GTR78 Neutral Newbie July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Is your XC90 white or silver? I think people are worried you from the Police Security Command You do know they drive unmarked XC90 among others right? Cheers and have a good day bro I also drive a normal NA car that is super heavy and 4wd leh... lagi worse right... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Sometimes it's not about patience to wait. For me, way before I move close to the hogger, I will see if the driver notice I am coming in fast, if not, I will assess situation and condition, signal, undertake, signal and 'blast off', without actually tailgating the vehicle and causing any inconvenience to any vehicles on the road. That is the safest way I assume, because it happens too fast for the vehicle to make any sudden or wrong decisions. He can still keep his speed and I can keep mine. +1 I do that too, I only go as fast I as I can comfortably see, observe the reaction of the driver in front I am gaining on and give some time for him/ her to register I am behind him and react accordingly (keep in his lane or move over to let me pass) If I am in a hurry and I can switch lane safely, I will just signal my intention and pass him safely on the left or the right (can I be considering "undertaking" if he is so slow on the lane to the right of me when I pass him?) I will not cut into a roadhogger's lane suddenly just to teach him a lesson, I have better things to do with my time so I just keep driving towards my destination. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 pls la bro ... i drive double TC also tio tail gaters le ... i would say 95% of the time, i give way to tail gater or i notice them coming up and quickly siam. its not about the car in SG bro, but the mentality. giving way is a difficult thing to do in SG it seems. today i was driving along a single lane with a side filter lane and one poor van waiting to merge. behind me .. at least 30 cars ... first 6-7 guys never give way le ... so i give way la. whether im driving gtr or tata nano i dont really care ... i do it cos i want to. im not preaching because i have also had to go to left lane and overtake the guy on lane 1 going 90. thankfully for me, i can drop 2 gears faster than the guy can even climb 10km/h ... i dont like to do it, but sometimes, if the front of him is empty and there's a long line behind me, i dont want to be the guy holding everyone up >< Yes bro.... it really isnt hard to give way to anyone... as long as the guy signals intentions early and merge or changes lane safely... all the discussion is going no where... cause tailgaters and road hoggers are actually from the same family... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Same family? Let me guess, the family open stall in wet market one rite? The stall which sell fish one correct? Cheers Yes bro.... it really isnt hard to give way to anyone... as long as the guy signals intentions early and merge or changes lane safely... all the discussion is going no where... cause tailgaters and road hoggers are actually from the same family... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Same family? Let me guess, the family open stall in wet market one rite? The stall which sell fish one correct? Cheers U r so very right.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iisterry 3rd Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 (edited) However, do consider a situation where the car coming up behind you is going much faster than you, say you are already doing 100-110 and he is doing 150-160? He is closing down on your rear at 50-60km/h, question, will you move left or wait to see if he swings and passes on your left? You have about 2-3 seconds to think, what would you have done? Encountered being on both sides before, front & back. Car behind coming in way too fast (>150kmph), signaled to filter left only to find him also having the same intention. This is usually the part where both will look to gauge each others intention. One will remain signalling and the other will just react accordingly, be it to undertake or overtake. If I'm the rear vehicle, just signal left to show that you are going to undertake. Only happen at certain parts of Singapore. But this isn't an appropriate example of road hogging. Hogging is driving in a manner to deliberately impede a faster moving vehicle behind you when there is ample opportunity for you to let him pass. We don't find such issues among pedestrians yet we encounter many such motorists. If everyone was mandated to stick their big faces on their car boots so they can be recognized, maybe such behavior will lessen. Its a social etiquette issue that appears to elude most. Similar to the internet. If everyone was mandated to register with their real initials & NRIC on the forums, maybe we will see less instances of trolling. Edited July 5, 2012 by Iisterry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picia Clutched July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Damn tu lan this morning @ AYE one farker road hogger cruise at 80km/hour on ALL CLEAR road at right most lane. I tailgated for 2 whole minute before deciding this is one serious road hogger who needed to be woken up from his stupid idea. I cut into his lane from the left and cruise @ 60km/hour for a good 5 km. Lucky I got time to play with them. He no choice but to stay behind me. Guess he understood what I mean. 1. Yes, road hoggers are not repsonsible for enforcing speed limits, that is the job of the police. 2. Neither is it your job to punish road hoggers, 2 wrongs don't make a right and it often escalates to road "fighting", very easy to end up with accident in that case, if flashing lights doesn't work just take the number and send the number (with video if got) in to traffic police if you can be bothered. Then overtake on the second lane if space or just "Tahan" behind the fellow, count to 10 slowly with deep breaths and follow the 2 second rule. I'm surprised at 60 kph he doesn't just overtake u on the 'slower" lanes, unless these occupied by trucks etc doing les than 60. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Is your XC90 white or silver? I think people are worried you from the Police Security Command You do know they drive unmarked XC90 among others right? Cheers and have a good day bro I seldom drive my XC90. It's silver by the way. But no way it can be mistaken as a Police Security Command vehicle... cos seldom drive = seldom clean = si bei dirty I use a 08 Subaru Impreza 4D instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Good day listerry, Thank you for your sharing. But this isn't an appropriate example of road hogging. Hogging is driving in a manner to deliberately impede a faster moving vehicle behind you when there is ample opportunity for you to let him pass. That is my understanding of the term roadhogging as well I served in the medical corp during NS, I was vehicle commander of the ambulance while ferrying casualties to the hospital (usually SGH) on many occasion, it is sad and sickening the behavour of some roadhogs when an ambulance with full lights and siren comes up behind them. I am quite certain my understanding of what qualifies as road hogging is correct. Similar to the internet. If everyone was mandated to register with their real initials & NRIC on the forums, maybe we will see less instances of trolling. Good point again. I see many trolls and keyboard heroes here. Then again, friendly reminder to the trolls, as demonstrated by a certain blogger named "Sia Suay"... oppps, I meant "Xia Xue" it is not imppossible to be tracked down in the internet, it is just a matter of whether the person tracking has a strong motivation to do so or not. Cheers and have a great weekened ahead Encountered being on both sides before, front & back. Car behind coming in way too fast (>150kmph), signaled to filter left only to find him also having the same intention. This is usually the part where both will look to gauge each others intention. One will remain signalling and the other will just react accordingly, be it to undertake or overtake. If I'm the rear vehicle, just signal left to show that you are going to undertake. Only happen at certain parts of Singapore. But this isn't an appropriate example of road hogging. Hogging is driving in a manner to deliberately impede a faster moving vehicle behind you when there is ample opportunity for you to let him pass. We don't find such issues among pedestrians yet we encounter many such motorists. If everyone was mandated to stick their big faces on their car boots so they can be recognized, maybe such behavior will lessen. Its a social etiquette issue that appears to elude most. Similar to the internet. If everyone was mandated to register with their real initials & NRIC on the forums, maybe we will see less instances of trolling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Can see you prefer the security of AWD (4WD) yah Yup nice to have 2 cars in the household Can swtich between cars depending on needs of the journey, like for me, I prefer to use my Dad's B&B car if I am heading down to town on weekend nights. Too easy to get rounded up at road blocks in my own car Cheers and TGIF I seldom drive my XC90. It's silver by the way. But no way it can be mistaken as a Police Security Command vehicle... cos seldom drive = seldom clean = si bei dirty I use a 08 Subaru Impreza 4D instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 (edited) You are very smart I like! Frankly, I don't like to tailgate but I would if I have to. Considering my background and what I really drive in real life, I would rather be labeled a road hog rather than something else Cheers Thank you for all your replies. When other people tailgate - "They take such a holier than thou & self rightous attitude in labelling others, without reflecting on the danger posted by their speeding in inappropriate situations." "Frankly, I don't like to tailgate but I would if I have to." But when you tailgate, its ok? and you are not " taking such a holier than thou & self rightous attitude in labelling others, without reflecting on the danger posted by their speeding in inappropriate situations?" I love it that when you tailgate its "cos you need to!" When others do its "holier than thou & self rightous attitude" I love your double standards - one rule for you and one rule for everyone else! Edited July 6, 2012 by Jamesc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Hi there, I appreciate meeting someone here who is thinking before he post anything but please read my replies carefully. When other people tailgate - "They take such a holier than thou & self rightous attitude in labelling others, without reflecting on the danger posted by their speeding in inappropriate situations." Please allow me to clarify my statement here because you have misunderstood me. If I am the speeding party here, and I come across another road user travelling at the posted speed limit on the right lane, he is not a road hogger, I am the speedster, I must take responsibility for any fallout that may occur, be it a speeding ticket or an accident. I find the attitude of speedster labeling other road users "roadhogs" disgusting, recognise who is the one breaking the law and be humble. That's my opinion. "Frankly, I don't like to tailgate but I would if I have to." But when you tailgate, its ok? and you are not " taking such a holier than thou & self rightous attitude in labelling others, without reflecting on the danger posted by their speeding in inappropriate situations?" I love it that when you tailgate its "cos you need to!" Again, you are jumping to conclusion. I don't like to tailgate but I have encountered situations of dreamers going 60km/h on the right lane, with the middle lane filled with cars going 70-80 km/h. Then I have another car coming up my rear at 100+ km/h. What would you do? Move closer / tailgate the dreamer in front to clear some room from the tailgater behind me thats what I did. Do I like to do that? NO. But I have to correct? I love your double standards - one rule for you and one rule for everyone else! You want to stick to this statement? Please read carefully before jumping to conclusions. You seem like an intelligent chap. P.S I have never been labelled a road hog in real life, but encountered a nasty episode here. Since I was denied the opportunity to defend myself back then I decided to take it on the chin and wear it as a badge of honor as a sign of protest. Cheers Thank you for all your replies. When other people tailgate - "They take such a holier than thou & self rightous attitude in labelling others, without reflecting on the danger posted by their speeding in inappropriate situations." "Frankly, I don't like to tailgate but I would if I have to." But when you tailgate, its ok? and you are not " taking such a holier than thou & self rightous attitude in labelling others, without reflecting on the danger posted by their speeding in inappropriate situations?" I love it that when you tailgate its "cos you need to!" When others do its "holier than thou & self rightous attitude" I love your double standards - one rule for you and one rule for everyone else! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Wah breakdown into so many posts ah, so difficult to answer, anyway here goes If I see the car behind me coming up fast, and there is space on my left, I will naturely signal and move over, no ego problem for me to do so However, do consider a situation where the car coming up behind you is going much faster than you, say you are already doing 100-110 and he is doing 150-160? He is closing down on your rear at 50-60km/h, question, will you move left or wait to see if he swings and passes on your left? You have about 2-3 seconds to think, what would you have done? Cheers signal left then proceed to filter left.... the scenario you describe happens often on the NSH.... no issues if you ask me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 pls la bro ... i drive double TC also tio tail gaters le ... i would say 95% of the time, i give way to tail gater or i notice them coming up and quickly siam. its not about the car in SG bro, but the mentality. giving way is a difficult thing to do in SG it seems. today i was driving along a single lane with a side filter lane and one poor van waiting to merge. behind me .. at least 30 cars ... first 6-7 guys never give way le ... so i give way la. whether im driving gtr or tata nano i dont really care ... i do it cos i want to. im not preaching because i have also had to go to left lane and overtake the guy on lane 1 going 90. thankfully for me, i can drop 2 gears faster than the guy can even climb 10km/h ... i dont like to do it, but sometimes, if the front of him is empty and there's a long line behind me, i dont want to be the guy holding everyone up >< because you got turbo lag!!!!!!!!!!!!! sorry i could not resist though i know your ride is a GTR Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Well, it was intentional on my part to create a persona which is totally different from real life. We are all here to be entertained are we not? If my created persona confused you, I apologise for that, it was meant to be for fun My views in summary are as follows: 1) Roadhoggers : people who hold up the flow of traffic behind them by travelling significantly slower than traffic conditions allows, especially so on the right most lane. It is unfair and legally wrong to label someone someone travelling at the posted speed limt a roadhogger, UNLESS he is holding up an emergency vehicle. 2) Tailgaters : people who do not keep a safe distance from the car in front of them, usually for intimidation, to bully the car in front to give way. 3) Speedsters : people who exceed the posted speed limit. Every other road user has a right to keep to the speed limit, the speedster has no right to label everyone else roadhogs for blocking his way. The speedster is the one in the wrong here, don't be a jerk and label everyone else a "roadhog" so he feels better about himself. I don't mind being called a "roadhog" by such speedsters since since everybody else calls them jerks Was I ever a speedster, yes. Am I proud of it? No. Will I boast about how fast I was going? No that is a very stupid thing. I am not a saint on the road, there are times when I could have travelled slower than I did. I do no apply a double standard on others, just hope to show a balanced and fair perspective that is all. Think carefully before passing judgement, these are public roads, everyone has a right to use them. Be it Speedsters, Tailgaters or Roadhogs, we are all subject to the traffic laws here no? Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Hi thanks & noted. Have not driven on the NSH for a loooong time, lazier now, always go by bus now or fly budget airline when I go up north. When driving up in a convoy, please choose your travelling companions carefully. There are some nutter who average 170-200 km/h all the way to KL Cheers signal left then proceed to filter left.... the scenario you describe happens often on the NSH.... no issues if you ask me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Hi thanks & noted. Have not driven on the NSH for a loooong time, lazier now, always go by bus now or fly budget airline when I go up north. When driving up in a convoy, please choose your travelling companions carefully. There are some nutter who average 170-200 km/h all the way to KL Cheers i hardly drive in convoy.... i prefer driving alone or together with 1 or 2 cars bus and plane is good for people that drive in sg because they need to drive and not because they like to drive... i personally prefer to drive because i like to drive..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 because you got turbo lag!!!!!!!!!!!!! sorry i could not resist though i know your ride is a GTR HAHAHAHA. no problem bro. the car dont have turbo lag, but the driver ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...