Expat telling SG to leave OUR OWN land

Fsn3576

IMO local ppl are easily hurt by words foreigners say. If these ppl say bad things to me, I will just laugh it off and comment that they CMI in their own land. Why get so upset? They will only laugh at you.

Yes, just ignore it lah.

But I agree with one of the comments that says somehow we have developed a kind of "complex" after the past many years of being treated like 'sheep' and cowed (ok, forgive the pun!) by draconian rules and laws.

Why the foreigner given so-called "preferential treatment"?? It is because they tend to be more assertive, so the sales or serving staff want to avoid possible confrontation. Thus, give in to them easily. When the same staff sees a local, deemed quieter and non-assertive, the reaction of course will be different. So you can see that the solution is a big mindset change to develop more assertiveness and "pushiness".

thats why I eat at kopi tiam,no stress and no service charge. [pirate]

wrong............ some bloody kopitiam with parking facilities are [knife] . Like the one opersite Compass Point.

Have to use their kopitiam card at exit.... [mad]

Ordinary hdb coffee shop is the best ...

Edited by Picnic06

aiyah...u jus got to act class next time.... knn...now service staff flooded with so many foreigners...try this ok, look into their eyes to have the connection, then smile....then you look at their name tag if any....call them by their name...Eg,

You: Hi there (Smile) and pause

Waitress: Yes sir, how many of you?

You: Jus the 2 of us, oh yes, could you help me to secure 2 corner seats, pls... (Smile)

Waitress: Sir, our corner seats are reserved for threesome... :o

You: Look into her eyes, Mary, thanks my wife and I would like some privacy and I understand you do have an empty space over there there (pt it to her)...can I take that? (Smile big big).

Waitress: Ok sir, this way....

You: Thank you so much Mary, you are such a sweet girl...hand me a complimentary note, I need to pen it down and so that your mgt can recognise your effort....

The rest are history and you will get good service for the rest of your time in the restaurant... Remember to tip her a little...next time you there, you can "zoom in" .....

wrong............ some bloody kopitiam with parking facilities are [knife] . Like the one opersite Compass Point.

Didnt know that, you mean the carpark only for kopitiam card holder to park?! [rolleyes]

aiyah...u jus got to act class next time.... knn...now service staff flooded with so many foreigners...try this ok, look into their eyes to have the connection, then smile....then you look at their name tag if any....call them by their name...Eg,

You: Jus the 2 of us, oh yes, could you help me to secure 2 corner seats, pls... (Smile)

You: Look into her eyes, Mary, thanks my wife and I would like some privacy and I understand you do have an empty space over there there (pt it to her)...can I take that? (Smile big big).

You: Thank you so much Mary, you are such a sweet girl...hand me a complimentary note, I need to pen it down and so that your mgt can recognise your effort....

The rest are history and you will get good service for the rest of your time in the restaurant... Remember to tip her a little...next time you there, you can "zoom in" .....

You sure you wouldn't get it from your wife for trying to hit on the waitress? [laugh]

can you do a local version? [laugh]

[thumbsup] [thumbsup]

Nobody got the right...NOT EVEN FTs... to...

FARK and criticise Sinkie...

EXCEPT...

ME! :D

Hmm...that does hold water you know. :mellow:

you still ki tio tio of this incident? [laugh]

Hmm...that does hold water you know. :mellow:

There is some imporant correction to your definition of a Sinkie... :D

A person who does nothing but whine and bixtch about the country and political system in any and every possible opportunity and eventually accepts the shxt and gets screwed every now and then but considers it a Godsend, whenever his Master tells him that he needed to be screwed for his own good.

You sure you wouldn't get it from your wife for trying to hit on the waitress? [laugh]

No...after my wife knows me for so long...she knows how I will always try to get around the system be it a male or female...I did this to a male also...and he also feels shiok when I make him feel like god... [laugh]

Yes, just ignore it lah.

But I agree with one of the comments that says somehow we have developed a kind of "complex" after the past many years of being treated like 'sheep' and cowed (ok, forgive the pun!) by draconian rules and laws.

Why the foreigner given so-called "preferential treatment"?? It is because they tend to be more assertive, so the sales or serving staff want to avoid possible confrontation. Thus, give in to them easily. When the same staff sees a local, deemed quieter and non-assertive, the reaction of course will be different. So you can see that the solution is a big mindset change to develop more assertiveness and "pushiness".

Actually I don't agree with this -

I find that one of the major differences can be that "expats" know how to ask for something in a way that makes people want to help them, "singaporeans" know how to demand in a way that makes it a chore to help them.

YES - this is a gross generalisation and terrible sterotyping - its just my perception.