Pisces69 6th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Fluid low can be indication of leak. If you have drum brakes, chances are the brake piston can be leaky. Another reason why bfluid drop is cos the brake pads or drum shoes wear n fluid wil drop. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 This is the most easiest and cheapest ways to check the car battery and alternator working condition. The battery may still fail because of, e.g. load. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Ya that's wat my mechanic said over the phone But I can't go down tdy , very rush Tmr I flying Jus top up with dot 4 to Max n monitor from there Cos year start I jus replace all new pad n piston Maybe that x top up fluid n slowly subside that's y now slightly Abv min Hope there's no leak If I come back n level drop, that's it Did u chk n cfm yr handbook yr car can use Dot 4?????????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Another reason why bfluid drop is cos the brake pads or drum shoes wear n fluid wil drop. Yes of coz. But pad wear normally is not that serious enough to cause fluid to drop below and triggering the light. I have many experience with serious loss of fluid and none of them related to pad wear. Even when my pad was totally worn down and grinding the rotor, it did not have the brake light coming out...but that's another situation...and totally my fault. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Did u chk n cfm yr handbook yr car can use Dot 4?????????? My used car no hand book But my fren dtiving old ek civic n my Ws mech I calk say get dot 4 Seeing it's small amount think it's ok ba Ha ha What will be the effect?? Till now the warning light nb come up I will see tmr morning one last x Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Yes of coz. But pad wear normally is not that serious enough to cause fluid to drop below and triggering the light. I have many experience with serious loss of fluid and none of them related to pad wear. Even when my pad was totally worn down and grinding the rotor, it did not have the brake light coming out...but that's another situation...and totally my fault. Hahaha. Ya the warning light is more to warn of leaks cos usually when u change pads/shoes, u wil also chk n flush n top-up the brake fluid. But I ever had my pads wear down n the brake warning light did come on to warn me to top-up the brakefluid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 My used car no hand book But my fren dtiving old ek civic n my Ws mech I calk say get dot 4 Seeing it's small amount think it's ok ba Ha ha What will be the effect?? Till now the warning light nb come up I will see tmr morning one last x Dot 4 also hv 2 types if Im not mistaken. Synthetic n mineral. U cannot mix. If u use one type n wan to change to the other, u need to do a through flush of the system first. U can try to Google on brake fluids especially Dot 4 for more info. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 The battery may still fail because of, e.g. load. The 12Volt car meter is just a metering indicator reads the car battery cell performing status, loading and charging source is from alternator amperage regulated by appropriate loading discharge capacity, over-loading would cause damage to the car battery if this regulator fail. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Yes of coz. But pad wear normally is not that serious enough to cause fluid to drop below and triggering the light. I have many experience with serious loss of fluid and none of them related to pad wear. Even when my pad was totally worn down and grinding the rotor, it did not have the brake light coming out...but that's another situation...and totally my fault. My brake fluid ever dropped in some levels due to the wear of the brake pads/drums. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 My used car no hand book But my fren dtiving old ek civic n my Ws mech I calk say get dot 4 Seeing it's small amount think it's ok ba Ha ha What will be the effect?? Till now the warning light nb come up I will see tmr morning one last x Usually I won't encourage top up of brake fluid. I would advocate change out the old fluid totally and add new fluid in. Considering your urgent circumstances, this is probably the best option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Usually I won't encourage top up of brake fluid. I would advocate change out the old fluid totally and add new fluid in. Considering your urgent circumstances, this is probably the best option. My mech actually say top up to drive down to Ws But I see the timing n my work I top up n leave it till I'm back Sometimes things are jus coincidence Ha ha My rides usually seldom brrwakdown Got once took leave go hdb choose flat with wife n son Radiator burst knn Stay at Ws few hours Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 My mech actually say top up to drive down to Ws But I see the timing n my work I top up n leave it till I'm back Sometimes things are jus coincidence Ha ha My rides usually seldom brrwakdown Got once took leave go hdb choose flat with wife n son Radiator burst knn Stay at Ws few hours U never take care of yr car hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 My brake fluid ever dropped in some levels due to the wear of the brake pads/drums. Assuming starting off with full brake fluid and new pads, my experience is that the wear down of pads down to the "change" time, will drop the fluid level, but usually not enough to trigger the brake lamp. So when someone sees the brake lamp and the handbrake is off, they should not merely top up brake fluid and be happy. A check for leaks is needed. Topping up brake level could be just covering up the problem. Leaks drop the fluid fairly quickly. It can come from the joints, drum brake pistons, master brake cylinder or others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 U never take care of yr car hor. Simi la If I nb take care of my ride How to save $ on repairs ha ha This time time really have to gamble Liao la Ha ha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 U never take care of yr car hor. He might have many other "rides" to take care of....so can't cope! We should be understanding lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 Assuming starting off with full brake fluid and new pads, my experience is that the wear down of pads down to the "change" time, will drop the fluid level, but usually not enough to trigger the brake lamp. So when someone sees the brake lamp and the handbrake is off, they should not merely top up brake fluid and be happy. A check for leaks is needed. Topping up brake level could be just covering up the problem. Leaks drop the fluid fairly quickly. It can come from the joints, drum brake pistons, master brake cylinder or others. Correct. When it happened to mine, my workshop checked thoroughly the entire brake system and noted that there was no leakage or faulty parts but only the wear portion of the pads. This was verified again before they gave an affirmative answer to change what was needed to be changed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 Simi la If I nb take care of my ride How to save $ on repairs ha ha This time time really have to gamble Liao la Ha ha Ya when u return, chk if yr car can take the Dot 4 u put in first. If cannot, u need to flush the whole brake fluid out. Anyway I think u never done that b4, right? Well then its about time. Brakefluid if left too long wil absorb moisture n cause it to b ineffective like poor pedal feel or spongy. Also the moisture can cause the metal components to rust then leak. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 He might have many other "rides" to take care of....so can't cope! We should be understanding lah... Ya now he go overseas to ride horse n maybe bicycle. Come back sure got back pain. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...