just topped up gas asked me monitor, one even said maybe compressor kaput if problem persisted… Went to this car a/c workshop, the guy checked the bonnet, then went under the car, checked 10 min, then said it's the control valve problem. Changed it and indeed it became cold again. about 11 months since.

Another time, (another car) went there when aircon suddenly not cold at all. He checked only few min, said cooling coil leaked, must replace… Done that, and a/c is very cold since, abt 9 mth since. Before this, my a/c got this smelly odor coming out every time I start engine and a/c, and the smell will go away only after 15-20 sec… After changing cooling coil, prob gone too...

But cannot bargain price one leh...

If no leak, then no need to top up gas.

But according to the a/c workshop guy i went to, he said it's advisable to change the oil in the a/c (dunno compressor or what?) every dunno how long at aircon servicing. This will help to maintain and prolong the lifespan of the a/c. He first asked me if i know a/c got oil, on top of gas, i said dunno. Then he said a/c compressor is a motor got run, if no oil, how to run?? Then if got oil, isn't it logical should change? If engine oil need change, why a/c oil doesn't?

I did hear about the oil for the compressor before...from an a/c mechanic. However he didn't tell me when to do it, and if it was necessary. Then later his boss told me "don't touch the a/c system if your a/c is working fine". So I follow what the boss said... :blink:

Another time, (another car) went there when aircon suddenly not cold at all. He checked only few min, said cooling coil leaked, must replace… Done that, and a/c is very cold since, abt 9 mth since. Before this, my a/c got this smelly odor coming out every time I start engine and a/c, and the smell will go away only after 15-20 sec… After changing cooling coil, prob gone too...

The smelly odor from the a/c is actually poison gas, according to my a/c mechanic, when he changed my cooling coil. Once the coil has changed, the smell also gone liao.

But cannot bargain price one leh...

Cannot bargain price just go another workshop lah... [laugh]

I did hear about the oil for the compressor before...from an a/c mechanic. However he didn't tell me when to do it, and if it was necessary. Then later his boss told me "don't touch the a/c system if your a/c is working fine". So I follow what the boss said... :blink:

The smelly odor from the a/c is actually poison gas, according to my a/c mechanic, when he changed my cooling coil. Once the coil has changed, the smell also gone liao.

Cannot bargain price just go another workshop lah... [laugh]

I can't remember the frequency/duration that he recommended, but I think it was like every 2-3 yr to change the oil. This guy not sure if he's the real big boss - maybe not since the company got more than one workshop. But he's definitely the boss of the one i went to. He gives instructions and the other few mechanics will follow.

Huh, poison gas??? cannot be right? I tahan'ed it for like almost a year, at least half…, before I changed the cooling coil. The regular workshop i go to warned me when i complained initially that if wanna resolve the smell issue, will have to dismantle the dash, lots of work, etc. so I put it off. Then when bo-bian need to change the cooling coil when spoilt, just nice kill 2 birds with one stone...

Aiyoh, not easy to find one that I think can be trusted. Like I said, my regular workshop cannot solve my a/c issues, so i need to look for a qualified expert...

Huh, poison gas??? cannot be right? I tahan'ed it for like almost a year, at least half…, before I changed the cooling coil. The regular workshop i go to warned me when i complained initially that if wanna resolve the smell issue, will have to dismantle the dash, lots of work, etc. so I put it off. Then when bo-bian need to change the cooling coil when spoilt, just nice kill 2 birds with one stone...

I think its not the deadly poison gas type that will kill you quickly.....but on long term its not good for health lah. [laugh]

Yes, for most cars, changing cooling coil is like that one - must dismantle the dash, its a lot of work. The steering wheel, meters, center console all removed. No choice! [sweatdrop]

Edited by TVT

I think its not the deadly poison gas type that will kill you quickly.....but on long term its not good for health lah. [laugh]

Yes, for most cars, changing cooling coil is like that one - must dismantle the dash, its a lot of work. The steering wheel, meters, center console all removed. No choice! [sweatdrop]

hee… ok, if not immediately die then think it's no diff from the gas we smelled if the engine panel in the M113 was not closed/sealed properly??

Anyway, i will open my windows and hold my breath every time I started the car during that period… hopefully didn't harm me too much [:p]