Kiadaw 6th Gear March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 PC self assemble takes 2 hrs max? laptop then just buy off-the-shelf! You are right, but I do hate the software installation, especially I have so much software. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 Graphic mobile solutions are shaping up quite interestingly. On one hand you have the usual discrete solutions ie standalone and dedicated GPU by Nvidia which has been branded as Nvidia ION. Onboard wise, Intel has made rather big improvements in its bundled onboard graphics ie HD series especially if you hark back and compare to the GMA series. this definitely has something to do with the fundamental change in processing layout heralded by Sandy Bridge namely, an ability to address larger and faster volatile memory more quickly, the scrapping of the north and south bridge which allows the CPU to communicate directly with the GPU rather than via a slow bus previously. i am keenly awaiting further developments of AMD's System on Chip implementation. So far, AMD's Brazos has significantly outperformed Intel's offerings in the lowend spectrum(Zacate vs Cedar Trail) and this definitely didn't happen by chance. AMD's acquisition of ATI was for a good reason. However concerns has been mounting for AMD's product leadtime and whether AMD and her contract foundries will be able to ramp up production in time efficiently in a comely manner. Until further developments suggest otherwise hitherto , we are talking about the woes of a fabless chip designhouse which has centered around its dramatic departure from GloFlo to TSMC due to 28nm production problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 You are right, but I do hate the software installation, especially I have so much software. there is no reason why you can't mitigate that with slipstreaming. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 Graphic mobile solutions are shaping up quite interestingly. On one hand you have the usual discrete solutions ie standalone and dedicated GPU by Nvidia which has been branded as Nvidia ION. Onboard wise, Intel has made rather big improvements in its bundled onboard graphics ie HD series especially if you hark back and compare to the GMA series. this definitely has something to do with the fundamental change in processing layout heralded by Sandy Bridge namely, an ability to address larger and faster volatile memory more quickly, the scrapping of the north and south bridge which allows the CPU to communicate directly with the GPU rather than via a slow bus previously. i am keenly awaiting further developments of AMD's System on Chip implementation. So far, AMD's Brazos has significantly outperformed Intel's offerings in the lowend spectrum(Zacate vs Cedar Trail) and this definitely didn't happen by chance. AMD's acquisition of ATI was for a good reason. However concerns has been mounting for AMD's product leadtime and whether AMD and her contract foundries will be able to ramp up production in time efficiently in a comely manner. Until further developments suggest otherwise hitherto , we are talking about the woes of a fabless chip designhouse which has centered around its dramatic departure from GloFlo to TSMC due to 28nm production problems. People just want to play game lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busybody 1st Gear March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 any recommendation for notepad or should i go for tablet? my current, s10 seem dying off soon, after a few years of serving me.. Current usage: i'm using it only for movies, anime, 'prawning' and internet. thinking of tablet, maybe galaxy note or ipad 2.. my budget is less than $500. future usage: intend to use it for gaming. saw a few nice game, rpg or strategy battle type in ipad. prawning, anime, movies, internet. Wait for Asus Memo 370T, its going to be released at US$250 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 Not very worth the trouble if you ask me. The difference is at most $50. Retail shops elsewhere will try to match the difference as they wanna do the sales and earn the money instead of paying for the stall at the IT fair. what about multi-function printers? last time i got mine for less than $100 at the show..after having a hard time squeezing with people and not able to find carpark lots.. dun wanna go thru that again if the savings isn't good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 OOT. Samsung tablet got a few different sizes huh? which one is worth the bucks? anyone can help? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greyminswift 1st Gear March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 Any expert and experienced advice. Are the prices there really cheap? Once I go to a normal Harvey Norman shop looking at cameras and laptops, the salesman said they can offer better price or more gifts instead. The salesman took out the day newspaper, and show me the ITshow prices advertised, and said he will match even better. He will match even if you bring the ITshow brochures to his show to buy from him! So my question is...is it really worth it to wait and buy from such ITshows??? If the staff is not deployed at the IT show, he will be swatting flies all day long since most ppl will go to the IT show. So if he wants to offer a better deal to someone who doesnt want to go into a packed expo hall, why not see what he has to offer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 Not very worth the trouble if you ask me. The difference is at most $50. Retail shops elsewhere will try to match the difference as they wanna do the sales and earn the money instead of paying for the stall at the IT fair. price wise is almost the same. its the freebies most of them give. last time i bought my printer from the IT show, they gave me 1 free set of 4 toner cartriges(CMYK). but believe me, half the freebies they give are quite useless Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 Not out yet. Heard SOON, but its blizzard so...I wanted to be ready on day one when the game ship. I hardly play games as well. I think I have a game completion rate of one game per year. But I am a big fan of Diablo series, & promise to do demon slaying with my good pals. Its our way to keep up with each other now, as all in different places. Me in Germany, one is back home in Malaysia, & others in Singapore. can i join your clan? i preordered mine already. release day can download and play. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 can i join your clan? i preordered mine already. release day can download and play. The singtel one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 The singtel one? nope WOW annual pass Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 nope WOW annual pass Ic. Deciding between Singtel one vs Amazon pre-order http://www.gx.com.sg/diabloIII/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 Ok signed up with the Singtel one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 These guys sell 620. I call parisilk then tell you. I think apple is 660 http://www.subarumobile.com/ i just called. Parisilk no discoint. 660. they got sell galaxy tab? looking at 10.1, 16gb will do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 Thats why i bought the galaxy tab 1.5 yrs back. Screen big. Pah liao mar song! no problem with prawning? i tried just now at singtel, they having promo, $299 for tab 10.1 and monthly subscription of $40.. but i got no use for the monthly plan. likely just settle for wifi usage. i tried anime, it seem some works while some don't. i think it's the browser that matters, need to have plug in.. although.. i wish i could log in some prawning sites and see if they too, work. but again, you probably see me kanna stomp the next hour Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 Wait for Asus Memo 370T, its going to be released at US$250 thanks, asus also got some promo on tablet. going for $299 or $399, but just too small for me.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 OOT. Samsung tablet got a few different sizes huh? which one is worth the bucks? anyone can help? yup, think range from 7-10.1 and with various memory space. it really depend on your usage. if your usage is like mine, use for prawning, anime, internet, androlds game, movies. a 10.1 with 16gb will be fine. price range around $700 for that ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...