Ahgong Supercharged November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 That guy should either put hazard or signal. Either way you would have seen it. But he has done neither. The other way to not follow too close, leave 2-3 car length in between. Just in case meet this last minute driver. you obviously never go to Nex car park before. how to leave 2-3 car lengths? the other nefarious car park is the people's park one. the one opposite, at smith street also the same. impossible to leave 2-3 car lengths wan. got half car length tao chio liow loh. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 (edited) Funny thing I saw just now at the Marina South pier along the Marina Coastal Drive. Outside the small carpark there are many signage and cameras installed to deter ppl from stopping along the road. The penalty, written big big, $300 fine plus 3 demerit points. This silver colour mpv came along, parking in front of one of the cameras. Hazard light on, I dunno what's their purpose there. three men came out including the driver. Smoked, spit, talk cock for a good half and hour. Next to them a fire hydrant and just ahead of them the bus bay. I'm like thinking are these ppl from outer space? After that, they left. So weird. Good way to contribute to road building/maintainence I guess. I was queueing to get into the small carpark btw. Hazard light on doesn't mean anything. Edited November 15, 2016 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 Funny thing I saw just now at the Marina South pier along the Marina Coastal Drive. Outside the small carpark there are many signage and cameras installed to deter ppl from stopping along the road. The penalty, written big big, $300 fine plus 3 demerit points. This silver colour mpv came along, parking in front of one of the cameras. Hazard light on, I dunno what's their purpose there. three men came out including the driver. Smoked, spit, talk cock for a good half and hour. Next to them a fire hydrant and just ahead of them the bus bay. I'm like thinking are these ppl from outer space? After that, they left. So weird. Good way to contribute to road building/maintainence I guess. I was queueing to get into the small carpark btw. Hazard light on doesn't mean anything. They got $, and garmen loves these kind of ppl ... nation contribution Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 Those that high beam I support this IMG_9828.JPG I want..how to get one? to be clear, i use signal indicators....but hor..99% use hazards.... when waiting, perhaps hazards, but when starting to go into the lot, use signal. Tio bo? To be serious..when you about to take up a lot..just peek at the rear mirror..if another car follow too close than use hazard light. Otherwise just stick to signal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 you obviously never go to Nex car park before. how to leave 2-3 car lengths? the other nefarious car park is the people's park one. the one opposite, at smith street also the same. impossible to leave 2-3 car lengths wan. got half car length tao chio liow loh. The best solution. On hazard light once you enter the carpark..all know you going to park soon once lot is available. Aiya..use rear mirror to see the any following vehicles behind and react accordingly. Only one exception..lady driver during suv. Hazard light don't mean a thing to them..they still want to squeeze through. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SWUBIZ 2nd Gear November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 actually i find it useful to turn n the hazard lights in advance that you are gonna be an "obstruction" to the road while parking. the other day, was following a car up the carpark, and he went past quite a few empty lots, then farker suddenly stopped. I stopped behind the fella wondering what happened. Reverse lights on, and started to reverse without due care of whether there is space or not, to try and park at the empty lot just in front of my car. I got cars behind me and could not execute a reverse to make space. Joker actually hogged up the whole chain of about 5 cars, all have to reverse in order to make way for the farker. TMD. so, turning on the hazard lights to indicate you are going to park is kinda a good indicator to the driver behind that you are gonna do something other than drive forward. that is a good thing. no? I agree with u ahgong. if u know u are gonna be a obstruction cos u gonna park or due to whatever reason , on the hazard light to let motorists behind be aware of your intention. if no signal, nobody will ever know what's your intention, motorists are not mind readers. and also, if ever there is an accident due to a motorist being an obstruction on rd or carpark, one of the thing that he shld write on the report is he has on the hazard light in advance to warn others of his intention (provided he really on it) it's always gd to on the hazard light in advance when necessary. just some thoughts :) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 (edited) I agree with u ahgong. if u know u are gonna be a obstruction cos u gonna park or due to whatever reason , on the hazard light to let motorists behind be aware of your intention. if no signal, nobody will ever know what's your intention, motorists are not mind readers. and also, if ever there is an accident due to a motorist being an obstruction on rd or carpark, one of the thing that he shld write on the report is he has on the hazard light in advance to warn others of his intention (provided he really on it) it's always gd to on the hazard light in advance when necessary. just some thoughts :) I disagree on one of your point here. Only Singapore driver doesn't know the meaning of left/right indicators. Oversea driving indicators will do for parking. Don't even need hazard light. Hazard light only for very bad weather condition;snow/fog. Same go to front fog light. I don't know the reason I have been seeing suv driving with fog light on lately. Why Singapore car doesn't come with indicator I have no answer. Maybe TP/LTA can answer. Edited November 15, 2016 by Kopites 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 I disagree on one of your point here. Only Singapore driver doesn't know the meaning of left/right indicators. Oversea driving indicators will do for parking. Don't even need hazard light. Hazard light only for very bad weather condition;snow/fog. Same go to front fog light. I don't know the reason I have been seeing suv driving with fog light on lately. Why Singapore car doesn't come with indicator I have no answer. Maybe TP/LTA can answer. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 By right, supposed to signal to the side with the target parking lot, correct? Dunno why but SG think it's better to use hazard lights and don't understand when you signal one side to park. Don't need to look at country with season. Just across the bridge..a signal to the right/left will do. Most..hmm..change to all the times is Singapore plate car trying to squeeze through while another car in the mid of parking. By right, supposed to signal to the side with the target parking lot, correct? Dunno why but SG think it's better to use hazard lights and don't understand when you signal one side to park. I always on one side of indicator while waiting for a lot. Is cost effective to has one bulb blown than change two sides of hazard light bulbs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 Nah! In this thread Our Ref: LTA/P&P/F20.017.000/6848/1/VT Tel : 63961626 Fax : 63961650 Dear Sir PROPER USE OF HAZARD LIGHTS FEEDBACK NUMBER: 605164 Please allow us to explain that hazard warning lights are fitted on vehicles to warn other persons of the presence of a temporary obstruction on the road. The hazard warning lights are useful in the following scenarios when a vehicle is stationary, or slow moving, or about to be pulled to a stationary position. However, during heavy downpour when the visibility is poor, it is dangerous to use the hazard warning lights while the vehicle is on the move. This is because it is likely to cause an accident as lane change indication will not be discernable to other road users as both lights are flashing. The enforcement officers from the Land Transport Authority (LTA) and Traffic Police (TP) are empowered to take action against any person who uses a vehicle in a manner likely to cause danger to other road user. The enforcement officers will exercise their discretion on the extent of danger it may pose before taking any action. We thank you for your feedback. Yours sincerely (SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES) Celine Quek (Ms) Deputy Manager Community Engagement & Feedback *We invite you to share your views on land transport related issues with us at http://talk2lta.lta.gov.sg. Now, you can also send us your feedback via SMS at "77LTA" (77582). cc Traffic Police Email: [email protected] This gonna go as another hogger vs gater issue 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 (edited) Only one exception..lady driver during suv. Hazard light don't mean a thing to them..they still want to squeeze through.Very true. I was doing a reverse vertical parking (with my hazard lights on bright bright early early) when this auntie in her Ultimate Driving Machine behind me keep inching towards me until I can no longer straighten my car. I didn't bother to horn her just stopped my car and gave her an expressionless look. After about 15 secs (yes I timed it just for fun) of her brain overclocking to compute the situation - you block me I can't finish my parking you also can't move along - she finally gave a frustrated look at me and reversed to allow me room to complete my parking. My theory is their brains are engineered to cheong asap for any lobang on promotion special offers so they apply the same concept on the road too. Edited November 15, 2016 by Jellandross 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 Wow, this planet still got people use LOTUS NOTE ??? No wonder the garment need to CUT OFF the INTERNET from their Network. Nah!In this threadOur Ref: LTA/P&P/F20.017.000/6848/1/VTTel : 63961626Fax : 63961650Dear SirPROPER USE OF HAZARD LIGHTSFEEDBACK NUMBER: 605164Please allow us to explain that hazard warning lights are fitted on vehicles to warn other persons of the presence of a temporary obstruction on the road. The hazard warning lights are useful in the following scenarios when a vehicle is stationary, or slow moving, or about to be pulled to a stationary position. However, during heavy downpour when the visibility is poor, it is dangerous to use the hazard warning lights while the vehicle is on the move. This is because it is likely to cause an accident as lane change indication will not be discernable to other road users as both lights are flashing.The enforcement officers from the Land Transport Authority (LTA) and Traffic Police (TP) are empowered to take action against any person who uses a vehicle in a manner likely to cause danger to other road user. The enforcement officers will exercise their discretion on the extent of danger it may pose before taking any action.We thank you for your feedback.Yours sincerely(SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES)Celine Quek (Ms)Deputy ManagerCommunity Engagement & Feedback*We invite you to share your views on land transport related issues with us at http://talk2lta.lta.gov.sg. Now, you can also send us your feedback via SMS at "77LTA" (77582).ccTraffic PoliceEmail: [email protected]This gonna go as another hogger vs gater issue 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SWUBIZ 2nd Gear November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 Nah! In this thread Our Ref: LTA/P&P/F20.017.000/6848/1/VT Tel : 63961626 Fax : 63961650 Dear Sir PROPER USE OF HAZARD LIGHTS FEEDBACK NUMBER: 605164 Please allow us to explain that hazard warning lights are fitted on vehicles to warn other persons of the presence of a temporary obstruction on the road. The hazard warning lights are useful in the following scenarios when a vehicle is stationary, or slow moving, or about to be pulled to a stationary position. However, during heavy downpour when the visibility is poor, it is dangerous to use the hazard warning lights while the vehicle is on the move. This is because it is likely to cause an accident as lane change indication will not be discernable to other road users as both lights are flashing. The enforcement officers from the Land Transport Authority (LTA) and Traffic Police (TP) are empowered to take action against any person who uses a vehicle in a manner likely to cause danger to other road user. The enforcement officers will exercise their discretion on the extent of danger it may pose before taking any action. We thank you for your feedback. Yours sincerely (SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES) Celine Quek (Ms) Deputy Manager Community Engagement & Feedback *We invite you to share your views on land transport related issues with us at http://talk2lta.lta.gov.sg. Now, you can also send us your feedback via SMS at "77LTA" (77582). cc Traffic Police Email: [email protected] This gonna go as another hogger vs gater issue RadX, thank you for this! it cleared many things up. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 Nah! In this thread Our Ref: LTA/P&P/F20.017.000/6848/1/VT Tel : 63961626 Fax : 63961650 Dear Sir PROPER USE OF HAZARD LIGHTS FEEDBACK NUMBER: 605164 Please allow us to explain that hazard warning lights are fitted on vehicles to warn other persons of the presence of a temporary obstruction on the road. The hazard warning lights are useful in the following scenarios when a vehicle is stationary, or slow moving, or about to be pulled to a stationary position. However, during heavy downpour when the visibility is poor, it is dangerous to use the hazard warning lights while the vehicle is on the move. This is because it is likely to cause an accident as lane change indication will not be discernable to other road users as both lights are flashing. The enforcement officers from the Land Transport Authority (LTA) and Traffic Police (TP) are empowered to take action against any person who uses a vehicle in a manner likely to cause danger to other road user. The enforcement officers will exercise their discretion on the extent of danger it may pose before taking any action. We thank you for your feedback. Yours sincerely (SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES) Celine Quek (Ms) Deputy Manager Community Engagement & Feedback *We invite you to share your views on land transport related issues with us at http://talk2lta.lta.gov.sg. Now, you can also send us your feedback via SMS at "77LTA" (77582). cc Traffic Police Email: [email protected] This gonna go as another hogger vs gater issue OMG I actually recognise the words "Lotus Notes". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 Nah! In this thread Our Ref: LTA/P&P/F20.017.000/6848/1/VT Tel : 63961626 Fax : 63961650 Dear Sir PROPER USE OF HAZARD LIGHTS FEEDBACK NUMBER: 605164 Please allow us to explain that hazard warning lights are fitted on vehicles to warn other persons of the presence of a temporary obstruction on the road. The hazard warning lights are useful in the following scenarios when a vehicle is stationary, or slow moving, or about to be pulled to a stationary position. However, during heavy downpour when the visibility is poor, it is dangerous to use the hazard warning lights while the vehicle is on the move. This is because it is likely to cause an accident as lane change indication will not be discernable to other road users as both lights are flashing. The enforcement officers from the Land Transport Authority (LTA) and Traffic Police (TP) are empowered to take action against any person who uses a vehicle in a manner likely to cause danger to other road user. The enforcement officers will exercise their discretion on the extent of danger it may pose before taking any action. We thank you for your feedback. Yours sincerely (SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES) Celine Quek (Ms) Deputy Manager Community Engagement & Feedback *We invite you to share your views on land transport related issues with us at http://talk2lta.lta.gov.sg. Now, you can also send us your feedback via SMS at "77LTA" (77582). cc Traffic Police Email: [email protected] This gonna go as another hogger vs gater issue Next time can submit "feedback" to TP online liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 Knn that reply is 2012 la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 Knn that reply is 2012 laI also knn..that mean those obtain their licence after 2012 dont know the existence of such rule. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SWUBIZ 2nd Gear November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 I disagree on one of your point here. Only Singapore driver doesn't know the meaning of left/right indicators. Oversea driving indicators will do for parking. Don't even need hazard light. Hazard light only for very bad weather condition;snow/fog. Same go to front fog light. I don't know the reason I have been seeing suv driving with fog light on lately. Why Singapore car doesn't come with indicator I have no answer. Maybe TP/LTA can answer. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...