Tailgaters

Philipkee

Hi thanks & noted.

Have not driven on the NSH for a loooong time, lazier now, always go by bus now or fly budget airline when I go up north.

When driving up in a convoy, please choose your travelling companions carefully.

There are some nutter who average 170-200 km/h all the way to KL [hur]

When you feel like burning some rubber, please jio me along! :D

KARTer

Burning rubber where? On NSHW, Sepang, Pasir Gudang or our usual home track? [laugh]

I am converting my car back to normal road spec, took out the Endless carbon ceramic brake pads (they were noisy like pigs going to the slaughterhouse), don't think I want to track my car in the near future :D

I am still racing regularly with the boys of KS. We welcome you back anytime for track practice or just chill and shoot the breeze over coffee :D

The boys are really fast over a lap but they need an Uncle like me to tailgate them so that they get used to the pressure when we race again the Malaysian next time [drivingcar]

When you feel like burning some rubber, please jio me along! :D

KARTer

Burning rubber where? On NSHW, Sepang, Pasir Gudang or our usual home track?

I am converting my car back to normal road spec, took out the Endless carbon ceramic brake pads (they were noisy like pigs going to the slaughterhouse), don't think I want to track my car in the near future

I am still racing regularly with the boys of KS. We welcome you back anytime for track practice or just chill and shoot the breeze over coffee

The boys are really fast over a lap but they need an Uncle like me to tailgate them so that they get used to the pressure when we race again the Malaysian next time

My "equipment" for tracking are also in the workshop storeroom now [:(] Even revert to street tyres. But never mind, B-roads rubber burning is still possible [:)]

when you have the time, you are most well come to use my race kart

When is the next outing with the KS boys?

Btw, miniZ home track tested last week [thumbsup] Now figuring how to add safety barrier. MR 02 Honda n Lamborghini are ready to roars. Once everything is ok, will invite you for guest-of-honor run [:)]

Well, it was intentional on my part to create a persona which is totally different from real life. We are all here to be entertained are we not? If my created persona confused you, I apologise for that, it was meant to be for fun [;)]

My views in summary are as follows:

1) Roadhoggers : people who hold up the flow of traffic behind them by travelling significantly slower than traffic conditions allows, especially so on the right most lane. It is unfair and legally wrong to label someone someone travelling at the posted speed limt a roadhogger, UNLESS he is holding up an emergency vehicle.

2) Tailgaters : people who do not keep a safe distance from the car in front of them, usually for intimidation, to bully the car in front to give way.

3) Speedsters : people who exceed the posted speed limit. Every other road user has a right to keep to the speed limit, the speedster has no right to label everyone else roadhogs for blocking his way. The speedster is the one in the wrong here, don't be a jerk and label everyone else a "roadhog" so he feels better about himself. I don't mind being called a "roadhog" by such speedsters since since everybody else calls them jerks [laugh]

Was I ever a speedster, yes.

Am I proud of it? No.

Will I boast about how fast I was going? No that is a very stupid thing.

I am not a saint on the road, there are times when I could have travelled slower than I did. I do no apply a double standard on others, just hope to show a balanced and fair perspective that is all. Think carefully before passing judgement, these are public roads, everyone has a right to use them.

Be it Speedsters, Tailgaters or Roadhogs, we are all subject to the traffic laws here no?

I think you are confusing the issues. Road hogging has nothing to do with absolute speed. Control of absolute speed is the job of the traffic police, not civilian drivers. Whether someone is going above or below the pseed limit is irrelevant to a discussion on road hogging. Road hogging has everything to do with relative speed and opportunity. The best definition I have seen was posted by Listerry "Hogging is driving in a manner to deliberately impede a faster moving vehicle behind you when there is ample opportunity for you to let him pass."

The right most lane is for overtaking only, if there is a large gap on the second or third lanes, you should automatically move from the right lane to the second or third lanes. Those travelling in the right lane should always be checking their rear view mirrors every few seconds to make sure a faster vehicle is not approaching (unless overtaking traffic in the second lane and you would not be able to move over in any case). Then if a faster vehicle appears, simply indicate ahead of time and move left if safe to do so. If it safe to move left and you don't, you are "hogging" the right lane.

Now I qualify slightly. There is fast and there is fast. In some cases, you are in the right lane and even checking your rear view mirrors every few seconds you can still get passed on the left without being aware until you see a blur go by. In that case, there is nothing you could have done. If the car approaching is visible some distance behind but is approaching at a VERY fast speed so that it would pass within 1-2 seconds of sighting, it is also safer to just remain in the right lane. But if you have a good 3-4 seconds or more to indicate and move over, you should do so.

I think you are confusing the issues. Road hogging has nothing to do with absolute speed. Control of absolute speed is the job of the traffic police, not civilian drivers. Whether someone is going above or below the pseed limit is irrelevant to a discussion on road hogging. Road hogging has everything to do with relative speed and opportunity. The best definition I have seen was posted by Listerry "Hogging is driving in a manner to deliberately impede a faster moving vehicle behind you when there is ample opportunity for you to let him pass."

The right most lane is for overtaking only, if there is a large gap on the second or third lanes, you should automatically move from the right lane to the second or third lanes. Those travelling in the right lane should always be checking their rear view mirrors every few seconds to make sure a faster vehicle is not approaching (unless overtaking traffic in the second lane and you would not be able to move over in any case). Then if a faster vehicle appears, simply indicate ahead of time and move left if safe to do so. If it safe to move left and you don't, you are "hogging" the right lane.

Now I qualify slightly. There is fast and there is fast. In some cases, you are in the right lane and even checking your rear view mirrors every few seconds you can still get passed on the left without being aware until you see a blur go by. In that case, there is nothing you could have done. If the car approaching is visible some distance behind but is approaching at a VERY fast speed so that it would pass within 1-2 seconds of sighting, it is also safer to just remain in the right lane. But if you have a good 3-4 seconds or more to indicate and move over, you should do so.

hence there is no absolute hoggers or tailgater... sometimes pple tailgate me.... sometimes I m the tailgater

there are two main groups of drivers: one group that know that right lane is meant for overtaking..

and another group that needs to retake basic or final theory...

Well, it was intentional on my part to create a persona which is totally different from real life. We are all here to be entertained are we not? If my created persona confused you, I apologise for that, it was meant to be for fun [;)]

My views in summary are as follows:

1) Roadhoggers : people who hold up the flow of traffic behind them by travelling significantly slower than traffic conditions allows, especially so on the right most lane. It is unfair and legally wrong to label someone someone travelling at the posted speed limt a roadhogger, UNLESS he is holding up an emergency vehicle.

2) Tailgaters : people who do not keep a safe distance from the car in front of them, usually for intimidation, to bully the car in front to give way.

3) Speedsters : people who exceed the posted speed limit. Every other road user has a right to keep to the speed limit, the speedster has no right to label everyone else roadhogs for blocking his way. The speedster is the one in the wrong here, don't be a jerk and label everyone else a "roadhog" so he feels better about himself. I don't mind being called a "roadhog" by such speedsters since since everybody else calls them jerks [laugh]

Was I ever a speedster, yes.

Am I proud of it? No.

Will I boast about how fast I was going? No that is a very stupid thing.

I am not a saint on the road, there are times when I could have travelled slower than I did. I do no apply a double standard on others, just hope to show a balanced and fair perspective that is all. Think carefully before passing judgement, these are public roads, everyone has a right to use them.

Be it Speedsters, Tailgaters or Roadhogs, we are all subject to the traffic laws here no?

If someone likes to jam brake in front of road hoggers, what class he falls under? :D

there are two main groups of drivers: one group that know that right lane is meant for overtaking..

and another group that needs to retake basic or final theory...

nicely said. :) anyway, those PERSISTENT tailgaters.... maybe sometimes it has become a habit. what they forget is, once you start tailgating.... its a matter of time before one kuku driver in front slams the brake and thats it. Yes it WILL happen. take care. you right or wrong, must come out money. and we haven't talk about injuries yet.

and yes... right lane is ONLY for over taking and emergency vehicles and i would safely say the second lane, should be driven at the given speed limit. Not slower. If you wanna go slower, because you're in a middle of a happening conversation, talk on phone, dig nose, mind wondering off elsewhere and whatsoever that you're not suppose to do, get to the left lane for goodness sake.

not to forget big slow vehicles like lorries, vans and trucks who refuses to give way to us when going into expressway. seriously... how much faster and difference can they make by not giving way? they and us both know that right after entering the expressway, we are long gone in front of them.... again, its a habit of "must be in front so can reach destination faster". oh well... thats Singapore.

nicely said. :) anyway, those PERSISTENT tailgaters.... maybe sometimes it has become a habit. what they forget is, once you start tailgating.... its a matter of time before one kuku driver in front slams the brake and thats it. Yes it WILL happen. take care. you right or wrong, must come out money. and we haven't talk about injuries yet.

and yes... right lane is ONLY for over taking and emergency vehicles and i would safely say the second lane, should be driven at the given speed limit. Not slower. If you wanna go slower, because you're in a middle of a happening conversation, talk on phone, dig nose, mind wondering off elsewhere and whatsoever that you're not suppose to do, get to the left lane for goodness sake.

not to forget big slow vehicles like lorries, vans and trucks who refuses to give way to us when going into expressway. seriously... how much faster and difference can they make by not giving way? they and us both know that right after entering the expressway, we are long gone in front of them.... again, its a habit of "must be in front so can reach destination faster". oh well... thats Singapore.

Your second point.. [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

The very reason why the 1st lane is jammed up with drivers who want to drive only at the speed limit on the expressways. Because another group of jokers decide that they can drive at 75-80kph on the 2nd lane.. "I am not hogging the right lane mah, you can overtake me on the 1st lane"

Those gng at 70 on 2nd lane is alrite ma

What Is a hogger ?

It's means hogging another car behind

If Im on the 1st lane at 70 with no car behind

I'm not hogging

It's not the speed

It's I'm holding someone back

So always must be attentive to rear mirror

No matter what speed we r at

If there's a faster car from behind on 1st lane

Give way lor

To those who like to hog n insists nothing wrong

If u on nshw n hogging on lane one

See what will happen

Dun hog, show courtesy

But sometimes with 2 yellows

No matter what I talk

Also no one believe

Lol

^_^

Hmmm I would call that someone itchy backside, need someone to scratch their A hole for them [laugh]

Well seriously,

If one is rushing so much to get somewhere, so much so that an roadhogger can irritate him by holding him up, I wonder why he can find time to teach the road hogger a lesson? [rolleyes]

If someone likes to jam brake in front of road hoggers, what class he falls under? :D

Hi Picia,

I think you are confusing the issues. Road hogging has nothing to do with absolute speed. Control of absolute speed is the job of the traffic police, not civilian drivers. Whether someone is going above or below the pseed limit is irrelevant to a discussion on road hogging.

I disagree, but I believe we are entitled to our own opinion on this. Let us agree to disagree.

If control of absolute speed is the job of the traffic police, why is lane disciple not also a job of the traffic police as well? [;)]

What is potentially more dangerous here, keeping lane disciple or vehicle speed? I believe there is a good logic (physics based) reason why penalties for speeding are so much heavier, but well, thats just me. [rolleyes]

Yes, I totally agree with you here.

My personal experience is that many Singaporean drivers seem obsessed with speed (boast about how fast they went etc) Ironically, the absolute speed they are taking about isn't that big actually (120~150km/h etc).

It is unsafe to travel at such speeds on the local highways with other road users on the road, but in the great scheme of things, 120~150km/h is not a great deal at all.

Many forumers who responded here are under the impression that I must be a road hog who travels at 89.9km/h on the right lane of the expressway since I "boast about it".

Oh well, all I can say is, it's fun to watch people jump to conclusion since I can afford to take the heat.

Tells me a lot about the other person and makes it easy to see who are the ones who are smart enough to have an intelligent conversation with.

Edited by GTR78

Please see TP reply -

Dear Sir,

I refer to your preceding email. Vehicles are to comply to the road speed limit of the expressway regardless overtaking or travelling normally. Road hogging offence will only take place for example a vehicle is travelling below the road speed limit on the extreme right lane of expressway and the traffic flow on the other lanes are clear. Hope this clarifies.

Thank you.

xxx

Service Quality Branch

Traffic Police Department | Singapore Police Force

E-mail: [email protected]

A Force For The Nation

My question

Dear Sir,

I have come across this from the internet and I wish to confirm the authenticity of it.

The topic of road hogging and speeding has spurred lots of debate in forums.

I admit the debate and reasoning from the 2 different camps have confused me and many others. They seem to contradict one another.

Therefore I am reaching out to you in hope that you can make matters clear.

I would appreciate your reply. Thank you

Edited by Bigmatt140

lol interesting. i was above speed limit on lane 2, and my friend who is a experienced driver kept telling me to slow down because there is a speed camera infront. at ECP towards Changi. It was around Fort Road there haha. He kept nagging at me saying "you only have 12 points, don't so garang can anot." "you just passed drive so fast already!"

I slowed down till around 70-80 and said "yes sir". ;p

and after that speed camera area, picked up my speed again. hehe. of cuz i never step too much.

Don't want my license to kena revoke. But it was a clear road with hardly any cars at 1am.

Those gng at 70 on 2nd lane is alrite ma

What Is a hogger ?

It's means hogging another car behind

If Im on the 1st lane at 70 with no car behind

I'm not hogging

It's not the speed

It's I'm holding someone back

So always must be attentive to rear mirror

No matter what speed we r at

If there's a faster car from behind on 1st lane

Give way lor

To those who like to hog n insists nothing wrong

If u on nshw n hogging on lane one

See what will happen

Dun hog, show courtesy

But sometimes with 2 yellows

No matter what I talk

Also no one believe

Lol

I think you make complete sense here.

Curious. What did you do to get the two yellow?

Come. I remove for you. [:p]:D[laugh]

Tailgating is a myth.

It has never happened to me.

Roadhogging is also a myth.

There are no roadhoggers in Singapore.

Just great leaders with a long line of cars

behind them and a lot of space in front.

Everyone in Singapore is a safe and courteous

driver that always gives way, signal early

and never sit in a box junction.

This is based on how drivers see themselves here.

Well, then does this supercedes your email?

Dear Sir

I refer to your email.

2 We understand that in certain situations, there is a need to speed up slightly to do a safe overtaking manoeuvre, drivers should exercise due care and considerations to the vehicles / other road users around him/her before and during overtaking. The drivers/riders are required to keep within the speed limit after overtaking.

3 Thank you and have a nice day.

XXXXXX

Head Service Quality

Traffic Police Department | Singapore Police Force

DID: + 65 XXXXXX | E-mail: [email protected]

A Force For The Nation