Tailgaters

Philipkee

If you have your GPS on your vehicle, you can see that your speedometer and GPS speed reading are different.

Your speedometer might be reading at 90KM/h but your GPS will show you that you are travelling at 85 ~ 86 km/h... [:(]

Your GPS reading is more accurate as it is base on satelite above... -_-

I agree that GPS speed is more accurate. I've tried using Google My Tracks to compute my average daily distance travelled and also the average speed with instanteneous reading of the speed. It's usually 10km/h slower than what you see on the speedometer.

Due to tire size bro

Last time my ex ride cs3 on 195 55 15

Meter n gps off 10

Now my ts 195 65 15

Meter n gps jun jun

But I rather use 55 reading off a bit nvm

65 v hard to corner man

Every time hear the tyre screeching sound

Haha

Due to tire size bro

Last time my ex ride cs3 on 195 55 15

Meter n gps off 10

Now my ts 195 65 15

Meter n gps jun jun

But I rather use 55 reading off a bit nvm

65 v hard to corner man

Every time hear the tyre screeching sound

Haha

Oh... is tyre size?

If I'm not wrong mine is F1 235/45/17... also got tyre screeching sound... everytime do U-Turn... even at extremely foot-on-nowhere slow speed.

Hi Bro,

In daylight hours, with moderate traffic on the expressway, I usually keep to about 100 km/h, since in moderate traffic, the other 2 lanes are usually filled with slower traffic (<90 km/h). If I see another car coming up fast on my rearview mirror and traffic on my left allows, I will filter left and let him thru, that is assuming he is not going so fast (way above 100km/h) that I cannot safely move to the left.

Remember, the traffic laws in Singapore are very clear cut when it comes to exceeding of the speed limit, we are running a risk of getting caught by the TP if we exceed 90km/h. Even on the right lane (lane 1).

Tickets for road hogging offences are rare for a reason, and they are never issued for anyone travelling at 90km/h on the right lane, unless he is obstructing an emergency vehicle or something else with lights and siren (police car, fire engine etc).

There is no law in Singapore that states only overtaking cars can be in the right lane, only courteous suggestion to "keep left unless overtaking", if only overtakers can drive in the right lane, we would have lost30~50% of our road capacity, does it make sense at all?

The roads are not racetracks. Practice safe and responsible driving on public roads.

Hi Bro,

In daylight hours, with moderate traffic on the expressway, I usually keep to about 100 km/h, since in moderate traffic, the other 2 lanes are usually filled with slower traffic (<90 km/h). If I see another car coming up fast on my rearview mirror and traffic on my left allows, I will filter left and let him thru, that is assuming he is not going so fast (way above 100km/h) that I cannot safely move to the left.

Remember, the traffic laws in Singapore are very clear cut when it comes to exceeding of the speed limit, we are running a risk of getting caught by the TP if we exceed 90km/h. Even on the right lane (lane 1).

Tickets for road hogging offences are rare for a reason, and they are never issued for anyone travelling at 90km/h on the right lane, unless he is obstructing an emergency vehicle or something else with lights and siren (police car, fire engine etc).

There is no law in Singapore that states only overtaking cars can be in the right lane, only courteous suggestion to "keep left unless overtaking", if only overtakers can drive in the right lane, we would have lost30~50% of our road capacity, does it make sense at all?

The roads are not racetracks. Practice safe and responsible driving on public roads.

If according to what you say, you wouldn't be road hogging.

Also, TP will not stop you if you are travelling at 100km/h on a 90km/h expressway, performing overtaking maneuvers safely. I have posted an official reply from TP about this matter before.

It is true that road hogging offences are seldom summoned, but if like what you say, that all cars have a right to be on the overtaking lane regardless of their vehicle speed and whether it is affecting traffic flow, then it does not make sense. From what I imagine, if all cars travel at 90km/h on all lanes, wouldn't it just be similar to a 3-track railway line? It is not wrong if you keep in the middle or left lane if you are not overtaking, but if you are struggling to overtake the immediate vehicle on your left, isn't it none the wiser to move out of the faster lane or as other bros say, "Give way."

I meant speed reading Off is due to tire size

But but u u turn at slow speed

Ur tyre screeching sound?????

Wa , u pull handbrake for u turn ar

Hahaha

Joking la

Slow speed tyre screech seems funny

Hahaha

Let some bro here from tyre shop advise u ba

There is one very helpful bro who owns a tyre shop

Cherrs

I meant speed reading Off is due to tire size

But but u u turn at slow speed

Ur tyre screeching sound?????

Wa , u pull handbrake for u turn ar

Hahaha

Joking la

Slow speed tyre screech seems funny

Hahaha

Let some bro here from tyre shop advise u ba

There is one very helpful bro who owns a tyre shop

Cherrs

Ya loh... must be the grip too damn good liao.

U r not wrong to say that

But to be nice

Give way is a good gesture lor

Let me put it this way

If u on sg pie

U speeding at 150 on first lane

There's a car behind u coming at 190

Of cse if he kiss u, he is wrong

But what if he is in a emergency

Eg his wife gng to delivery

Even if u r way above speed

But if situation allows u to switch to left jus to let him pass

Wun it be nice to everyone

U can go back to ur lane one no matter at 80 / 100 / 150

As long as no one behind u

For him, if he gng at 190 n tp were to catch him

That's his problem mah

His lic kam tong is his problem rite

U r not wrong jus give way lor

We wun know what's happening to other pple

I rem got once I also speeding damn fast to tmc cos my son high fever

I believed if tp is there

He will also escort me go

Later he wan summon me is my prob

See how I appeal lor

Fair?

Those who drive abroad

U really wun see hoggers on lane one

People overtake n kp left again

But recently I noticed sg rd alot drivers doing this

Maybe those r from mcf

Hahaha

Let's make sg roads better Plc to drive

But to be nice

Let me put it this way

If u on sg pie

U can go back to ur lane one no matter at 80 / 100 / 150

As long as no one behind u

For him, if he gng at 190 n tp were to catch him

That's his problem mah

His lic kam tong is his problem rite

U r not wrong jus give way lor

We wun know what's happening to other pple

I rem got once I also speeding damn fast to tmc cos my son high fever

I believed if tp is there

He will also escort me go

Later he wan summon me is my prob

See how I appeal lor

Fair?

Those who drive abroad

U really wun see hoggers on lane one

People overtake n kp left again

But recently I noticed sg rd alot drivers doing this

Maybe those r from mcf

Hahaha

Let's make sg roads better Plc to drive

That's why I don't bother to tailgate nowadays, undertake safely then let the cars behind do the 'poking'.

I remember 2 mths back when I was rushing to KTP Hospital from Raffles Place to see my grandma, travelled by CTE, traffic was moderate around 6PM. The overtaking lane was still moving at 95-100km/h, until near AMK near the overtaking lane had cars travelling at 70-80km/h, i signal no use, beam no use, horn also no use. Undertake also scared cause accident cos I in kancheong mode liao. Sianz half.

Made in Europe Goodyear ar?

Heard they r not bad

That's y I thinking

Wan Thai xm2 or Europe GY

Haha

Dunno ah... the guy never say. Anyway, the ones I have are last year's batch, so after this the price different liao. Might consider other brands liao.

Hi StefanK,

I am glad to be able to have an intelligent discussion here with you & brother Skyjet27.

My understanding about the 100km/h on 90km/h expressway "rule of thumb" leeway given by the TP is that it is to give allowance for speedometer error (~10%).

but if like what you say, that all cars have a right to be on the overtaking lane regardless of their vehicle speed and whether it is affecting traffic flow, then it does not make sense.

I think you misunderstood me here, I did mention somewhere else in my msg that one should not impede the flow of traffic in the right lane, but one should be mindful that any speed above 90 km/h is technically breaking the law. I am in total agreement that if someone finds himself struggling to overtake the car to the left of him, he should move to the left, out of Lane 1, problem here is, how can he slow down to do that lane change if there is a tailgater pushing him behind? [:p] He is blocked to the left by the car he is struggling to overtake remember?

From what I imagine, if all cars travel at 90km/h on all lanes, wouldn't it just be similar to a 3-track railway line?

Ah, you are thinking very clearly here my friend, and you see how ridiculous the traffic laws are in Singapore [:)]

Firstly, not all vehicles in SGP are allowed to travel at 90km/h, lorries and buses are restricted to 50~70km/h, they must keep to the left of course. Going by the letter of the law, you are allowed to overtake on the right (lane 1) provided you keep to below the speed limit (90km/h), but how to do that practically if the car on the middle lane is travelling at 90 already? :D I will be a hypocrite if I say I have never overtaken another car on the road which was going at 90km/h, but I will never mention in an open forum what speed I was overtaking him at [:p]

I cannot speak for everybody, but I always signal and filter left if I see someone coming up fast when I am in the right lane, provided I can do it safety and there are no cars in the left lane.

Damn tu lan this morning @ AYE one farker road hogger cruise at 80km/hour on ALL CLEAR road at right most lane.

I tailgated for 2 whole minute before deciding this is one serious road hogger who needed to be woken up from his stupid idea.

I cut into his lane from the left and cruise @ 60km/hour for a good 5 km.

Lucky I got time to play with them. He no choice but to stay behind me. Guess he understood what I mean.

Hi

If kanna kiss backside when travelling at 150, will be quite a major accident, many people dun realise off center impacts at that kind of speed can spin a car out into the guard rails. Not a simple bumper repair kinda accident.

Like I said, if I see the car coming up fast on my rear view mirror, I will move over safely, fair rite bro?

I nearly kanna hit by someone doing that kind of stunt on me a month ago, coming up way above 100km/h and switched to the middle lane at the last minute, nearly cliping the left corner of my bumper.

Forumers here commented I was a roadhog and deserve to get hit, "hope I learnt my lesson" even.

Wah, I was so "touched" by their brotherly show of care & affection.

He's having an emergency? Wife going to give birth? But if crash how? Birth of a child become funeral instead?

Think about it man.

Cheers & drive safe

But to be nice

Let me put it this way

If u on sg pie

Hi

If kanna kiss backside when travelling at 150, will be quite a major accident, many people dun realise off center impacts at that kind of speed can spin a car out into the guard rails. Not a simple bumper repair kinda accident.

Like I said, if I see the car coming up fast on my rear view mirror, I will move over safely, fair rite bro?

I nearly kanna hit by someone doing that kind of stunt on me a month ago, coming up way above 100km/h and switched to the middle lane at the last minute, nearly cliping the left corner of my bumper.

Forumers here commented I was a roadhog and deserve to get hit, "hope I learnt my lesson" even.

He's having an emergency? Wife going to give birth? But if crash how? Birth of a child become funeral instead?

Think about it man.

Cheers & drive safe

Keep to the left unless overtaking.

Edit: And don't take 20 years going about it either.

Edited by Moredhel

Hi

Think about it man.

Cheers & drive safe

The speeding driver has the choice and he choose to speed ..... if a childbirth becomes a funeral .... it would be becos of his bad decision making. However, if you road hog and cause the accident ... you are partly to be blamed. I hope that you have learnt a lesson....

If the funeral includes my own and that of my passengers, also my fault for driving at the posted speed limit??

Mine you, my encounter was on a Sunday afternoon, traffic was moderate and definately not conditions where one can travel at 120+ safely (if we disregard traffic laws).

I will not call what I did road hogging since I did not impede anyone else, even the speeding driver since he did not even get held up by me for a second, but he chose to dice with fate and undertake in a dangerous manner, "to teach me a lesson".

I learnt a lesson? What lesson should I learn? You want to teach me a lesson?

"Run one side" whenever I see a BMW coming is it?

Easy to be a keyboard hero here.

The speeding driver has the choice and he choose to speed ..... if a childbirth becomes a funeral .... it would be becos of his bad decision making. However, if you road hog and cause the accident ... you are partly to be blamed. I hope that you have learnt a lesson....

Edited by GTR78