Do not switch on hazard lights while driving in the rain

Slim

Standard modus de operandi wat..... isnt it.

But then, if juz turn on left or right indication light (depending where u gonna park), also make sense... so, probably i will try to turn my indication rather than use hazard light.

sadly...all have forgotten hiwe code... [shakehead][shakehead]

i normally signal left or right into the lot i want....and ppl dun understand....idioits

Agree with u.... all forgotten about the code after gotten the licence...

But then, if juz turn on left or right indication light (depending where u gonna park), also make sense... so, probably i will try to turn my indication rather than use hazard light.

Problem got impatient joker from behind will squeeze thru the right if u signal left, and vice versa.

I do that too... and don't bother about "them"

:D ok, we are revisiting the same thread on parking with hazard light again.

If we are in a large carpark like in Vivo City, say you enter the carpark using the road between Habourfront and Vivo, go to B2, after the slope and the left bend you see a lot at the left just at the stop line.

Please bear in mind that this stop line allow you to either turn left or right.

So when your intention is to park as you are slowing down to the stop line, you drive in, with a car following about a car length or two behind you (the normal distance at such slow speed), you see the lot, signal left at the stop line, the car close up slowly to about 1/2 a car length, assuming you are going to turn left after the stopline.

Then you engage the reverse gear. I suspect the first intention of the car behind may want to honk you.

1) If he honk you, you may shake your head and thought to yourself that why local drivers are so impatient.

2) If he doesn't honk at you, your thought maybe why local driver so inconsiderate of not reversing his car and all the cars behind reverse to allow you to park when you already signal intention to park at the lot at the left.

3) If he doesn't honk and reverse to allow you park simply because he is considerate, but get honk by the rest of the cars behind, you any think that why local drivers so siao one parking also need to honk, so impatient cannot wait hah?

But normally do drivers honk at cars reversing back too close or do drivers shout to let the vehicles in the front know of the circumstances?

But base on the above scenario, the second car may think you are signalling to turn left. (remember its a stop line that all either a left or right turn)

Why I can think of this scenario? because I was the 5th car, saw 1st car signal left at the stop line, but didn't proceed to turn, instead egnage reverse gear, 2nd car honk, 1st car still die die want to park that lot (maybe because he signal his intention to park while most other cars thought that he wanted to turn left. Then second car reverse, 3 car reverse too to clear the way for him. I can see all these because I was somewhere at the sloping left bend, higher than those cars in front.

I used to think that just use directional signal indicators is sufficient to indicate my intention, then realise that there are some circumstances that misunderstanding can occur because of the deisgn of the layout. So now I use hazard lights when I am slowing down to park, because I can see from the above example, that directional signal indicators can create confusion and inconvenience to other road users.

Rules are made, common sense are learnt. :D

Edited by Atonchia

I decided to use hazard light because I'm moving about everyday, parking at least 6-8 different locations daily during working hours, especially when most cars are following closer behind even in carparks, it provides more room for comfort as some drivers really can mistaken the intention-to-park to intention-to-turn.

:D ok, we are revisiting the same thread on parking with hazard light again.

If we are in a large carpark like in Vivo City, say you enter the carpark using the road between Habourfront and Vivo, go to B2, after the slope and the left bend you see a lot at the left just at the stop line.

Please bear in mind that this stop line allow you to either turn left or right.

So when your intention is to park as you are slowing down to the stop line, you drive in, with a car following about a car length or two behind you (the normal distance at such slow speed), you see the lot, signal left at the stop line, the car close up slowly to about 1/2 a car length, assuming you are going to turn left after the stopline.

Then you engage the reverse gear. I suspect the first intention of the car behind may want to honk you.

1) If he honk you, you may shake your head and thought to yourself that why local drivers are so impatient.

2) If he doesn't honk at you, your thought maybe why local driver so inconsiderate of not reversing his car and all the cars behind reverse to allow you to park when you already signal intention to park at the lot at the left.

3) If he doesn't honk and reverse to allow you park simply because he is considerate, but get honk by the rest of the cars behind, you any think that why local drivers so siao one parking also need to honk, so impatient cannot wait hah?

But normally do drivers honk at cars reversing back too close or do drivers shout to let the vehicles in the front know of the circumstances?

But base on the above scenario, the second car may think you are signalling to turn left. (remember its a stop line that all either a left or right turn)

Why I can think of this scenario? because I was the 5th car, saw 1st car signal left at the stop line, but didn't proceed to turn, instead egnage reverse gear, 2nd car honk, 1st car still die die want to park that lot (maybe because he signal his intention to park while most other cars thought that he wanted to turn left. Then second car reverse, 3 car reverse too to clear the way for him. I can see all these because I was somewhere at the sloping left bend, higher than those cars in front.

I used to think that just use directional signal indicators is sufficient to indicate my intention, then realise that there are some circumstances that misunderstanding can occur because of the deisgn of the layout. So now I use hazard lights when I am slowing down to park, because I can see from the above example, that directional signal indicators can create confusion and inconvenience to other road users.

Rules are made, common sense are learnt. :D

Driving rule number 1 to me. Never assume anything unless it is the worst possible thing another driver can do. Whats the worst thing a driver can do in your scenario once stopped? Reverse. So what would I have done if I was the driver behind? I would have slowed and stopped sufficiently far away assuming he would want to take the lot. If I was the driver of the car that wanted to park, I would have signaled, kept as close to the side I wanted to park on and stopped next to the lot. If the roadway was wide enough, I would have let the other cars pass first then park, if not then I would angle out (which any dimwit would realise means I was going to reverse park somewhere) then park quickly. This is called being considerate.

But in my scenario, which happen to be real as I have seen it, the 1st driver was right at the centre of the lane. I guess the 2nd driver was not making any assumption.

Haiz, difficult to help you visualise unless you go there and see it.

The 1st driver could have changed his mind at the stop line i.e, instead of turning left but to park.

Yes reversing is not that difficult, but causing 3 cars to reverse for the 1st car when there are other available lots is simply inconsiderate.

Would you stop 2 car length behind a car at a stop line?

Edited by Atonchia

But in my scenario, which happen to be real as I have seen it, the 1st driver was right at the centre of the lane. I guess the 2nd driver was not making any assumption.

Haiz, difficult to help you visualise unless you go there and see it.

The 1st driver could have changed his mind at the stop line i.e, instead of turning left but to park.

Yes reversing is not that difficult, but causing 3 cars to reverse for the 1st car when there are other available lots is simply inconsiderate.

Would you stop 2 car length behind a car at a stop line?

I knew that would come out.

So here is my parking rule number 1: If you have to reverse to get to a lot, then it belongs to the car behind you if there is one. You are only allowed to reverse into a lot. This is so that others are not inconvenienced. Its SOP in civilised places.

Seriously, the only reason it really happened was because the driver who wanted to park was blind or because he/she wanted to be kiasu and park while holding up others. If the latter and he/she had signaled and stopped the way any civilised person would (so as to not inconvenience others), none of this would have happened.

For me, if I see a car stopping near an empty lot, I would just stop before the lot so he/she can get in. The only time I would overtake would be if he/she does what I do, which is wait for the rest to pass.

Edited by Elfenstar

I knew that would come out.

So here is my parking rule number 1: If you have to reverse to get to a lot, then it belongs to the car behind you if there is one. You are only allowed to reverse into a lot. This is so that others are not inconvenienced. Its SOP in civilised places.

:D Ok, the other practice I do is going 45 degrees if the car behind me is still quite far. Unless the car is really close then I will use hazard light.

Very effective for them to slow down and they really do get the message. I do it (hazard light) only for my own safety. I do encounter many parking situations daily so rather err on the safe side, though it's not the real rule.

:D Ok, the other practice I do is going 45 degrees if the car behind me is still quite far. Unless the car is really close then I will use hazard light.

Very effective for them to slow down and they really do get the message. I do it (hazard light) only for my own safety. I do encounter many parking situations daily so rather err on the safe side, though it's not the real rule.

To be honest, its really about where and how you stop. If you slow down gradually, and stop just before (if someone is coming out) or just beside the lot (if its empty) nobody will need to reverse for you to get in. Its only if you're blind, a c0ck driver, or just plain kiasu that this will happen. This is regardless of hazard light or signal.

Edited by Elfenstar

To be honest, its really about where and how you stop. If you slow down gradually, and stop just before (if someone is coming out) or just beside the lot (if its empty) nobody will need to reverse for you to get in. Its only if you're blind, a c0ck driver, or just plain kiasu that this will happen. This is regardless of hazard light or signal.

You meant you have never encounter when you were slowing down gradually and the driver behind still keep coming close when it's common sense for the driver behind to know that you are going to park? I have.

Some maybe really oblivious, some could be just doing it purposely because no indication was given. Because I have some really follow closely when the stopping is either gradual or fast. But I can't really call them dimwits or idiots just because I have a sense that they may just like to follow closely behind in a carpark.

Some drivers are plainly out to annoy others or simply too impatient or live by the principle of right-of-way, no matter what I do can make them from follow closely in a carpark. Some just lack common sense. :D

what happens if the car behind is following too closely?

i am quite perplexed also.

nowadays, I am used to hazard lights when parking but my uncle will say, "On what hazard lights? Signal left or right can already!"

But then if I use left or right signal, others may think I am turning left or right.

anyway, majority of drivers I see use hazard lights for parking.

in fact, i never seen a driver using left/right signal for parking.

also, many drivers forgetting to turn off hazard lights after parking, if u notice.

One disadvantage of using hazard lights, I guess.

Edited by Yapahfai

what happens if the car behind is following too closely?

i am quite perplexed also.

nowadays, I am used to hazard lights when parking but my uncle will say, "On what hazard lights? Signal left or right can already!"

But then if I use left or right signal, others may think I am turning left or right.

anyway, majority of drivers I see use hazard lights for parking.

in fact, i never seen a driver using left/right signal for parking.

also, many drivers forgetting to turn off hazard lights after parking, if u notice.

One disadvantage of using hazard lights, I guess.

the HAZRARDs of hazard lights [laugh][laugh]

Bro you are right...a few of us here STILL practice what is taught in skool

You meant you have never encounter when you were slowing down gradually and the driver behind still keep coming close when it's common sense for the driver behind to know that you are going to park? I have.

Some maybe really oblivious, some could be just doing it purposely because no indication was given. Because I have some really follow closely when the stopping is either gradual or fast. But I can't really call them dimwits or idiots just because I have a sense that they may just like to follow closely behind in a carpark.

Some drivers are plainly out to annoy others or simply too impatient or live by the principle of right-of-way, no matter what I do can make them from follow closely in a carpark. Some just lack common sense. :D

Thats why I said its how and where you stop. Come close, sure when I don't signal. With signaling I've never had the need for anyone to reverse for me.

the HAZRARDs of hazard lights [laugh][laugh]

Bro you are right...a few of us here STILL practice what is taught in skool

Concurs. I still use signal light. If the car in the back comes too close, i still put on my reverse gear & slowly reverse into them.