13177 Hypersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 Errrr.... I dunno that's why I asked [laugh] Think you don't take mrt de, that's why don't know?! Thought there are plenty of posters paste all over the train and station, telling you that we are working on it! Lol. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 (edited) remembered it was brought up by LHL several years ago at National Day Rally that upgrading of signalling system will enable the trains to run closer ... but its a difficult / challenging task ... to me what's so knn difficult ... engineering only what ... we are not the only metro system in the world. these ministars are paid like average $2 pa and all I hear from them is :- - this is difficult / challenging - community has to chip in to help elderly, crime, national security, save water etc ... so I find paying them to tell me problems is really waste time. when they are paid that amount of salary, I expect to hear solution and outcome ... not problems. This is how our system and policy work here. Always tell you the problems, no solution and outcome. Worst still when they are so called able to solve the problem but in the end created another problem! Seriously i have doubts on their new signalling system which enable the trains to run closer. Cause with current system which trains run between 2-4 mins, the trains already keep stopping half-way along the track or before a station due to train is still at the next station!? Imagine when the new signalling system is running with an interval of 100 secs from the current 120 secs? I think the train would stop and go every few metres! Edited May 12, 2016 by 13177 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 remembered it was brought up by LHL several years ago at National Day Rally that upgrading of signalling system will enable the trains to run closer ... but its a difficult / challenging task ... to me what's so knn difficult ... engineering only what ... we are not the only metro system in the world. these ministars are paid like average $2 pa and all I hear from them is :- - this is difficult / challenging - community has to chip in to help elderly, crime, national security, save water etc ... so I find paying them to tell me problems is really waste time. when they are paid that amount of salary, I expect to hear solution and outcome ... not problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 This will happen to us if LTA still refuses to acknowledge the problem and take control. https://www.washingtonpost.com/local/trafficandcommuting/metro-sank-into-crisis-despite-decades-of-warnings/2016/04/24/1c4db91c-0736-11e6-a12f-ea5aed7958dc_story.html It would not happen de la, cause SMRT is currently speeding up their upgrading works like track renewal, re-signalling, trains upgrade and new trains. Think they are confident after all these upgrading works have completed, their system would never breakdown?! Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 This will happen to us if LTA still refuses to acknowledge the problem and take control. https://www.washingtonpost.com/local/trafficandcommuting/metro-sank-into-crisis-despite-decades-of-warnings/2016/04/24/1c4db91c-0736-11e6-a12f-ea5aed7958dc_story.html Still ok as ours only less than 30 years........ Haven't reach a decade yet .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 Still ok as ours only less than 30 years........ Haven't reach a decade yet .. Our only less than 30 years and yet there are so many problems and issues? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 you are right: https://books.google.com.sg/books?id=sPCgsyXeobIC&lpg=PA156&ots=IDLK3SlbMu&dq=crackling%20sound%20before%20lightning&pg=PA156#v=onepage&q=crackling%20sound%20before%20lightning&f=false Damn... I am still hoping it is KBW's fart... There is a 'cracking' sound when lightning flash across and nearer to ground. This afternoon, thundery shower expected. When there is lightning, you go to the top floor corridor of a HDB block and listen... I, myself had few experience as my house is right in front of an empty field. The lightning strikes the ground and the 'cracking' sounds can made your body hairs stand up. Those that strikes nearer to the block, you could even feel the sudden heat. I will feel safe as HDB roof got lightning arresters installed. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 Still ok as ours only less than 30 years........ Haven't reach a decade yet .. Uncle, Decade = 10 years Century = 100 years 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 Uncle, Decade = 10 years Century = 100 years now i am getting worry.............no know when I grow old how is the growing process sia...........I see some here suddenly become errrrrr................ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 (edited) There is a 'cracking' sound when lightning flash across and nearer to ground. This afternoon, thundery shower expected. When there is lightning, you go to the top floor corridor of a HDB block and listen... I, myself had few experience as my house is right in front of an empty field. The lightning strikes the ground and the 'cracking' sounds can made your body hairs stand up. Those that strikes nearer to the block, you could even feel the sudden heat. I will feel safe as HDB roof got lightning arresters installed. yes i can vouch for that. I had two occasions when lightning struck very very close to me outdoors. Once in primary school when playing football in the storm, the other at a golf course abroad. The lightning makes a damn sharp cracking noise, like a giant whip. And I find you can sense when lightning is about to strike close to you. The air would feel all fizzy, like there's something crackling. When that happens, immediately dive to the ground, or you die. edit to add this article... if your hair stands up in the storm, dive too. You're in the cross-hair http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2381677/How-know-youre-struck-lightning-Picture-brothers-hair-end-minutes-before.html Edited May 12, 2016 by Karoon 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 yes i can vouch for that. I had two occasions when lightning struck very very close to me outdoors. Once in primary school when playing football in the storm, the other at a golf course abroad. The lightning makes a damn sharp cracking noise, like a giant whip. And I find you can sense when lightning is about to strike close to you. The air would feel all fizzy, like there's something crackling. When that happens, immediately dive to the ground, or you die. edit to add this article... if your hair stands up in the storm, dive too. You're in the cross-hair http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2381677/How-know-youre-struck-lightning-Picture-brothers-hair-end-minutes-before.html Scientist had proven it that diving won't help ..... Nothing can out run a lightning. When you can hear the 'cracking' sound, the lightning had long gone and one just wait to hear the thunder coming... Even the lightning strike 3 meters away, the magnetic electrical field of the lightning is 10 meters radius. You will get the electrical shock. It either heng or suay which depend if you wear a rubber sole shoe or bare footed .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 (edited) Cos he played with electricity in order to get the scientific formulas ...... Only after numerous shocks, he gets the equations right...... Edited May 12, 2016 by Picnic06-Biante15 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 Cos he played with electricity in order to get the scientific formulas ...... Only after numerous shocks, he gets the equations right...... his theory of relativity until now jin satki donno must reach which generation then can be proven false 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 since you live so close to where lightning strikes in SG....quick, go think of some theory/formula.....maybe you can be the next Einstein Cos he played with electricity in order to get the scientific formulas ...... Only after numerous shocks, he gets the equations right...... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 since you live so close to where lightning strikes in SG....quick, go think of some theory/formula.....maybe you can be the next Einstein No mater how many formulas I take in internally, the xmm still said "it" taste chow cho, sticky & milky in colour.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 (edited) You are stuck in yesterday breakdown eh? Anyway, taking train during raining/bad weather usually would be wrong choice, cause high chance the train would breakdown, slow or delayed! As our train is not built to operate during bad weather.Actually when peak hour heavy rain, train by right should be the fastest mode of transport. Peak hours heavy rain, everywhere sure jam, if no car or never drive, difficult to get taxi ( I don't know about uber though). Take bus also slower due to traffic jam. Seems like nowadays taking public transport can be more stressful then driving which should not be the case. Driving during peak hours can be quite stress for some due to traffic jam and also scared being risk of accident, road rage etc.. Well.. Edited May 12, 2016 by Yewheng 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged May 12, 2016 Share May 12, 2016 since you live so close to where lightning strikes in SG....quick, go think of some theory/formula.....maybe you can be the next Einstein get a tesla. modify it to capture the 1.2GW. forever no need recharging. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...