Tailgaters

Philipkee

Please correct me if I am wrong but I remember you drive a R35 correct?

Believe it or not, tailgaters love to tailgate performance cars. Why? Cos they can boast to their retard friends they "smoked" a GTR or Type R thats why.

I usually give way to merging traffic also bro, as long as the other guy signal early and properly. Sometimes I have difficulty merging into traffic on the expressway, some guy will give me some room, I always make it a point to give a wave of thanks for their kindness.

I was kidding to Jamesc about the double turbo part, I think he caught my drift [:p]

I have no problems moving to the left for faster traffic, hope we get this part across yah bro. Maybe its because like yourself I am blessed to be able to afford a car I loved for a long time (not a GTR sadly, but a nice car in my books). I have no hang ups about giving way, no loss of face in my books [;)]

I have followed behind some R35 before (safe following distance, not tailgating) , I know about your mid range kick esp with 2 downshifts on the DSG, would love to be able to drive one someday ^_^

pls la bro ... i drive double TC also tio tail gaters le ... i would say 95% of the time, i give way to tail gater or i notice them coming up and quickly siam. its not about the car in SG bro, but the mentality. giving way is a difficult thing to do in SG it seems. today i was driving along a single lane with a side filter lane and one poor van waiting to merge. behind me .. at least 30 cars ... first 6-7 guys never give way le ... so i give way la. whether im driving gtr or tata nano i dont really care ... i do it cos i want to.

im not preaching because i have also had to go to left lane and overtake the guy on lane 1 going 90. thankfully for me, i can drop 2 gears faster than the guy can even climb 10km/h ... i dont like to do it, but sometimes, if the front of him is empty and there's a long line behind me, i dont want to be the guy holding everyone up ><

Please correct me if I am wrong but I remember you drive a R35 correct?

Believe it or not, tailgaters love to tailgate performance cars. Why? Cos they can boast to their retard friends they "smoked" a GTR or Type R thats why.

I usually give way to merging traffic also bro, as long as the other guy signal early and properly. Sometimes I have difficulty merging into traffic on the expressway, some guy will give me some room, I always make it a point to give a wave of thanks for their kindness.

I was kidding to Jamesc about the double turbo part, I think he caught my drift [:p]

I have no problems moving to the left for faster traffic, hope we get this part across yah bro. Maybe its because like yourself I am blessed to be able to afford a car I loved for a long time (not a GTR sadly, but a nice car in my books). I have no hang ups about giving way, no loss of face in my books [;)]

I have followed behind some R35 before (safe following distance, not tailgating) , I know about your mid range kick esp with 2 downshifts on the DSG, would love to be able to drive one someday ^_^

haha like that... i think ive been smoked by quite a few toyotas already .. aiya as lnog as your happy with your ride, its good enough la. i wold love to own a mclaren some day, but if it doesnt happen .. no biggie. life goes on. well, if you say you give way and signal etc thats awesome (just to be clear, i got no issue with you lah .. my original message previously was to simply move over and life goes on .. if you see most of my post, im generally like that ... if you ever see me drive along aljunied pls give me a wave! ill be the guy generally sticking to the leftmost lane cos im too lazy to fight with people for the right lane ... and sometimes, the left lane is the fastest haha)

ive got a spawn sticker behind the driver's side door if anyones sharp enough to catch it .. :D

I will attempt to answer this in the best way possible.

1) Hmmmm, what is so difficult to move out lane 1 ..... lane 1 is for overtaking ..... keep left unless overtaking.

Would you signal and move to the left if you see a car coming up your rear at least 30-40 km faster when you are doing 100km/h? You have 2 seconds before he is at 1 car length to your boot. He may choose to swing left and pass on the middle lane, in that 2 seconds, he hesitates slightly before swinging left, meaning he got close to your rear before he cleared over to the middle lane. Does that explain to you why it was difficult to move out of lane 1 in this type of situation??

If it happens on a Sunday afternoon and traffic is moderate .... it make it easy to filter to the left and let the other driver drive by .....

I think we have different understanding of the word moderate, I believe your version of "moderate" equals my "light". Hence my "moderate" is equal to your "heavy" ok?

if a speeding driver choose to speed .... he/she gets a ticket or get involve in an accident, he/she would pay for the consequences.

I would have to pay a price as well if he crashed into my car no? It is not so simple now is it? What if I die due to his stunt? My fault ah?

If a car coming from the back is faster than u, u are road hogging

I totally do not agree with this statement on a legal front.

Road hogging is legally defined as holding up the flow of traffic by going significantly below the flow of traffic and the speed limit.

You cannot define as road hogging being slower than the car behind you, you can only call the car behind you speeding if he is exceeding the speed limit/

We need to be mindful here of the legality of the matter here. You can try taking your understanding of what is "road hogging" to the Traffic Police or the mainstream media and see who is more correct here.

Finally, this is a public forum ... everyone/anyone can express their view ... nothing to do with being a keyboard hero ...

Perhaps I have misunderstood you but I could have sworn I heard you tell me "I hope you learnt your lesson". I take offence at that.

Haha ok, which Mac is your dream car bro?

Mine is the F1GTR long tail or are you talking about the MP4-12C generation? I can only dream though... -_-

Yes I work around the East side as well, please do not be alarmed if you see a stranger give you a wave yah [laugh]

haha like that... i think ive been smoked by quite a few toyotas already .. aiya as lnog as your happy with your ride, its good enough la. i wold love to own a mclaren some day, but if it doesnt happen .. no biggie. life goes on. well, if you say you give way and signal etc thats awesome (just to be clear, i got no issue with you lah .. my original message previously was to simply move over and life goes on .. if you see most of my post, im generally like that ... if you ever see me drive along aljunied pls give me a wave! ill be the guy generally sticking to the leftmost lane cos im too lazy to fight with people for the right lane ... and sometimes, the left lane is the fastest haha)

ive got a spawn sticker behind the driver's side door if anyones sharp enough to catch it .. :D

Haha ok, which Mac is your dream car bro?

Mine is the F1GTR long tail or are you talking about the MP4-12C generation? I can only dream though... -_-

Yes I work around the East side as well, please do not be alarmed if you see a stranger give you a wave yah [laugh]

mp4-12c .. saw one the other day around aljunied .. orange and beautiful.

dont worry, some guy in a lancer tail gated me a little, pulled up along side and gawked at the gtr ... so i waved. got a thumbs up for that lol. (my gf hates that i try to interact with everyone i meet, regardless of who they are or what they do lol ...)

I will attempt to answer this in the best way possible.

1) Hmmmm, what is so difficult to move out lane 1 ..... lane 1 is for overtaking ..... keep left unless overtaking.

Would you signal and move to the left if you see a car coming up your rear at least 30-40 km faster when you are doing 100km/h? You have 2 seconds before he is at 1 car length to your boot. He may choose to swing left and pass on the middle lane, in that 2 seconds, he hesitates slightly before swinging left, meaning he got close to your rear before he cleared over to the middle lane. Does that explain to you why it was difficult to move out of lane 1 in this type of situation??

If it happens on a Sunday afternoon and traffic is moderate .... it make it easy to filter to the left and let the other driver drive by .....

I think we have different understanding of the word moderate, I believe your version of "moderate" equals my "light". Hence my "moderate" is equal to your "heavy" ok?

if a speeding driver choose to speed .... he/she gets a ticket or get involve in an accident, he/she would pay for the consequences.

I would have to pay a price as well if he crashed into my car no? It is not so simple now is it? What if I die due to his stunt? My fault ah?

If a car coming from the back is faster than u, u are road hogging

I totally do not agree with this statement on a legal front.

Road hogging is legally defined as holding up the flow of traffic by going significantly below the flow of traffic and the speed limit.

You cannot define as road hogging being slower than the car behind you, you can only call the car behind you speeding if he is exceeding the speed limit/

We need to be mindful here of the legality of the matter here. You can try taking your understanding of what is "road hogging" to the Traffic Police or the mainstream media and see who is more correct here.

Finally, this is a public forum ... everyone/anyone can express their view ... nothing to do with being a keyboard hero ...

Perhaps I have misunderstood you but I could have sworn I heard you tell me "I hope you learnt your lesson". I take offence at that.

very good! another enlightened driver! [thumbsup]

however i would like to highlight the part in red..moderate or light traffic with not much vehicles on the expressway is the most dangerous situation in my opinion..when one cruises on the 1st lane with a faster vehicle coming up..if that person gives way it might cause an accident when the faster vehicle coming up decides to filter to lane 2(undertaking) at the same time..saw it happened before [nod]

Bro,

the most dangerous situation in my opinion..when one cruises on the 1st lane with a faster vehicle coming up..if that person gives way it might cause an accident when the faster vehicle coming up decides to filter to lane 2(undertaking) at the same time..saw it happened before [nod]

Something similar happened to me, I was the slower driver on the right lane but I decided in that couple of seconds to hold station while the much faster vehicle "undertake" on my left, the dangerous part for me was that the faster driver only decided to cut left at the last moment and nearly took me out. Traffic was moderate/light and I was already moving 10-20 km/h faster than everyone else on the middle & left lane, everyone else except that fast driver.

I see a growing number of aggressive drivers on the road who feels that everybody else must give way to them on the right lane regardless of what speed they are travelling at. The speed limit applies to all and superceeds the keep left rule. Yes, we are all free to speed over the limit, just be man enough to face the legal punishment when caught.. It's disgustingly arrogant when one labels other road users who chose not to exceed the speed limit road hogs etc.

If someone wants to race, pony up the cash for a proper track/ race car, go to a racetrack, and do it properly.

very good! another enlightened driver! [thumbsup]

however i would like to highlight the part in red..moderate or light traffic with not much vehicles on the expressway is the most dangerous situation in my opinion..when one cruises on the 1st lane with a faster vehicle coming up..if that person gives way it might cause an accident when the faster vehicle coming up decides to filter to lane 2(undertaking) at the same time..saw it happened before [nod]

sorry if it sound harsh.....hogger is hogger, need not justify oneself.

Bro, maybe some of us have misunderstood GTR78 here. He doesn't seem to be our typical definition of a road hogger who have no qualms about driving on the overtaking lane, struggling to overtake the vehicles on their left.

I am quite a speeder actually, but I also give way to cars which are coming in fast from behind regardless of make.

A typical roadhogger I realise almost never seems to check their rear mirrors to realise they are holding up traffic and when they finally do (usually a series of cars undertaking them consecutively), they will LL move to the slower lane.

Let's cut GTR78 some slack lah...

I also kena tailgate sometimes by conti cars and ricers, but usually there is a slower car infront of me, I will shift slightly to show them I am not hogging the road and when the opportunity rises, I will quickly siam or undertake the vehicles in front.

:ph34r:

Some fast drivers don't have the patience or time to wait for the cars in front to move over for them to pass, they just blast pass the fronts cars from the left in split seconds and are gone before the others realize what has happened! If they do it safely and not give others a fright, it's ok for me.

Sometimes it's not about patience to wait. For me, way before I move close to the hogger, I will see if the driver notice I am coming in fast, if not, I will assess situation and condition, signal, undertake, signal and 'blast off', without actually tailgating the vehicle and causing any inconvenience to any vehicles on the road.

That is the safest way I assume, because it happens too fast for the vehicle to make any sudden or wrong decisions. He can still keep his speed and I can keep mine. [:)]

YAWN [:p]

Let me guess, are you going to tell me now about your super duper twin-turbo & super charged engine with nitrous?

That's why you never get tailgated cos whoever is behind you "smell no smoke"? [laugh]

Frankly, I have tailgated people so that they give way before (some genius travelling at 60km/h on lane 1, lane 2 full of cars going 80~90km/h, yah that I agree is a road hog).

I only drive a normal NA car, guess I am forever doomed to get tailgated [;)]

I also drive a normal NA car that is super heavy and 4wd leh... lagi worse right...

mp4-12c .. saw one the other day around aljunied .. orange and beautiful.

dont worry, some guy in a lancer tail gated me a little, pulled up along side and gawked at the gtr ... so i waved. got a thumbs up for that lol. (my gf hates that i try to interact with everyone i meet, regardless of who they are or what they do lol ...)

Bro, next time u see a guy smoking beside your car, don't beat him up ok? Could be me. [:p]

Sometimes it's not about patience to wait. For me, way before I move close to the hogger, I will see if the driver notice I am coming in fast, if not, I will assess situation and condition, signal, undertake, signal and 'blast off', without actually tailgating the vehicle and causing any inconvenience to any vehicles on the road.

That is the safest way I assume, because it happens too fast for the vehicle to make any sudden or wrong decisions. He can still keep his speed and I can keep mine. [:)]

Yes, overtake and be done with it while letting the front car continues with its own speed/lane, hog/non-hog, just leave him alone.

Wah breakdown into so many posts ah, so difficult to answer, anyway here goes [;)]

If I see the car behind me coming up fast, and there is space on my left, I will naturely signal and move over, no ego problem for me to do so :mellow:

However, do consider a situation where the car coming up behind you is going much faster than you, say you are already doing 100-110 and he is doing 150-160? He is closing down on your rear at 50-60km/h, question, will you move left or wait to see if he swings and passes on your left? You have about 2-3 seconds to think, what would you have done?

In a split second, I would SIGNAL left to let him know I am giving way, and filter left soonest possible when traffic allows.

On the other hand I must say, if situation is as such that he can swing left and "undertake" you easily, means you could have kept to your left (middle lane) in the first place.. even if you are over the speed limit doesnt mean we should not adhere to the keep left unless overtaking rule right?

Why do people like to tailgate me when I am travelling at 90 km/ hr one lane one on an expressway when it is obvious that there is a speed camera in front?

Pick one of the following:

a) grandmother just give birth, rushing to hospital to see his uncle for the first time

b) pet dog dying, rushing to say goodbye for the last time

c) he is trying to impress girlfriend that he can drive faster than the camera flash

d) His father is Li Gang

e) any other stupid reasons

[rolleyes]

Whatever the reason, just be a good soul and just give way if someone wants to overtake you. [:)]

Seriously... I was previously in a situation whereby my father was injured while alone at home and bleeding non-stop. Who cares about a speeding ticket? Your "I can travel on lane 1 within the speed limit" attitude can mean life and death to others.

PS - BTW, speed camera got allowance. You can safely drive at 100 km/hr. [:)]

Hi bro,

Thank you, What you wrote makes sense & I will consider signalling left to indicate my intentions the next time I am faced with such a situation.

You are right, the middle lane cleared up a few seconds before the guy overtook me, I was slowly gaining on the car ahead of me so i was under the impression I was still fast enough to keep right under those kind of road condition, I guess I could be wrong here. Thank you.

FYI, the +20 leeway is not applied across all makes & models of cars. The TP exercise their discretion & give less leeway when the speedster is driving a blacklisted model (gtr, type r, evo etc) .

Many years ago, I was caught speeding in my then Nissan Sunny N16. The officer informed me he initially wanted to let me go but my speed kept accelerating till 130 plus. He cited me at 117, kind discount.

Got caught by radar trap 2 years ago driving a blacklist model, was accelerating to pass a speeding lorry in the middle lane, TP chased me down instead of the lorry and I ticketed for going 113. I didn't argue with him cos I know he must have been aiming his radar gun at me the moment I appeared into view, and was looking to clock me for more over the limit.

In a split second, I would SIGNAL left to let him know I am giving way, and filter left soonest possible when traffic allows.

On the other hand I must say, if situation is as such that he can swing left and "undertake" you easily, means you could have kept to your left (middle lane) in the first place.. even if you are over the speed limit doesnt mean we should not adhere to the keep left unless overtaking rule right?

As usual, hogger will never know they were hogging the road...

I believe they do know they are hogging the lane but just don't want to move to the 2nd lane... Pride or just bochup...