Jolie888 Clutched May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 HDB is supposed to be a home to live in - not an investment. "Subsidised" housing is not needed if all you want is to make money and have somewhere else to live right? I will answer this for Sabbie. For me, HDB will never be a viable long-term investment. I just want the 1st cherry from Govt subsidy. Worthwhile, due to it's relatively lower initial capital outlay. Govt give free money ... you don't want? Then after that re-focus on private developments only. My children will start young, so to ensure that they get to bite the cherry before their combined incomes hit >$10K. We had started young too, but that time, ceiling was very low single-digit. So never had the chance. Don't know what cherry tastes like ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 But why assume that staying in a condo always give a better qualify of life? some hdb near alot of amenities and good food, can translate into better quality of life. Issit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 By the way - $650k + COV is actually really high for a HDB - for a comparable size / location condo you are probably looking at $1.5 million. My block is now selling for a little over $500k - for comparably sized condo, nearest is water town, which even that is going for about $1.3 for same size. Deposit on 1.3 million is $260,000 - and your monthly mortgage will be $4,965 per month In comparison, A $260,000 deposit on a $550,00 HDB will leave you with a mortgage of $1385.00 Also remember to add in the Stamp duty when calculating your upfront cash Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 Issit? yeah you go look at the flats beside the pioneer Stadium, there so nice machaim like live in condo. cause stadium downstair nia. Anyway, what quality of life when most condo are now few with FW. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 Its a matter of perspective and what you're giving up. I look to some of the places I stayed growing up, and also the balance now if I were to stay in Condo vs HDB. Right now, the family is perfectly happy in our HDB. Sure it would be nicer to stay in a condo, but I look towards what I would be giving up (in terms of income) vs what I would be gaining by staying in the HDB - and I feel that I would be better served to stay in HDB and then use the "extra" income from Condo to finance other things.... Thanks for your perspective in life. But I think I would put quality in my living surroundings higher. In the end, they would have both and I will let them decide what they want to do. That would be most fair! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear May 7, 2012 Author Share May 7, 2012 (edited) But why assume that staying in a condo always give a better qualify of life? some hdb near alot of amenities and good food, can translate into better quality of life. Actually .. i have to agree that staying in some condo gives a better quality of life.. esp those crowded with middle-class singaporean. Again. you need to realised that jolie888 is comparing high-class condo in CCR and her post indicates that she is in the higher-middle or upper class of our society.. So to eating out will properly mean eating in high-class resturant.. and hawker is only for "education" purpose to her children/grandchildren.. She probably also dun need MRT and other convenience. Edited May 7, 2012 by Jrage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear May 7, 2012 Author Share May 7, 2012 oI!! My block got TWO ang mo - me and some Irish bloke... I think we both look gorgeous i think we will see more and more ang mo ard soon :) with the low employment rate in Europe and the pending tax increase in U/S and European countries.. Many will be flocking to SG where the unemployment rate is only 2%. Whether or not these new angmo gets expats' package, it will still beat being unemployed in europe. On the other hand, i will think many chinese will be heading home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 Actually .. i have to agree that staying in some condo gives a better quality of life.. esp those crowded with middle-class singaporean. Again. you need to realised that jolie888 is comparing high-class condo in CCR and her post indicates that she is in the higher-middle or upper class of our society.. So to eating out will properly mean eating in high-class resturant.. and hawker is only for "education" purpose to her children/grandchildren.. She probably also dun need MRT and other convenience. Yep - A condo is definitely a lot better than HDB - its just a matter of exactly how much money you have. I feel its much better to be finanancially comfortable in a lesser house, and not have to worry about things like tuition fees, car payments, eating out etc, then to live in a nice condo but be having to scrimp on the other things. Or conversely I would rather live in a 5 room (110 sqm) HDB than squeeze into a 85 sqm condo (if that's the decision you are making) If course, if you can live in a big big condo, and not worry about budget - then that's the best option. But it that's you, then you don't really have any business buying a HDB in the first place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 But why assume that staying in a condo always give a better qualify of life? some hdb near alot of amenities and good food, can translate into better quality of life. I am not sure if condo gives a better quality of life or not, but my experience tells me that for condo, 1) I feel safer for my car and my home. 2) Less chance of rowdy neighbors. My neighbours are all professionals. 3) I got a gym to use which is improtant to me 4) Much more quiet. I hate coming back home and hear noisy surroundings. However, mine is a 100++ unit type of condo. For mass ones like 600++ units and above, I think it will diverge close to HDB quality of living. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 I am not sure if condo gives a better quality of life or not, but my experience tells me that for condo, 1) I feel safer for my car and my home. 2) Less chance of rowdy neighbors. My neighbours are all professionals. 3) I got a gym to use which is improtant to me 4) Much more quiet. I hate coming back home and hear noisy surroundings. However, mine is a 100++ unit type of condo. For mass ones like 600++ units and above, I think it will diverge close to HDB quality of living. you must declare which type of condo because. 1) when ceiling leaking, complain your neighbour they dont care about you, you also LL 2) Now aday Condo got lots of FW (not FT hor) staying inside and every weekend get all their friends to join them at the pool 3) HDB some got Gym very near 4) look at point 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 oI!! My block got TWO ang mo - me and some Irish bloke... I think we both look gorgeous ahem....u both dun get dirty looks for allegedly stealing ppl's jobs meh?..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear May 7, 2012 Author Share May 7, 2012 (edited) personally, i think only a very very small number of flats give better quality of life. i.e. those flat at tiong bahru. If you stay in those flat, it will only take you 10-20mins to reach office in cbd. You spend the least time on the road,compare to your colleagues, in fact even your bosses staying in D9/10/11. Then you have more family time, which is priceless.. Edited May 7, 2012 by Jrage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 you must declare which type of condo because. 1) when ceiling leaking, complain your neighbour they dont care about you, you also LL 2) Now aday Condo got lots of FW (not FT hor) staying inside and every weekend get all their friends to join them at the pool 3) HDB some got Gym very near 4) look at point 2 For once I agree with you, must see what kinda condo, some condo actually more dangerous than hdb, for example when I went Melville Park to view a unit, that time I poor man cannot afford any more expensive condo, this indian kid threw something at me from upstairs! later on I found out that a lot of indians stay there and not those smart indian doctors lawyers kind and I swear never to buy a unit there.... okie this is in district 18 so cannot say...one day I went to a district 9 condo to fetch my mistress and guess what...most of the unit rented out to prcs and ah bengs with ang kongs....I guess you guys can guess that it's called pacific mansion....so not all condos necessarily better than hdb....some hdb downstairs got coffee shops, supermarkets, covered carparks, near sports complexes....so it's really quite good....and this is from a guy that never stay hdb for the past 20 years.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 ahem....u both dun get dirty looks for allegedly stealing ppl's jobs meh?..... Nope - nobody wants to be a floor measurer I guess.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 personally, i think only a very very small number of flats give better quality of life. i.e. those flat at tiong bahru. If you stay in those flat, it will only take you 10-20mins to reach office in cbd. You spend the least time on the road,compare to your colleagues, in fact even your bosses staying in D9/10/11. Then you have more family time, which is priceless.. dont be siao lah Jrage, flats in tiong bahru are terrible. overcrowded with cars and noisy like hell. plus got bird problem.... other then the distance to city center, tiong bahru is crap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 (edited) you must declare which type of condo because. 1) when ceiling leaking, complain your neighbour they dont care about you, you also LL 2) Now aday Condo got lots of FW (not FT hor) staying inside and every weekend get all their friends to join them at the pool 3) HDB some got Gym very near 4) look at point 2 As I've said , an estate is only as good as the people living there. if you got a condo filled with CMI, ratracing, wannabes, upstarts, then good luck. (read: those who think that living in a condo is damn steady, nose high high type) a HDB can been more harmonious and pleasant to live in. My condo is probably 80% FTs (not the middle management kind) and i have no problems waving and saying hi or having a chit chat at the pool. Edited May 7, 2012 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 Talent i think is only found in singapore There is this Aussie joke on the Kiwis. Now, over the last couple of decades, there have been more NZers emigrating to Oz. While the Oz govt makes it very easy for the Kiwis, the Aussies (like SGeans here) are not really in favor of it. So the saying goes: As more and more NZers emigrate to Oz, the average IQ level of BOTH countries will drop! Funnie right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic May 7, 2012 Share May 7, 2012 (edited) There is this Aussie joke on the Kiwis. Now, over the last couple of decades, there have been more NZers emigrating to Oz. While the Oz govt makes it very easy for the Kiwis, the Aussies (like SGeans here) are not really in favor of it. So the saying goes: As more and more NZers emigrate to Oz, the average IQ level of BOTH countries will drop! Funnie right? I thought it is supposed to rise as the joke is on the Ozzies. Edited May 7, 2012 by Voodooman ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...